Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is a real "must read"
First off I'm a big fan of Jack Campbell. I've read (and re-read) the Lost Fleet series, am reading the Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier series and now the Lost Stars series. Within those series there are some real classics but, to my mind, this latest addition is the best yet. It really does have everything. Firstly, it has some really strong lead and support...
Published 14 months ago by Sam Pick

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars #2 in Spin off series from "lost fleet" series.
Moves on the story of the Syndicate worlds after Black Jack's victories recounted in the lost fleet series. Think: break up of Soviet union, re-emerging democracy etc. and you hsve the bssic picture.

This series runs in parallel with the Beyond Frontiers sequels.

The scenarios are a bit simplistic and very stereotyped but there are a few interesting...
Published 14 months ago by Amazon Customer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Space Camelot., 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I devoured this book, the latest in the lost stars spin of story from the main lost fleet universe.

I loved the insights into the syndicate worlds, and the minds and interactions of their leaders.

I chose the title because, although I loved this book, it is deriving a lot of inspiration from the tales of Camelot, the author doesn't try to hide this at all, naming his main characters after figures from the myths, presumably to acknowledge his inspiration for this series.

But if you are familiar with the story of Camelot, you will see that it is basically that, but in space. Written by a talented author. I'd definitely recommend reading it, although I am somewhat worried that this might mean, unlike his earlier works, that this story may end in tragedy for his protagonists, given how the story of Camelot eventually ended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars LOST STARS PERILOUS SHEILD, 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked the series however as with a lot of books I can not find the next book can you please ensure all books are numbered if in a series
If you could advise me the next book I would be great full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great change of pace to the Black Jack books, 2 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Lost Stars - Perilous Shield (Book 2) (Lost Stars 2) (Paperback)
I really enjoy these Lost Stars books, and this second book in the series is as good as the first. If you like the Lost Fleet, then you'll like this I think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hreat fun looking forward to the next episode., 28 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written on a smaller scale than the parallel (and interacting) Lost Fleet (LF) saga, and featuring events that are seen in some of the LF series from a different angle as well as developing a life of its own. This series looks a little more deeply at the politics of the situations as they develop, and the motivation of the leaders of the micro empire that seems to be developing around the Midway system. In some ways this makes the story richer, but for the space ballte fans slightly less oriented towards combat. I'm looking forward to see how the author develops this storyline as with fewer resources, surrounded by enemies and disfunctional neighbours the heroes of this series really do have a job on their hands. Great fun to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Continues to develop a great separate story arc, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When an author continues to write about a universe they usually stay on the same 'side'. For example Tolkien never wrote a story from an orc's point of view. Hemry's 2nd book of the Lost Stars series continues to develop his universe from the other side of the Lost Fleet. It is also very nice to see how the sides overlap in the books. Much of the overlap in this book is with The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier: Guardian. For example, if you've read Guardian and want to know why the stealth shuttles and destroyers are out at Varandal this covers it.

I also like how Hemry deals with the political / sociological differences and how the drive both the big picture and the smaller decisions that make up the story. I continue to enjoy the characters and their development, including the romantic interests. While one of the twists at the end of this book is somewhat predictable, it is the final twist / cliff hanger that has left me hoping that Hemry can write and publish the follow on book faster!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An improvement, 5 Nov 2013
By 
Daniel Florentz "Floatboat" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Stars - Perilous Shield (Book 2) (Lost Stars 2) (Paperback)
While Tarnished Knight appeared slow and sometime lacked direction, Perilous Shield certainly makes up for it.
It can be argued that Tarnished Knight merely laid the groundwork for Perilous Shield (and possibly the following). The political machinations surrounding our two unlikely good guys are perhaps not groundbreaking, but they do make the story flow very well. And despite wanting more space battles, or even ground battles, the overshadowing darkness of both the Syndicate Worlds and the Enigmas make for a very frontier feeling. Sometimes I had to remind myself that Midway is a fairly populous world, and not just a single city with a port.

Unlike Tarnished Knight the pace is kept up with new developments all the time. Even if they are ultimately not very big I didn't feel any of them were out of place.

The only significant downside is that the people are generally very simple in regards to the other gender.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good second part, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Stars - Perilous Shield (Book 2) (Lost Stars 2) (Paperback)
More interactions between characters, fewer battles and it works. Well done Mr. Campbell, you showed us that you can write more than space battles. Recommend for anyone into the Lost Fleet series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all serious Sci-fi fans as opposed to science fantasy., 30 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The universe created by the author for these books is incredibly detailed and believable, he exploits the human foibles of his characters to create highly detailed and intriguing subplots throughout the whole series of books. Can't wait for the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good but just ends ..., 27 Oct 2013
By 
R. J. Morris (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really like Jack Campbell's work. On this occasion, the end was just a little too abrupt for me - too many loose ends left for the next book. I might suggest buying it when the next one comes out so you can immediately follow it with the next in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic follow up, 26 Oct 2013
As a fan of the lost fleet series this provides a compelling alternative view and a fantastic companion sister series. I cannot wait for the next book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Stars - Perilous Shield (Book 2) (Lost Stars 2)
The Lost Stars - Perilous Shield (Book 2) (Lost Stars 2) by Jack Campbell (Paperback - 11 Oct 2013)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews