Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Fleet, Beyond the Frontier, "Invincible"
As a print book, see:
The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2)

As a Kindle book, see:
The Lost Fleet Beyond the Frontier - Invincible

Following on from, and a bit better than, "Dreadnaught", Invincible sees Admiral Geary and his fleet learning that if they discover a second intelligent alien species,...
Published on 26 May 2012 by Matthew K. Spencer

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Jack and the Aliens
To a large extent, "Beyond the Frontier" volume 2 (Invincible) continues in the same line as all of the previous Lost Fleet episodes, with the same ingredients being used. Accordingly, "fans" of the Lost Fleet (including myself) will get what they are used to: the usual "bantering" between Black Jack and his two closest female associates, the usual bits of intrigue and...
Published 17 months ago by JPS


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Fleet, Beyond the Frontier, "Invincible", 26 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2) (Paperback)
As a print book, see:
The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2)

As a Kindle book, see:
The Lost Fleet Beyond the Frontier - Invincible

Following on from, and a bit better than, "Dreadnaught", Invincible sees Admiral Geary and his fleet learning that if they discover a second intelligent alien species, their governments actually want them to make it home with the news. They discover a second -and a third. (Which may have been studying humanity, in a completely neutral way, for much longer than the meddling and interfering Enigmas.)

There has recently been a bit of a debate in the real world about the likely nature of any intelligent alien species we might meet, so this book is topical as well as entertaining.

See:
[...]
with Jill Tarter suggesting that any alien capable of interstellar travel would be far too advanced to be anything other than highly liberal and enlightened, and Dr Stephen Hawking suggesting that contact with such an advanced culture would be likely to end very badly for us, as the less advanced culture.

Without giving too much of the plot away, Jack Campbell's thesis is that the way aliens would react to meeting us, would depend far more on what they had evolved from, than the level of technology or spiritual enlightenment they might have attained in order to travel between the stars. That's an idea worth looking at and thinking about, so I have no hesitation in recommending this book even to those who normally shun space opera in favour of thoughtful science fiction, because it is a thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable space romp., 28 May 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2) (Paperback)
As a fan of historical fiction naval stories, I really couldn't' wait to rejoin Captain Geary as he takes the reader into a futuristic war where new discoveries surprise and add new elements to this already wonderfully explosive world. It's carefully crafted, the author has a clear understanding of pace and brings it altogether with a wonderful set of elements that work wonderfully on the imagination.

Back that up with an author who believes in letting events reveal themselves naturally rather than forced and all in this is a wonderful set of tales for the young at heart of all ages. All in a great bit of fun but for me the real triumph is the authors use of character dialogue to futher the tale as well as help the reader to enact with this future. Magical elements all round and for me a real treat to indulge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Black Jack and the Aliens, 12 April 2013
By 
JPS - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2) (Paperback)
To a large extent, "Beyond the Frontier" volume 2 (Invincible) continues in the same line as all of the previous Lost Fleet episodes, with the same ingredients being used. Accordingly, "fans" of the Lost Fleet (including myself) will get what they are used to: the usual "bantering" between Black Jack and his two closest female associates, the usual bits of intrigue and "complex" relationships between him and some of his captains (his niece, in particular) and the usual (and rather impressive) space battle.

Although I very much liked Tarnished Knight, largely because it was different, I just could not help feeling a strong sense of "déjà vu" and a certain lack of originality when reading this book and it left me a bit disenchanted. I recognize however that this subjective feeling is somewhat unfair in two respects. As a first new element, the author introduces us to three alien races, so two more in addition to the ones already meet in "Beyond the Frontier: Dreadnaught". Secondly, as Black Jack and his worn out Fleet rush back to defend human space, the threads come together between this book and "The Lost Stars: Tarnished Knight". Note however that both books can very well be read separately.

Even then, however, and although I still liked and enjoyed the book, I was not exactly "carried away" anymore, as I had been with some of the previous titles. Nor did I like it quite as much as Tarnished Knight. Maybe some of the previous "magic" has worn off a little, as each "Lost Fleet" book (there are six of them) and now each "Beyond the Frontier" (currently two with the third volume due to be published shortly) book tends to contain the same or very similar ingredients. After a number of volumes, this tends to get somewhat repetitive even if still enjoyable...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent continuation to the series, 9 Jun 2012
By 
luke997 - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2) (Paperback)
I am a huge fan of the series and John Geary Jack Black.

After first part - Beyond Frontier, I just couldn't wait for the next, curious how the story line with Aliens will move on.

Without any spoilers - this part is on the same level as whole series, so I'm a very satisfied reader.

If you enjoyed previous books - don't hesitate and get this one, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Fleet Beyond the Frontier - Invincible, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
More great riddles and surprises with the aliens and will the local New authorities prevail against their weakened rulers? Dramatic developments still to come!
Harast
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Continuing and improving, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2) (Paperback)
This continues and improves on the previous book, the story being yet more variation. Looking forward to the last in the series, hoping it continues.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 21 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. R. Sparrow "Rick in Eye" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2) (Paperback)
This series is very good. It isn't the best out there but its well up there toward the top. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Story, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2) (Paperback)
Fast delivery time, would definitely recommend to fans of the Lost Fleet. Very good read and looking forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He does it again and again, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2) (Paperback)
Yet again Campbell exceeds himself and another book you just cant put down until its finished. When's the next one due out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unbeliveable, 22 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2) (Paperback)
Never thought i would like this series but find it to be one of the most addictive ever, the writing isn't the best but you forget that so easily as you can read these with zero effort and maximum entertainment. I would recommend these books to any sci-fi fan looking for a fast easy read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lost Fleet: Beyond the Frontier--Invincible (Lost Fleet Beyond/Frontier 2)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews