Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely ABBA...
I'm a BIG ABBA fan!!! In September this year I saw Benny and Bjorn in concert at Hyde Park, performing ABBA songs with Kylie, Lulu, Chaka Khan and Marti Pellow and it was the nearest thing I'll ever get to a experiencing a 'real' ABBA reunion, I think.... Perhaps it will happen one day... in the meantime music journalist Simon Sheridan has written this beautifully...
Published on 3 Nov 2009 by Robbie Benson

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!!
The title says 'Complete ABBA'. In the first few pages it details what the book does not cover; call me cynical, but how is that complete? To me this is like any fan book or review.
As an ABBA fan,this is a book i could have lived without!! To me a better buy would be a book by Carl Magnus Palm or jean-Marie Potiez. Sorry, but that this is how i feel.
For the...
Published on 3 Dec 2009 by Mr. N. R. Partridge


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely ABBA..., 3 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (Hardcover)
I'm a BIG ABBA fan!!! In September this year I saw Benny and Bjorn in concert at Hyde Park, performing ABBA songs with Kylie, Lulu, Chaka Khan and Marti Pellow and it was the nearest thing I'll ever get to a experiencing a 'real' ABBA reunion, I think.... Perhaps it will happen one day... in the meantime music journalist Simon Sheridan has written this beautifully researched book about my favourite band, including a review of the Hyde Park gig I went to. It's packed with loads of information about all their original tours (with dates), plus fascinating stuff relating to their long-forgotten TV specials, plus all their single and album releases in year-by-year order. Also some lovley photos and reproductions of all their beautiful 7" single sleeves. A really special addition to my ABBA library!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars top notch!, 11 Nov 2009
By 
C. Davies "miss thing" (South West England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (Hardcover)
Once again Sheridan serves up the goods with this fascinating and adeptly researched tome on the Swedish super group Abba! What I like about this (and Mr Sheridans other books) is the lack of cheap gossip and the plethora of in depth information and his personable, nostalgic tone. No stone is unturned in his awesome cataloging of singles, albums, tv shows etc. It's a must buy for any true Abba fans and an excellent xmas gift for music and nostalgia fans alike! Two thumbs up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite complete but not bad, 8 Nov 2009
By 
F. A. Penney "Fraser Penney" (Edinburgh, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (Hardcover)
This book is indeed a very informative perspective of Abba as seen through eyes of a British journalist. Lot's of iteresting facts and dates of TV shows. I never knew some of The German and Swedish shows had been broadcast in the UK at the time, but I was a kid so probably not up to see them.
One thing though that I can say is inaccurate, is the 'Not The Nine O'Clock News' Abba Super Duper parody sketch broadcast date. It was a year earlier and before Abba had released 'One Of Us' which kinda makes you think Bjorn was in a way being very tongue in cheek with the lyric to that song and used this idea for another huge Abba hit, having the last laugh.
A great read though and a facinating insight into the private lives with a hint of the conflict that was present.
I was expecting the book to be a bit more glossy and perhaps have a bit more pictures but it has only 16 pages of pictures in total. Never-the-less, it's a worthy addition the the Abba library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Adorable ABBA, 3 Nov 2009
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (Hardcover)
Just when I thought that nothing new could be said about ABBA, along comes 'The Complete ABBA'... a thoroughly entertaining and deeply informative book cataloging everything the 70s supergroup produced - all of their international singles and albums (including some obscurities), their little-seen TV shows and tours. There's also sections on 'ABBA - the Movie' and the 'Mamma Mia' stage show and recent film. I'm re-reading it already and it's worth buying for the fab photo inside of Agnetha wearing an incredibly revealing dress at Waterloo Station!! I had really been looking forward to 'The Complete ABBA' and it hasn't disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Complete Abba, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (40th Anniversary edition) (Paperback)
We ordered this book for an 89 year old lady Abba fan who is in hospital. We also like Abba and having looked at the book, agreed with her that it was very comprehensive and well illustrated. She was delighted to receive it. We must also compliment Amazon with the speed with which it arrived - we ordered it one morning together with another product, and it arrived the following morning having settled for 5 day delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic book, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (40th Anniversary edition) (Paperback)
this book is a must for any abba fan, lots of imformation about abba
especially good for young abba fans weren't born while abba had their reign
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gimme Gimme Gimme!, 5 Nov 2009
By 
Kelly Prosser - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (Hardcover)
Gimme! Gimme! Gimme!

I bought the author's last book on Kylie Minogue and have been waiting for his pop follow-up! I'm not disappointed! It's all the ABBA stuff I wanted to read about - not a load of gossip about the band's personal lives, but a full, comprehensive and up-to-date account of their long career. It's got absolutely everything - reviews of rare songs (People Need Love) to famous songs (Gimme Gimme Gimme), their Eurovision success, chart positions, world tours and everything in between. I never even knew ABBA made TV shows! I want to watch them! Some great fun pics too. Lay all your love on this book!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (40th Anniversary edition) (Paperback)
Great book worth the money.Highly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed!!, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Mr. N. R. Partridge "Neil" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (Hardcover)
The title says 'Complete ABBA'. In the first few pages it details what the book does not cover; call me cynical, but how is that complete? To me this is like any fan book or review.
As an ABBA fan,this is a book i could have lived without!! To me a better buy would be a book by Carl Magnus Palm or jean-Marie Potiez. Sorry, but that this is how i feel.
For the price the overrall feel is that the book is quite a low budget product. If i had seen it before buying i would not have bought it.
The only bonus is the information i accurate, hence the 2 stars. There has been worse books but there has been far better also!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing to write home about., 18 April 2010
This review is from: The Complete ABBA (Hardcover)
This is just another "list" type book, re gurgitating what is already known. Emphasis on their Tv appearences is good. Better books pre date this which do it better at song & album analysis. While A8BA fans will buy it, they may not learn anything new in particular. Lets face it, until AB8A members themselves write their autobiographies, the same stuff will continue to be re hashed for the fan market.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete ABBA (40th Anniversary edition)
The Complete ABBA (40th Anniversary edition) by Simon Sheridan (Paperback - 27 April 2012)
£13.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews