Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Millar's own Superman
The book is so good, I don't know where to start. For one, it's Mark Millar's homage to Superman, and a very smart one at that - there are references to comic books, movies and the whole super-phenomenon. It's also - like The Ultimates - a story for the new century, current and relevant to today's readers, not a repetition of old themes.

At the same time, it's...
Published on 26 July 2012 by Marek Starosta

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Dull...
I found this Book to be dull and lacked imagination, I was very let down as I was expecting more from this book and my personal feeling is this book lacked any real punch and it is just a tad lacklustre.
Published 17 months ago by Luke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Millar's own Superman, 26 July 2012
By 
Marek Starosta (Zielona Góra, Poland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superior (graphic novel): 1 (Hardcover)
The book is so good, I don't know where to start. For one, it's Mark Millar's homage to Superman, and a very smart one at that - there are references to comic books, movies and the whole super-phenomenon. It's also - like The Ultimates - a story for the new century, current and relevant to today's readers, not a repetition of old themes.

At the same time, it's a story about serious disease (sclerosis) and also about the temptations, we're faced with, the choices that we make and their consequences.

The hardcover is beautiful, masterfully put together. Just a great book!

There's maybe one chapter in the middle, that I felt was a bit to slow and made me put the book down and read it in two sittings instead of one, but now I know, that it was worth to finish it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Title says it all, 29 Feb 2012
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Superior (graphic novel): 1 (Hardcover)
Simon Pooni was a regular kid once, captain of the school basketball team, until something life changing happened to him - he contracted multiple sclerosis. Confined to a wheelchair and barely able to use crutches his future looks bleak. That is until a space monkey appears out of nowhere and gives him superpowers! Gone is Simon Pooni, Superior is here!

In a twist on the body swapping premise made famous by "Big" and "Freaky Friday", a disabled boy finds himself with a new body that not only looks exactly like his favourite fictional superhero but can fly, has super strength, super speed, laser vision, the whole lot! Except the space monkey is not who he appears and Simon is about to realise the true cost of a wish fulfilled.

Mark Millar writes a great story most of us who read superhero comics have dreamt of - what would it be like to have superpowers? But more than showing the benefits of having someone like Superior in real life - stopping terrorism, averting natural disasters, saving millions of lives - Millar does a fine job of putting a disease that can afflict anyone, multiple sclerosis, in the spotlight.

One of the best lines in the book is when Simon becomes Superior and says something like "Looking back, I could fly, I had super strength, I could shoot lasers from my eyes, but when people ask me what I liked best about being a superhero?, it was being able to move my toes again". It's a heart-breaking snapshot of what people with MS must feel like every day. The tribute to Christopher Reeve at the back is touching too.

But enough touchy-feely stuff, has the book got the action superhero fans crave? Of course, it's Mark "Ultimates" Millar at the helm. Superior finds his own Lex Luthor (the book is a very thinly veiled riff on Superman) and huge battle scenes commence, skilfully drawn by Lenil Yu who did great work with Millar on their last collaboration, "Ultimate Avengers".

It's a really fun book to read but, in contrast to Millar's "Nemesis" which was out this time last year, "Superior" has a lot of heart to it and you find yourself rooting for Simon throughout. A great alternative take on superhero stories, "Superior" is an excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mark Millar classic, 14 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superior (graphic novel): 1 (Hardcover)
Mark Millar has done it again, this graphic novel doesn't fail to amaze. The writing and drawing are awesome, hope you enjoy as much as me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yeah, Superior sounds about right., 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Superior (Paperback)
I have always found Mark Millar to be a somewhat cynical writer, if you take that in a comedic way. He may sometimes create characters we learn to love and enjoy, such as in Kick-Ass, then do horrible, painful things to them, simply because he can make a good story without necessarily giving you what you want. Then, in his more satirical books, like Nemesis, he's give you a non-stop, over-the-top splatterhouse that doesn't bother itself with those clumsy character interactions and simply throws you into the messy mix. How surprised was I then, when I found a Millar book with more optimism.

Superior is gold, pure and simple. I have told all my comic-reading friends about it and recommended - no, demanded that they go out and buy this brilliant book. For me, this is the definition of purely enjoyable superhero fiction with a true and honest message about how anyone can do great things, no matter their flaws; personal, psychological or physical.

To put the premise simply, a boy with multiple sclerosis is visited by a space monkey one night (yes, that's right) who grants him one wish - to become his favourite comic book superhero, Superior (an obvious stand-in for Superman).

What follows is an exciting, funny, sad and beautiful adventure about a boy given a new lease on life as he can finally walk like a normal person, and then some. This kid goes on to avert major catastrophes in his new persona and the world is astonished that this hero - known to them as a hero in published fiction and a popular film franchise - is here to save the world. There is even an amusing sub-plot about the actor who plays the Superior character on film, baffled that there is a super-powered clone of himself saving New York from falling satellites and pulling stranded submarines onto the shore.

Of course every story needs a good villain to counter the main hero, but who am I to spoil this for you? The reveal of the villain, while somewhat scary and disturbing, was also pretty funny with just how ludicrous it is.

I can't recommend this book highly enough. My only beef is that this is a mature story. It doesn't have the sexual themes of other Millarworld books, nor even excessive amounts of brutal violence, but it does has some strong language, typical of a Millar story. I'm not saying this story should be marketed towards kids, but there is something admirable about the protagonist being a kid in a wheelchair with a short life expectancy. This kid finally has the ability to move again without aid, but he chooses to use his new-found powers to help people, with no monetary reward, just the satisfaction that the world is a little bit safer.

It's something we have taken for granted in many superhero stories that doesn't seem significant enough anymore, what with mainstream superhero titles spending more time including sex and violence, and having superheroes fighting EACH OTHER in big event comics (Avengers vs X-Men, I'm looking at you) than focusing on actual heroism. Heroism doesn't come from wearing colourful costumes and fighting people, it comes from simply doing good things, big or small. It comes from cooperation and compassion. In a genre that is dumbing down because of the media hyping up the latest blockbuster superhero films, I can't believe a MARK MILLAR book would make me appreciate what being a hero really means once again.

This is what superhero books should be. This is Superior. It's more than a comic to me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superior in Every Way!, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superior (Paperback)
Another hit by awesome writer Mark Millar, this shows what Superman could've been doing instead of waiting for a catastrophe every other day. Not only that, but add in a talking monkey and an epic city-scale final fight, and you may be holding the next box office hit! Anyone who loves Superman will definitely love this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Millar is superior!, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superior (Paperback)
Buy this comic.
This is a great comic because it's the greatest homage to Superman and super-heroes in general.
5 star because it is so enjoyable to read this...

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dull..., 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superior (Paperback)
I found this Book to be dull and lacked imagination, I was very let down as I was expecting more from this book and my personal feeling is this book lacked any real punch and it is just a tad lacklustre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, not great., 27 Jan 2013
This review is from: Superior (graphic novel): 1 (Hardcover)
More lightweight than I had hoped from my initial leaf-through a few months back. There's a lot of possible emotional issues that could have confronted all the the main characters that were skimmed over or ignored completely but this allows the novel to retain its fast pace and plot progression. The concept is superb and is well handled and the wrap up is excellently done even if it's a little obvious with the exception of the twist for the character of Tad Scott whose stand out moment I had not expected at all and was truly great (and could have done with more screen time).

The art work is competent but the action scenes weren't completely clear and the artistic representation of women in the book is appalling (a preponderance of cleavage shots that aren't even that well done and a few physical impossibility/broken spine moments trying to get as many assets into frame as possible). The *writing* of the female characters is on a par with how the male characters are handled in that they lack some depth but are not 'weak' in any pronounced way and the art work unfortunately doesn't reflect this.

Despite it's flaws this book is a worthwhile read handling a slightly more complex issue than a straight forward superhero romp in a deft manner and maintaining fairly tight scripting and pacing throughout. Nice to see a solid plug for the multiple sclerosis society at the end though it would have been better still if it was placed before the commercial adverts.

4 out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 4 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Superior (graphic novel): 1 (Hardcover)
Different and intriguing! I enjoyed it and it acts as an alternative to Superman and the more traditional super heros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's another great Millar, just buy it., 2 Nov 2014
By 
This review is from: Superior (graphic novel): 1 (Hardcover)
I cannot fault this book, as with other Millar books not for young children, amazing for adults & older teens.
Why they keep on belting out crappy kick ass films and not making this is a mystery. Probably the same people who are responsible for 'Hotel for dogs 2'. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Superior (graphic novel): 1
Superior (graphic novel): 1 by Leinil Francis Yu (Hardcover - 7 Mar 2012)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews