Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up your game!
Mark Millar teams up with his Civil War artist Steve McNiven for possibly the best book he's written so far. The book starts off at a blistering pace, throwing the reader straight into the action as Nemesis blasts a murderous path of vengeance across Asia before turning his attentions to Washington DC.

At every expectation in the story Millar draws the reader...
Published on 12 Feb 2011 by Sam Quixote

versus
26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Mark millar has officially jumped the shark! The guy writes comics with a movie in mind and all he can see are dollar signs and it's rather lazy and insulting to anyone with an iq. The main character is a genius and basically an evil batman who just happens to be about 100 steps ahead of every other pled in the book! The ending itself is too far removed from reality as...
Published on 15 Feb 2011 by godzilla78


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Millar misses his mark..., 21 Feb 2011
By 
This review is from: Nemesis (Hardcover)
Being quite a fan of Mark Millar I was very much looking forward to "Nemesis" and found myself buying the indvividual issues as opposed to waiting for the TPB. From the start I found this to be a dull and lazy comic lacking in any black humour or likeable characters, generally a massive disapointment. I strongly suggest to anyone thinking of giving this a go on the strength of reading "Kick Ass" or "Wanted" not to bother and instead check out the well titled "Superior" which is a much better example of Millars work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the joy of gore!, 10 April 2012
This review is from: Nemesis (Hardcover)
How do I describe nemesis? He's like Batman meets Osama bin Laden meets Bill the Butcher . This first book (Nemesis 2 will ship to comic shops this September) involves Nemesis terrorizing Washington D.C. police Chief Inspector Blake Morrow in a series of well thought-out attacks on the secret service and Washington P.D. He even hijacks Air Force One. This book is bloody but beutiful and should be a must for any true comic fan.

p.s. It's for over 12's only(:
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great but lacks depth., 11 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis (Paperback)
Loved it!
Although it lacks depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Damn Good, 25 April 2011
This review is from: Nemesis (Hardcover)
My only real experience of Mark Millar comics comes from Kick Ass, I loved Kick Ass, but I tried to put it out of mind when I read this as it's unfair to judge a new character/series like that.

I have to say I was quite impressed regardless. I'm not the biggest fan of the Superhero genre as I feel lately a lot of the major stuff has become very samey, so it's a breath of fresh air to see Mark Millar toying with the "rules" of the genre in the same way Watchmen or The Dark Knight Returns did in the '80s. Nemesis doesn't have super powers, just a brilliant (but twisted) mind and lots of money to fund his reign of terror. It's essentially Batman in reverse - even the white pastiche of the Batman costume is deviously brilliant.

The plot races along but I feel it still keeps the tension high and the twists keep coming thick and fast with Nemesis' plans becoming much more than they initially seem. While the body count is immense and there is copious amounts of blood and guts I didn't feel like the shocks were gratuitous. If anything they just fuelled the dislike you're supposed to feel for Nemesis.

The artwork is also great, sort of a cross between Dave Gibbons and Geof Darrow. I've not read a comic illustrated by Steve McNiven before but I probably will keep an eye out in future.

I only have a few criticisms which prevents me giving it 5 stars. First is that it's a bit too short for my liking. I feel that Millar could have extended it a bit more by highlighting the moments between the terror - the effects (mental and physical) it's having on Blake Morrow and his family for instance. I liked Blake as a character, but due to the length of the story the rivalry between the two isn't given enough time to heat up. I also don't like the fact that Millar states at the end that he writes with the intention of his comics becoming films.

The other thing for me was the ending. SPOILER ALERT!!! - The last couple of pages had me thinking that maybe Nemesis had written the letter of congratulations knowing beforehand that Blake would win, only to possibly poison him and fulfil his promise of the date and time of Blake's death a year later. The explanation of it being down to some "Hostel" like shady organisation for bored millionaires seemed a bit of a cop out and cheapened the rivalry it had otherwise built up. SPOILER OVER!!!

But otherwise, great story, great artwork and a nice change from the usual superhero silliness. I'd definitely like to see more of Nemesis and the ending does leave room for it. It's a great premise and well executed. Well worth a read if you like your comics dark and devious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars not for kids!, 10 Feb 2011
This review is from: Nemesis (Hardcover)
I have read all the issues of Nemesis through Millar's own CLiNT Magazine, which he says is a collection of monthly comics for 'boys'. first off, due to the content of this extremely GRAPHIC novel, this really isn't the kind of stuff boys should be reading. not if you don't want them blowing off their personal bully's heads just to see what it looks like (there's a lot of blowing up heads in this book..). Anyway, besides that, to begin with i really thought that this book was going to be extreme, but in a clever sense. OH, IT WAS.. and it's directly written like a film would go. just to note on that, Steve McNiven's work is astoundingly direct, illustrative and resourceful, creating completely believable panels of full detail, in a style that almost seems instinctive, which suits Millar's writing perfectly (another example of this team up can be seen in 'Old Man Logan', however, in Nemesis there is no other inker to McNiven's work, which helps towards the fluidity of the story). Unfortunately, this reader just found the ending a little bit of a cop-out, and in some places Millar went a little overboard with his vulgarity for the sake of it (there's one particular mention of incest which really wasn't necessary to include). If you want a Millar-type book that has a good story line and well developed characters, this book really won't be what you're looking for (a good example of this would be Millar's Ultimates, volumes 1 & 2. However, if you're ready to take on the fact that this book will deliberately attempt to maximise its shock factor at every turn of the page (even in it's dialogue), and at the same time if you want some cheap thrills to drive you on through page after page (it's a VERY fast paced book as a whole), then this one's perfect for the action alone. I for one, despite my criticism, was hooked from beginning to end, and i guarantee (unless you wuss out), you will be too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nemesis
Nemesis by Steve McNiven (Paperback - 15 Feb 2012)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews