Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars A broad grin and a Thumbs Up!
A criminal mastermind and brilliant cop go head to head in an ultraviolent spectacular.

What an exciting little book. It is like the comic equivalent of a music video. It looks pretty for a short space of time and will leave you humming after the music stops. There is no message, no deep thought, no real character development even. But it is bloody...
Published 3 months ago by 365 Graphic Novels

versus
27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
Mark millar has officially jumped the shark! The guy writes comics with a movie in mind and all he can see are dollar signs and it's rather lazy and insulting to anyone with an iq. The main character is a genius and basically an evil batman who just happens to be about 100 steps ahead of every other pled in the book! The ending itself is too far removed from reality as...
Published on 15 Feb 2011 by godzilla78


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 33 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz, 15 Feb 2011
By 
godzilla78 (northern ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Nemesis (Hardcover)
Mark millar has officially jumped the shark! The guy writes comics with a movie in mind and all he can see are dollar signs and it's rather lazy and insulting to anyone with an iq. The main character is a genius and basically an evil batman who just happens to be about 100 steps ahead of every other pled in the book! The ending itself is too far removed from reality as you can get (even for a comic) but the art is quite nice for most part. I wish Millar would get back to writing enjoyable books again rather then act like the frankie boyle of the comicbook world, looking for shock and awe whilst selling himself out to make an easy buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A broad grin and a Thumbs Up!, 23 Aug 2014
This review is from: Nemesis (Paperback)
A criminal mastermind and brilliant cop go head to head in an ultraviolent spectacular.

What an exciting little book. It is like the comic equivalent of a music video. It looks pretty for a short space of time and will leave you humming after the music stops. There is no message, no deep thought, no real character development even. But it is bloody entertaining. Your higher brain shuts down and everything but your eyeballs and page turning fingers goes to sleep as those two parts go into overdrive. It is completely over the top in terms of violence, colour, black humour and twist upon twist.

The art is fabulous with most panels being page wide and plenty of full page panels too. Whilst there is lots of dialogue it never descends into repetitive talking heads. This has such a wonderfully visual feel and is tingling with action. The fact the villain looks like Batman but in a pure white costume is a really inspired choice.

A broad grin and a Thumbs Up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis, 4 Jun 2013
By 
Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nemesis (Hardcover)
4-stars
This volume collects the four-part self-published(?) mini-series from 2010, staring Nemesis, the anti-Batman, a billionaire criminal mastermind who devotes himself to hunting down the world's greatest lawmen and executing cunning plans which have taken everything in to account, down to the minutest degree and spread across decades of years. Obviously, Chaos Theory hasn't been discovered in this universe.

We meet our anti-hero in Japan, where he is finishing off his latest campaign of terror, using a bullet train to kill the chief of police, and bringing a building full of police down on top for good measure. We then meet his next target, the chief of police in Washington DC, Blake Morrow, who's date and time of death Nemesis has just announced, shortly before he kidnaps the President. We then get a flashback to the young Morrow arresting nemesis's parents, the head of a rich-people's crime ring, given as the reason for Nemesis taking to a life of crime. After a few cat and mouse games, lifting a lot of Batman's old plots and new film-related hardware, as well as a lot of Millar's own creative mayhem, we get a showdown in the White House, and a final reveal of even deeper machinations going on deep in the background.

If you like lots of widescreen violence and epithet-laden dialogue, with deep-laid plots and conspiracies, and outrageous acts of terrorism on an unprecedented scale, then this is for you. If you are a bit more picky about your comics, you might still enjoy this, though by the end you might be wondering just how it all really worked.

THE SPOILER ZONE

Issue #1 introduces us to Nemesis, as he executes the Chief of Police of Tokyo, using a bullet train, and demolishing a building containing the SWAT team trying to rescue his hostage, to create the maximum carnage. We then meet his next target, Blake Morrow, the Chief of Police in Washington DC, who we meet doing a Clint Eastwood on a five-man criminal gang robbing a store. Afterwards, he is informed that he is the next target for Nemesis, so he goes into planning mode, just as Nemesis hijacks Airforce One, crash-lands it in a city centre and kidnaps the President, announcing that he's back for revenge for what happened to his family 20 years before.

Issue #2 starts with a flashback to the young Blake Morrow arresting Nemesis's billionaire parents for serial murder. Young Matthew Anderson runs off to become a master criminal, and today he has his own Nemesis-Cave stocked with billionaires' toys, just like another cave we know. Nemesis launches a series of Riddler-like crimes, though with a Joker-level body-count, culminating in an attack on the Pentagon. Morrow lays a trap for Nemesis - though I don't understand why it worked - leading to a big shoot-out and more Batman-like toys being deployed, before nemesis is finally captured.

Issue #3 sees Nemesis escaping from prison, along with two thousand inmates, who find two thousand identical getaway cars parked outside. Apparently his plan was to get captured to lure out Morrow's family from protective custody, and he kidnaps the Morrow children, releasing them in exchange for Morrow and his wife publicly revealing their deepest secrets. One secret he doesn't reveal is that he has had a mole in Nemesis's organisation...

Issue #4 sees Morrow leading his men into yet another ambush, as he is captured yet again, and Nemesis reveals his own mole, who gets his just reward, before Morrow is lead into the Oval Office, where his wife and the President are waiting, wearing bomb-vests and holding the triggers for each other's bombs, which they have been refusing to trigger. Morrow is given the choice which one to kill, before Nemesis kills them both. However, the President makes his own move, giving Morrow the chance to finally bring Nemesis down. Morrow subsequently dies on the operating table, before being resuscitated, thereby achieving Nemesis's target of dying at midnight...

Then comes the big reveal, that there is a hyper-villain behind the scenes, pandering to bored rich people by selling them the chance to become a super-villain, and who has planned these crimes over ten years previously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars If Batman went mental..., 19 April 2012
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nemesis (Hardcover)
Within the comic-book world there exist some great alternate universe stories which deviate from established canon to explore the "what if?" questions pondered by comic-book writers; examples include Captain American becoming president, and Mark Millar's own Superman: Red Son which sees Krypton's most famous son fighting for the Russians rather than being the all-American good guy. Here though, Millar doesn't play with an established franchise and instead creates his own world which will look familiar to fans of Batman. Chief Inspector Blake Morrow is reminiscent of Gotham's James Gordon - a man of fine moral fibre who finds his police-work often putting a strain on his domestic life, but he doesn't have a costumed hero he can call an ally. Imagine if rather than rescuing folk and fighting baddies, Batman preferred to kill people for his own pleasure, abusing his position to amuse himself and cause chaos - that's Nemesis.

This is without doubt a superb premise and one which any comic-book hero will find intriguing, it turns the usual concept of a hero story on its head and the charismatic guy in the suit is the one you want to see taken down rather than succeed against the odds. Although the idea is excellent however, it doesn't seem as well executed as it ought to be. Mark Millar has a real talent for managing to breathe an element of realism into his stories no matter how outrageous they become (Kick-Ass being a prime example) but Nemesis fails to convince and sometimes the evil plans are so elaborate and implausible that it takes you out of the story and it loses some of the drama.

The artwork in Nemesis is good but doesn't stand out, it feels fairly average and the main issue is with Nemesis himself who's all white costume looks a little bland at times - but it does at least emphasise the blood! There is plenty of action in the story and it looks dynamic on the page with car chases and frantic action feeling palpable.

In a nutshell: There's a blend of grittiness and excess in Superior, it occasionally feels like it's trying too hard to shock and I didn't really buy into it, it isn't a modern classic - but it's still very readable and if you accept that this is a completely over the top cat-and-mouse chase then it's easily enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Up your game!, 12 Feb 2011
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nemesis (Paperback)
Mark Millar teams up with his Civil War artist Steve McNiven for possibly the best book he's written so far. The book starts off at a blistering pace, throwing the reader straight into the action as Nemesis blasts a murderous path of vengeance across Asia before turning his attentions to Washington DC.

At every expectation in the story Millar draws the reader in only to pull the rug out and flip the situation on its head. I was hooked from the first page to the last as Millar throws in all the tropes of the superhero story and completely obliterate them. I won't go into them here but let you discover them for yourself because they're that good. Suffice it to say nobody out there is writing superhero books like this. Millar is a true original.

And Steve McNiven - is there another artist drawing superheroes at the top of his game like he is? Gorgeous artwork adorns every page, perfectly complimenting Millar's sharply written scenes. Quite simply the best in the business.

Do you like superhero stories but are bored with what most of DC and Marvel put out? Give this a go. It's a much needed adrenalin shot in the arm for a genre that's, frankly, become stagnant. Millar and McNiven together again, doing what they do best - amazing comics. A wonderful read and one of 2011's best so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Style over substance, 25 Feb 2011
By 
M. Higgs (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nemesis (Hardcover)
I've just finsihed my first reading of this book and my immediate thoughts are that it is a bit thin on content preferring instead to go for big action set pieces. This is a shame because I love some of Millars other work with Wanted & Kick Ass being two of my favourite modern takes on the super hero \ villain story, both of these had great storylines with ingenious twists and great characters but most importantly of all superb endings. With Nemesis I felt that the story could have been a good deal longer to give some depth to the characters, explain their motives and spin out some good set pieces, instead I felt like I was scratching the surface of each scene as if there were a couple of pages missing from each chapter and for me the ending was quite disappointing.

On the plus side the core idea of the story is pretty good and as I said there are some great action sequences, the story flows well and I enjoyed reading it. The artwork is great, McNiven has done a fantastic job, the scenes of violence he has created are visceral and really bring the action to life.

I guess in the end I'm a little disappointed because although it's entertaining I think this book could have been a whole lot better. In summary if this book was a film it would be Tron Legacy, looks impressive but lacks the strength of story to back it up.

+++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

UPDATE - I've come back to this review after re-reading Nemesis a couple of times and I've downgraded it from 3 to 2 stars. The book just doesn't stand up to re-reading, the whole thing is too flimsy and the story suffers as a result of this. I am considering returning the book to the shop I purchased it from and exchanging it for something else.

If anyone needs to "up their game" I'd say it was Millar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 23 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis (Hardcover)
Having read most of Millar's work from his early days in 2000ad to his marvel stuff ,i was nicely surprised by this little gem , it twists and turns throughout and although it has movie deal written all over it ,it does make a great short story , only wish it was longer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really great comic,, 13 Feb 2014
By 
D. Burkmar (hampshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis (Paperback)
loved it, another best by mark millar, art is great along with the story line is perfect, a great read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A decent, though forgettable read., 2 Feb 2014
This review is from: Nemesis (Paperback)
Mark Millar is easily one of my favourite writers in comics - if not my all-time favourite. He is of course popular for works with Marvel such as the Ultimates, Wolverine and Civil War, but I have found myself more engrossed in his own original works, such as the Kick-Ass series - a story about a teenager so unsatisfied with his dull existence that he dons a wetsuit and in tradition with his beloved comic book characters, becomes a superhero - and Superior - a touching tale about a boy with multiple sclerosis who is given the chance to become his favourite superhero and make the world a better place, at a cost that would change his life.

In case I'm not making myself clear enough, I love Mark Millar. He's a writer who shows no shame in escaping from the mainstream and cliche, exploring new and innovative ideas, without any remorse for doing shocking things in his comics. But, like with all great writers, you can't be top-notch all the time. In Millar's case, this is something I have become accustomed to. Ultimates 2 was bad enough without it's pointless ending that had no relation to the plot and came completely out of left field, and Kick-Ass 2 had a particularly unnerving scene that was completely unnecessary and left a bad taste in the mouth.

Nemesis is by no means a bad comic, but certainly not one that made me say 'wow'. The premise in an interesting one - an orphaned boy who inherited his family's vast fortune after the untimely demise of his parents, uses his wealth to don a cape and fight for a cause he believes in. Only, unlike Batman, he chooses to use his genius and wealth as a terrorist. The villain Nemesis is truly what a supervillain might be in real life. He has no morality, no guilt, no redeeming features at all. With a crack team of mercenaries at his side, he travels the world committing acts of terror against noble police chiefs simply because he is bored and wants to cause mayhem. Now, he sets his eyes on Washington DC's top cop, Blake Morrow.

Honestly, in this series, there is so much potential for greatness, but it is not fully utilised. In understand Millar occasionally likes to write stories that contain non-stop death and destruction in what is meant to be taken as dark humour, but I can't tell the difference between his comedic stuff and his lazy stuff. Apart from Steve McNiven's art, I can't say there's anything I really enjoyed about this book. Nemesis is a good villain, what with his mind being his most dangerous weapon of all, but he isn't given enough substance. In fact, not even the hero, Chief Morrow is given much substance apart from him being a good cop. We see Nemesis attacking his family and his reputation, but we barely have any scenes where someone isn't being shot or beaten up, or cars and planes aren't exploding. The series simply lives on big things happening without much time for character development.

And in the few instances where there are scenes that could give us insight into the characters, their lives and relationships, we are treated to yet another plot twist. If someone is revealed to be a villain all along, or they've been revealed to be cheating on their spouse, we haven't been given enough time with the character or learned enough about them to really care.

I will continue to love Millar's work, even when he sometimes slips up (for example, I am currently enjoying his new series Jupiter's Legacy, but getting very annoyed at the sheer dullness and stupidity of Kick-Ass 3). Nemesis is certainly a somewhat enjoyable read, but without much substance or appreciation for the material, like myself, it's a book that you'll be done with within an hour. It's good for building up your Millarworld collection, and a nice, somewhat obscure addition to your Graphic Novel collection, and alos good if occasionally you like to read something that is simply dumb and fun, but beyond that, I don't think it's much more than a load of guys killing each other spread over four issues. Give it a read and see for yourself, but don't raise your expectations too high.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nemesis... meh., 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemesis (Paperback)
Mark Millar's writing is okay, but nothing special in this "What if Batman were a bad guy" premise.
I didn't really enjoy this as much as the crazy Wanted or the fantastic Kick Ass.
The story is okay, but the plot 'twists' are visible a mile off.
Nothing Special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nemesis
Nemesis by Steve McNiven (Paperback - 15 Feb 2012)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews