Customer Reviews


93 Reviews
5 star:
 (74)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow the Jedi Path and feel the living Force
The Jedi Path is a very original piece of reference text to the Star Wars Universe, the Jedi and the Force. Next to the known content, it also contains original inputs into the Jedi ways and the Force. It's information is very interesting for all fans of the saga.
As a supplement, it comes together with original artworks, and lose pieces of goodies, that are hidden...
Published on 11 Nov 2010 by Stijn Creten

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Ok
Not sure what I was expecting, a perfectly good read for a star wars fan I think I just wanted it to be Better than it was
Published 5 months ago by D. Lipecki


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Follow the Jedi Path and feel the living Force, 11 Nov 2010
The Jedi Path is a very original piece of reference text to the Star Wars Universe, the Jedi and the Force. Next to the known content, it also contains original inputs into the Jedi ways and the Force. It's information is very interesting for all fans of the saga.
As a supplement, it comes together with original artworks, and lose pieces of goodies, that are hidden inside the book. You can find pins, napkis, a Padawan braid, and lots more as you walk through the book.
The original case that holds the book is a funny extra to the whole sense. If you are still connected to the kid inside, you cheer up every time you push the button that reveils the book from its chest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The force be with you, 29 Sep 2010
I ordered this mainly for a collectors item, which in no doubt it will be. From the clever opening of the case to the fantasticly designed leather cover this book will be an sought after item by any true jedi in training. whilst the book covers areas that are located in numerous other star wars encyclopedias and other books, its the presentation and decor of this book that will impress mainly as well as the literature inside. this book is written as a training manual that has been handed down through the ages and with the comments of well known jedi written in as footnotes, and the pages looking ancient gives this item a great charecter. so if youre a true star wars fan that wants a book that is not just great to read but fun to open(i could press that button all day and it still gives me goosebumps) then this is the book for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nice piece of fun for the Star Wars Fan, 26 Sep 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Star Wars: The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force (Hardcover)
Fans of the Star Wars Universe have long wanted a manual for the teachings of the Force which is now presented by Daniel Wallace in this wonderfully creative title from Titan. Add to this various fighting styles of the lightsabre, an instruction manual on creating one as well as the teachings of the spiritual side and it's a book that will make a great present for that fan in your life who may well have everything else already.

Finally add to this the wonderful touch of hand written notes from characters who owned this particular copy and it's a book that will give you an experience to remember, even if the fan goes in the back yard to practice his various forms yelling vwoom as the manoeuvre their prototype.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cute little book, 28 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force (Hardcover)
This is a cute little book that any fan, young or old would appreciate. The content spans all areas of force apprenticeship and mastery (with varying levels of depth) - though don't expect a temple archives kind of thing. There are nice notes from characters from multiple iterations of the series. OK maybe a drawback here since I doubt akosha, anakin, darth sidious and luke all shared the version of the book. For me it would have been much better to have 8 versions, with more in depth commentary on each, rather than this best of collection, that would have given you more in depth view of a character's opinions, and also make for better comparing or sections.

As for the book itself, is great, hard-cover, and well bound, the paper has this parchment feel to it and the greatest thing for me, the outside edges on the long side are jaded, like it's been hand-bound by a student of the force from different pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for every Jedi, 1 Nov 2010
Excellent book, it comes with all the extras as advertised and the paper and it even has some ripped pages by the emperor to simulate a used book.

The box makes the sound exactly as in the video which is surprisingly and awesome.

Definetely a must for every Jedi and Star wars collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still a fantastic book, even without the 'removables', 3 Sep 2011
By 
Liam Nicholson (Yorkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Star Wars: The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force (Hardcover)
I've seen many people discussing this online, asking if you'd still get the removable items without buying the Vault Edition. No, you don't. HOWEVER! the book itself is still a fantastic piece of fictional reference material. For those who couldnt afford the Vault Edition, definitely consider this one, at such a reasonable price you will not be disappointed. It's jam packed with information, with plenty of new bits created just for this book (and all considered part of the Star Wars canon).

The one think which lets this version down for me is the cover is slightly different to the vault edition, the material is a dull grey instead of the metallic blue of the original, and it's not quite as nice to hold (the original being slightly padded). I guess the main reason for them doing this was to distinguish between the two, so people couldn't interchange them. Anyway, that being said, it's hardly a problem, just me being picky.

It's the sort of book I want to carry with me everywhere (if not for the ridicule haha)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Jedi Path, 28 Sep 2011
This review is from: Star Wars: The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force (Hardcover)
This book is a world of information on the Jedi philosophy and path. Its canonically sound and even adds a little more depth to said canon. I think many fans have been waiting for such a book. Would also like to see a Sith version too.

My only issue, and its not a big one, is that i would love to have seen some sort of acctual instuction on Jedi meditation and such. Yes, i know its only fiction, but it would have great immersion if that sort of thing were present. And come on, how many Jedi fans out there haven't at least once wanted to immerse themselves in the lore like that.

Other than that this book is well worth it for an Star Wars fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun for kids, collectors, übergeeks . . . just about every "Star Wars" fan!, 4 Nov 2010
By 
Beedo Sookcool (Torbay, Devonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
You hold in your hands an electronic storage vault that contains the last known copy of "The Jedi Path," a training manual with a long, rich history - especially considering all the famous people who have owned it in the past! And now, it is yours to peruse, to seek knowledge of The Force and start on your path to Jedihood. Or not . . . because it's not an easy path to tread. Below are details of what you can expect.

THE PACKAGING: You have the glossy outer display box with a few full-colour photos on the back, a plain cardboard inner padding box, a plastic bag, and a slim cardboard sleeve to remove before you free the vault. Be sure to remove the "battery tab" sticking out a slot in the battery door on the underside of the vault, otherwise the electronics won't work. You should also find an instruction and troubleshooting sheet in there, somewhere.

THE VAULT: Once you've removed all the packaging and the battery tab, press down the semi-circular black button. Latches release, hydraulic systems slowly swing the vault doors aside and raise the book's platform, and bright blue electronic pulsing lights, whining servomotor noises and musical beeps herald the release of "The Jedi Path." There are a couple of instructive stickers on the vault, one on the black release button and one on the book platform, that you might want to remove (an easy process) to make the thing look a bit more "authentic." The only negative criticism I have of this entire package is that the silvery plastic of the doors and hinges seems a bit brittle to me, and might have been better executed in brushed aluminium, for which I would have happily paid a bit more in exchange for a little more perceived sturdiness. Still, if you're careful, you should get many years of enjoyment out of this gadget.

POWER SUPPLY: Because I couldn't find this information anywhere on any part of the packaging and had to open the battery compartment myself to find out: the vault requires three AAA batteries for full electronic functioning. These are included and already installed, but just in case you need to change the batteries, that's what you'll need, along with a Phillips / cross-head screwdriver. Also, if you're a serious collector and want to keep the set Mint In Box, you'll still probably have to open everything up to get the batteries out, just in case of leakage, which would spoil things worse than a couple of pieces of cut cellophane tape.

THE BOOK: The book itself is a textbook-style primer written by many different influential Jedi (actually, Dan Wallace), and contains interesting insights into becoming a Jedi, the various types of Jedi one could become, the purpose of the Jedi in the galaxy, and various other useful Force-related information, some of which is new to this book. It's beautifully bound in soft, embossed cobalt-steel-coloured leather with dull silver lettering and symbols, and contains high-quality, sturdy, soft-edged pages which are stylishly designed, bordered, and typeset. The all-new illustrations from many different fine artists range from cartoony to stylised diagrams to intricate and detailed watercolour, oil, and pastel work. I was very glad to see Terryl Whitlatch return with some more of her wildlife renderings! As a basic primer, the text covers a wide variety of topics without going into a great deal of detail (and even gets a couple of things wrong, especially when it comes to information regarding the Sith, which is to be expected from the Jedi). It reads as a somewhat arrogant and condescending dogmatic treatise of the We Are Right, Everyone Else Is Wrong variety. Throughout the ages, the various individuals who have owned this book have scrawled their own notes, insights, and commentary in the margins. Darth Sidious' wry, snarky observations are the best of the lot, in my opinion.

THE INSERTS: These removable pieces are listed in other reviews, so I don't feel there's a need to list them yet again here. Some of the insert items might be hard to find. At first, I thought my copy didn't come with Qui-Gon's severed Padawan braid, but it had just gotten wedged right down near the spine. Be sure to do a thorough search if you think your copy might be missing something! The inserts I got the biggest kick out of were the bronzy "JedCred" coin and Obi-Wan's plans for his next lightsaber, doodled on a stained paper napkin from Dex's Diner.

"The Jedi Path: Vault Edition" is highly recommended for dedicated "Star Wars" fans of any age who want a little something extra-cool for their library, especially if you're a self-avowed übergeek like me. Now, if they would do a similar tome for the Sith, I'd be all over that like tattoos on Darth Maul!

ADDENDUM, 25 Januray 2012 - Now also available: "Book of Sith," with several insert items, all stored in an electronic Sith "holocron" case. They listened. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Little Book, a must for all fans., 6 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force (Hardcover)
A real must have for any star wars fan, i honestly couldn't put it down. Gives a fun insight into the mind of a Jedi!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Jedi Path: Manual for Students of the Force (Vault Edition), 31 Oct 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force is a must for anyone who calls themself a hardcore star wars fan. The book looks and feels like it has been lifted straight from the Star Wars universe. The book is full of information on the Jedi Order and its history with great detail and depth. A number of well-known Jedi have written their own thoughs and opinions in the margins, this really gives the book a sense of realism. A great buy for any Star Wars collector.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force
Star Wars: The Jedi Path: A Manual for Students of the Force by Daniel Wallace (Hardcover - 26 Aug 2011)
9.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews