Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scope of Halo is too much for just one book
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:22 Mins
When I first realise that another Halo art book is coming out, I was wondering what they are going to put inside.

Turns out this art book is sort of a look back at Halo from the art. That's looking back at 10 years of Halo, which really needs a few books to be comprehensive. So this book tries to cover in its 192 pages, Halo: Combat...
Published on 2 Nov 2011 by Parka

versus
5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing...
After the fantastically detailed collectors edition of the Halo:Reach strategy guide I had high hopes for this. Sadly it seems to be a rather superfluous glossy book to cash in on the 10 year anniversary. The art isn't particularly exciting, nor the prose - much of it could have been written by any person who'd played the games - and it didn't give any insight into how...
Published on 8 Oct 2011 by R. T. Singleton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scope of Halo is too much for just one book, 2 Nov 2011
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:22 Mins

When I first realise that another Halo art book is coming out, I was wondering what they are going to put inside.

Turns out this art book is sort of a look back at Halo from the art. That's looking back at 10 years of Halo, which really needs a few books to be comprehensive. So this book tries to cover in its 192 pages, Halo: Combat Evolved, Halo 2, Halo 3, Halo: ODST, Halo: Wars, Halo: Legends and Halo: Reach. Seven titles if you're counting.

The art is grouped in chapters that look at the environment, the enemies, vehicles, alien beings, the good guys, Master Chief and homeworlds.

The art is beautiful. There are sketches and also huge paintings. Some are development art, some made it to final. Selected bits are featured so you only get snippets of information, bits and pieces of the whole Halo story. There isn't much duplication compared to other art books because the book shows new art and is made up of stuff that were left out in other books.

Because of the immense scope of Halo, this book is a bit underwhelming even though the art is spectacular. Something in my mind keeps telling me there's more. If you've seen Halo Encyclopedia, you know that there's a whole lot more.

If you want to check out more Halo art, you can look for The Art of Halo: Creating A Virtual World, The Art of Halo 3: Prima Official Art Book (incredibly rare), Halo: Reach Legendary Edition Guide (Brady Games Cover image may Vary) (art section at the back) and Halo Encyclopedia (the ultimate reference).

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Halo- Anniversary Splendor, 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
This is a lavish and beautifully crafted book celebrating the first ten years of the Halo franchise. It's a coffee table book that in effect lets the creators of the game flex their muscles and show the origins of the design and conception of the game. Its packed with concept art and illustrations exploring the environments, characters and military hardware inherent to the game. For me it is a revelation to see the artists and creators of Halo set free to paint and scribble their ideas and to show us the pleasure and deep imagination that goes into building whole worlds and stories from scratch.

My favorite images in the book are the epic paintings, depicting the scale of the wars played out in Halo, but I also really enjoy the concept sketches of the bad guys in their many terrible forms!

If you are a fan of Halo and love the space the developers of the game have created for you to play in then this book is essential, and is richly rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A nicely presented homage to the Halo Universe., 12 Oct 2011
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
While this book is a tad reverential in tone (though, fairness, the text is very much secondary to the images, which are the book's focus), for fans of the series there really is much to recommend it. The 186 pages of wonderfully reproduced images really give you a good feel of the work that went into crafting the games. I'd have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone with a desire to delve a little deeper into the Halo universe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sublime art book, 13 Oct 2011
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
This book contains amazing concept art from all Halo games to date, as well as the upcoming Halo: Anniversary. The texts are sparse and always secondary to the art, which covers all aspects of the universe and have excellent quality: the double-page spreads can easily be mistaken for oil paintings. "The Great Journey" is a worthy homage to the Halo franchise, and is a must-buy for any Halo fan (or any sci-fi art lovers, for that matter).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 12 Oct 2011
By 
R. Berry "MisterBT" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
Now if like me you enjoy concept art, particularly if that art is from one of your favourite games series, then Halo: The art of Building Worlds will be right up your street. The book is rife with full colour images ranging from sketches to full colour concept art, including many images which go across the double page spread.

I must admit that there isnt a vast amount of words in this book (which suits me perfectly) but to be honest, the images do all the talking. The book really is a celebration of Halo's 10 years and makes an excellent addition to any fan's collection. Looking through the books 190 odd pages sure does take me back over the years I've been enjoying the games and some of the concept art displayed on the pages is of stuff I've not seen before.

The repro is excellent and Halo: The Art of Building Worlds makes for a excellent keep sake and stands up to such games concept art as the excellent Assassin's Creed Art book. If you love looking at concept art and enjoying admiring the effort and work the artists put into the works of art contained within this book then do yourself a favour and pick this bad boy up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Halo parents buy this!, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
Superb and detailed book that kept my son off the computer for hours. Is actually a wonderful way to get beneath the graphics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very nice, 7 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
Great quality, full of interesting art work and other information. Bought this as a gift for reddit secret santa and the receiver loved it! Very pleased.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds', 23 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
A really nicely presented book with a lot of art wrok pictures from across the Halo universe of games. Some nice concept designs through to design development and final art from the bungie days to the current 343 artists. Could do with more writing in explaining more about the process but thats just picking faults. A good start for anyone interesting in games design and this book will stay on my reference shelf for some time to come. Highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Art of Genius, 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
A wonderful coffee table book and a brilliant insight into the creation of a legendary computer game. Great visuals of alien vistas and futuristic, military tech. This concept art is worthy of any mutli-million dollar movie. I can't believe people get paid to do this each day, I would be happy to work for them for free!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely, 3 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' (Hardcover)
For Halo fans its amazing and for artwork lovers is very good!
Great ilustations of 10 years of halo amazing landscapes .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds'
'Halo: The Great Journey - The Art of Building Worlds' by Martin Robinson (Hardcover - 21 Oct 2011)
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews