Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good read specially for fans of the series!
I really enjoyed this book and found it was a great read, I think thats fans of the series will particulary enjoy it. It is a little slow burning to begin with, setting the scene, introducing the 2 brothers Jensei and Istvan and depictng the events leading them up to planet Aspera, I would say for around 70% of the book there isn't really much action ( and zero...
Published 19 months ago by Ro

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so....some spoilers
Being a Dead Space fan of the games and having read the first Dead Space novel by the same author I was reasonably confident that this would be good also. Unfortunately that wasn't the case. The first 2/3 of the book are somewhat superfluous going into a relationship between two brothers one of whom is rather odd behaviourally, however, why he has acted oddly all his...
Published on 7 Nov. 2012 by Eoin


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good read specially for fans of the series!, 21 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book and found it was a great read, I think thats fans of the series will particulary enjoy it. It is a little slow burning to begin with, setting the scene, introducing the 2 brothers Jensei and Istvan and depictng the events leading them up to planet Aspera, I would say for around 70% of the book there isn't really much action ( and zero necromorphs) However the last 30% is well worth reading for with some fantastic scene's and gory descriptions. The book itself will mainly appeal to fans of the games/series with lots of references and nods to the games litered throughout (such as mentioned Aegis VIII, Soverin Colonies ship etc) but I also think it has strong appeal to people unfamiliar to the series, The story itself is rather a self contained story set in the dead space universe, loosly connected to other editions in the series, but essentially it doesn't follow on the story from any other of the games / books / comics in the series so it won't be hard for newcomers to follow. One small flaw I did notice near the beginning a few names were typed in correctly but only a small thing really :) all in all a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So so....some spoilers, 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space - Catalyst (Paperback)
Being a Dead Space fan of the games and having read the first Dead Space novel by the same author I was reasonably confident that this would be good also. Unfortunately that wasn't the case. The first 2/3 of the book are somewhat superfluous going into a relationship between two brothers one of whom is rather odd behaviourally, however, why he has acted oddly all his life is never explained. He kills a politician and ends up in a penal colony on a deserted planet run by the Unitarians, is tortured, becomes odder, retreats into his own mind further and hears the reverse engineered marker talking to him (which is also on the planet in a research facility).....this takes 240 pages or so to get to. The final 120 pages revolves around the outbreak at the facility and prison compound, his brother's arrival to help etc. etc. and is a good exciting read. But then we come to the other major gripe the ending, it just well ends....abruptly....so all in all for me a very disappointing follow up after the first book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great and interesting addition to Dead Space series., 5 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space - Catalyst (Paperback)
This book is interesting and exciting to read, explaining a bit more about nature of the markers and Dead Space series fans would like this book for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 2 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Don't expect the sales a Dead Space Martyr from this, it's very different. A bit clunky at the start and a little slow, with a few plot holes but all in all would definitely recommend it, especially to a fan of the franchise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars very good, 27 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a big fan of the deal space games and the first book didn't disappoint and this one carriers the dead space universe even better. Great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Oct. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space - Catalyst (Paperback)
Not as good as the last one, however it is still worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars only for the fans, 7 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dead Space - Catalyst (Paperback)
I doubt anyone who isnt a fan of the games would buy this book anyway, but if you hadnt played the games its not for you. The book doesnt help fill in gaps bettween dead space 2 and 3 i beleive its based before 1st game as Aegis 7 is mentioned. The book starts off rather slow dealing with 2 brother one whos mother might have been to close to a marker before the child was born. But the book gives a better idea of how a marker effects people in different ways and leaves it open for another book, the ending is left open for now for you to decide what happens which i found rather good but can see other people not liking that fact. The chapters are short which means its a good book to read on short bursts like on dinner break in work just like the last dead space book was, noticed one eoror early on when the wrong brother name was mentioned by the other brothers inner thoughts which is way am marking it down one star that and the leaving alot open to either fill another book or just never be explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, 25 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have played all 3 dead space games and this is a brilliant book that explains what happened before the Ishimura!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dead Space - Catalyst
Dead Space - Catalyst by B.K. Evenson (Paperback - 2 Oct. 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews