Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinda sneaky: a political theory tract disguised as military sci-fi
This is the fifth book of the Lost Fleet series, and while you probably can read it without benefit of the previous four novels, you will miss a lot. Its best to start with Dauntless and go on from there. There are only a few battles this time around, but there are Big Events aplenty, including the unmasking of the mutineers within the Fleet, and a personal...
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by John Middleton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Book
I found the first 3 books readable. After that it felt a bit repetative, almost like the publisher said 'heh...let's make a lot more money by stretching the books into a lot more editions...The seller was good with fast delivery.
Published 2 months ago by D. Ironside


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Kinda sneaky: a political theory tract disguised as military sci-fi, 18 Aug 2011
By 
John Middleton (Brisbane, QLD, AUST) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Relentless (Book 5) (Lost Fleet 5) (Paperback)
This is the fifth book of the Lost Fleet series, and while you probably can read it without benefit of the previous four novels, you will miss a lot. Its best to start with Dauntless and go on from there. There are only a few battles this time around, but there are Big Events aplenty, including the unmasking of the mutineers within the Fleet, and a personal understanding coming into place with Captain Desjani which is as much a struggle as a full Fleet engagement.

Victoria Rione is still around Geary, acting as a politician counterpart to his role as military leader - and also taking on necessary responsibilities to allow the Fleet to avoid playing politics and itself committing treason - from a certain point of view.

At the end of the story, the Lost Fleet is finally home, and may have a chance to win - or rather end - the century old Syndic War. The problems are that:
1. Nobody, least of all the politicians, is prepared for or can even remember peace; and
2. The Aliens are out there somewhere, and they are not friendly.

All of this means there is a bit to do as yet for Geary.

This series is interesting on a number of levels: it can be read as Space Opera with massed fleets and flying weaponry, and also as a treatise on the theory behind civilian control of the military, in circumstances where such control is in fact neither efficient nor effective. I would imagine that in the most part the view ultimately taken is preaching to the converted, but the journey is made hard, not easy: to a significant degree there are parallel journeys being taken by the Lost Fleet both in a physical and psychological (for want of a better word) sense. In fact, now I type that I realise that itself you can interpret the title "Lost Fleet" in a number of ways when you think about what state the Fleet was in at the start of Book 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the read, 26 Jan 2014
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Relentless (Book 5) (Lost Fleet 5) (Paperback)
This story continues from the previous in the series, it remains true to the approach of the previous book namely the story line is simple, the book is very easy to read and it doesn't demand huge amounts of concentration but is hugely enjoyable to read. If you enjoyed this you will read the next in the series.

Worth noting that there is a small degree of repetition but it doesn't distract from the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK Book, 26 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Relentless (Book 5) (Lost Fleet 5) (Paperback)
I found the first 3 books readable. After that it felt a bit repetative, almost like the publisher said 'heh...let's make a lot more money by stretching the books into a lot more editions...The seller was good with fast delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cracking!, 23 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Jack Campbell's lost fleet is a great, nail biting adventure, with humour and suspence thrown in, you get quite attached to the characters in command of the ships, another excellent episode in Captain Geary's attempts to end the war!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE LOST FLEET, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Ian J. R. Johnson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Relentless (Book 5) (Lost Fleet 5) (Paperback)
The book arrived well within the estimated delivery period. The condition of the book is excellent and I enjoyed reading it. In fact I have read it again to catch nuances that I may have missed through reading it too quickly the first time!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An Excellent Series, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is book five in the series and continues on an excellent story, I've been unable to put the books down since I started reading this epic adventure. It would have given this 5 stars if the last book had been available on Kindle but it isn't and I don't think its likely to be either. But the rest of the books are still worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read., 2 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Lost Fleet: Relentless (Book 5) (Lost Fleet 5) (Paperback)
Front to back a brilliant read, could not put it down and went straight into book 6. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Lost Fleet Series, 1 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series must be read in sequence to understand the background to each book in the series - greatly enjoyed the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly captivating read, 27 May 2013
By 
Philip Godfrey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have read many science fiction books but rarely have I found one so difficult to put down. Jack Campbell's style creates something that is somehow believable whilst being highly fictional. The story has many twists and turns along the way that keep you wanting to know what happens next. If you come across this book by accident, make sure you read the series in the correct order. Now for the next in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad series, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This series is not bad but it does have problems. For an action series its very wordy with not a great deal of action. Its also not clear which order they should be read in
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa68daf90)

This product

The Lost Fleet: Relentless (Book 5) (Lost Fleet 5)
The Lost Fleet: Relentless (Book 5) (Lost Fleet 5) by Jack Campbell (Paperback - 25 Mar 2011)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews