Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 31 Mar 2011
This review is from: Framed Ink (Paperback)
I bought this book on a whim... I'm an illustrator and was looking to improve my work and I really must say that this is a great addition to my library. I've started to move into digital painting/matte painting/concept design and this book will prove to be invaluable. It has lots of examples of how to compose an image, add tension, convey emotion... it really does have loads of great scene examples and each one is deconstructed to help educate you in how it works.

It's really well written and beautifully, if minimally, illustrated in monochrome. I don't think I will watch a movie in the same way again as I have picked up so many tips on how shots are composed and these can easily be translated to concept paintings. If you are interested in this field or movie making then I would not hesitate in saying this book is an invaluable addition to your library. Absolutely first class resource.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great how-to book, 2 Oct 2010
By 
Parka (Singapore) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Length:: 0:39 Mins

There are probably no other books around that covers composition with emphasis on storytelling as well as Framed Ink. This is a whole book devoted to the subject, as compared to other books (on storyboards) that usually have only one or two chapters.

Although the illustrated examples are mainly movie composition, the techniques can be applied to animation, movies and even graphic novels. Every technique comes with a concise breakdown. You get to understand how and why shots are framed in a certain way, or how to create compositions to create a certain mood. There are also tips on lighting and continuity.

Over 200 beautifully illustrated examples are included. And they are really good examples. Just by looking at the examples alone, without even reading the commentary, you already get a good idea of what's happening.

Marcos Mateu-Mestre has distilled his 20 years of experience and knowledge into an accessible package you shouldn't miss out on.

This is the essential how-to book for storytellers, or for anyone who needs to put images on screen or on paper.

Highly recommended.

-

You can check out more of his work on his website.

-

(There are more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must for Writers as well as artists, 12 Mar 2011
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Framed Ink (Paperback)
Whilst a lot of the how to titles out there deal with getting the initial shapes and composition sorted for singular pieces, this title by Spanish artist Marcos Mateu-Mestre deals with a whole lot more. Whilst initially he does deal with composing one image, he looks at the narrative story of the piece as a whole allowing those with an interest in either storyboarding for films or for illustrating graphic novels to learn tips and tricks that have taken years to learn.

It's beautifully written with clear, easy to understand tips and when backed with practical demonstrations allows the reader to absorb in minutes lessons that without the illustration would have taken a lot longer to understand. Add to this not only an authoritive voice upon the subject but a respected name within the film genre makes this a title that you really can't miss. Whilst it won't tell you all about drawing it will help make sure that you get your composition right to make it work for you rather than at times confuse the audience. All in a great title and one that I wouldn't restrict to just artists but would also recommend to those who want to write film scripts or even help writers compose their scenes to get the most impact from their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book for those wanting to get a handle on panel design, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink (Paperback)
Saw this in a shop, which was quite expensive but from flicking through the pages, it was clear that this was a beautifully put together book. The artwork samples are fantastic and although I understand framing from a film making point of view, drawing comics has it's own visual language which this book helps to explore. I brought this off Amazon as it was cheaper than a high street store. Highly recommended but ultimately the key thing is to write and draw your own stuff, it's the only way to get better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worth it., 14 Oct 2013
By 
JD Kop (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink (Paperback)
I am myself an illustrator and graphic designer. Currently I am producing two graphic novels and felt that I could use a bit of 'guidance' in relation to visual storytelling. This book has given me inspiration but more than just that, it has given me tips on what I was perhaps missing in my own artwork and storytelling abilities.
Anyone who is interested in graphic novels, comics or is wanting to develop their own book or even a professional artist for that matter, would be silly to pass on this book. In my own opinion an essential item for any bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 25 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink (Paperback)
I love the drawn examples and clear explanation.
A versatile book for anyone interested in storyboarding, film-makeing and drawing composition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good, if not a little sparse., 8 Aug 2011
By 
R. Burrows (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Framed Ink (Paperback)
This is a very good book. The author covers a lot of ground, and gives you just enough information to tickle your taste buds. I recommend buying it if you're a beginner to the world of composition and cinematic storytelling.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful book on composition for storytelling, 19 Oct 2010
By 
A. Z. Pinkus (Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I am an art student (fine art) wanting to get into writing graphic novels and this book was enormously useful to me.

In only 128 pages the book covers a lot of ground. I found myself having to put the book down every few pages to mull over the information. There is just so much there! The art work that demonstrates the principles is stunning, and makes you want to go to the drawing board immediately to try it out.

The book shows how camera positioning (shooting from different distances and angles, wide angle or long shots, et cetera), lighting, positioning of the characters, and the background chosen can all be used to dramatize the story and let the reader "feel" the story. It also shows how to minimize confusion for the reader by controlling the positions of the focal points in consecutive frames, and arranging for continuity from frame to frame, distinct character design for graphic novels (so readers can tell them apart) and the well-known 180 line rule.
The book also shows how thumb nails can be used to design frames.

This is just a short summary; the book is also packed with enlightening examples.

All in all a real eye-opener for me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for storyboarders, 29 Oct 2014
By 
D. Chambers (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Framed Ink (Paperback)
Great resource for storyboarders, comic artists, directors, and anybody who needs to tell a story visually. The thumbnails showing the major areas of light and dark in the composition are a lovely touch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The work of a master craftsman., 11 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a very informative book with great ideas and sample artwork.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Framed Ink
Framed Ink by Marcos Mateu-Mestre (Paperback - 25 Feb 2011)
Used & New from: £39.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews