Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of art instruction
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:27 Mins
This book has been out of print for decades, but has always been sought-after by artists and student.This has pushed prices into the stratosphere but that's all over now that it is back in print. It is the grand-daddy of all portrait art instruction books, and it remains the best.

If you are a beginner in portraiture then this is...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by Stephen Citynskyj

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift
My son is in university doing animation in computer games, and when he received this he was really pleased with it.
Published 15 months ago by Lynda Garnett


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece of art instruction, 31 Oct 2011
By 
Stephen Citynskyj "Stephen Citynskyj" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
Length:: 1:27 Mins

This book has been out of print for decades, but has always been sought-after by artists and student.This has pushed prices into the stratosphere but that's all over now that it is back in print. It is the grand-daddy of all portrait art instruction books, and it remains the best.

If you are a beginner in portraiture then this is almost certainly the best book on the planet to get you started. It takes you from the very basics of form and shape, continues to explain perspective, light and shade, facial expressions, the differing characteristics of different ages of face, and so on. It is divided roughly into two parts: male and female. Therein it also covers baby, child and elderly faces. Toward the back of the book is a chapter about drawing hands. This is the only weak part of the book, though hands are generally not a major component in a portrait. The examples have a rather 1940s look about them, but their quality is never in doubt. Loomis was a master of portrait and illustration, and this comes across clearly in each of the hundreds of examples he provides.

I also strongly recommend the accompanying book by Loomis: "Figure Drawing For All It's Worth", which has also recently made it back into print. Get yourself copies while they are still in print. If history repeats itself and they fall out of print, they will only rise in value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unrivalled guide to drawing the Head., 11 Nov 2011
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
After having read so much about Loomis' books and having the first in the range of facsimiles (Figure Drawing For All It's Worth), I was eager to get my hands on the next reprint of these seminal drawing books. The teaching of drawing in Art Schools is something that has seen a decline in recent decades. There is some growth in the area in the US, but in the UK there is still minimal instruction in actual technique and drawing theory. As an art student wishing to draw accurate figures in my compositions I have turned to books to teach me the drawing skills I wish to learn. Having researched and bought several books on figures and anatomy, I can say that Andrew Loomis' books are by far the best of their kind and have been unsurpassed by those that followed. There are plenty of plates of Loomis' drawings to practice from and overall this book is a must have for any aspiring figurative artist.

If you felt that the section on drawing heads in Figure Drawing For All It's Worth was not enough, I would definitely suggest this book. Having said that I would say that the section on hands suffers the same fate as the section on heads in Loomis' previous book. Despite the name of the book, the section on hands is very restrictive for such a challenging subject matter and would have greatly benefitted from a few more plates of examples. I would recommend Burne Hogarth and Giovanni Civardi's books on drawing hands for further instruction in this area.

Inevitably the drawings are dated, some of them are very much stuck in the 1940's, but they are clear and precise. The subject matter will always be relevant and you will be hard pushed to find a more modern publication that covers this subject so clearly and comprehensively. It's just a shame these are only being reprinted one every six months, I would really like to get my hands on Creative Illustration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Got your head in your hands? Loomis lifts the veil., 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
Until opening this book I was unaware that there was so much skill required for the correct drawing of the hands and the head. That the representation of these appendages is, apparently, an almost universal problem and encountered by even great artists had occured to me when I undertook a history of art course. Even the great Leonardo da Vinci himself seems to have erred in his 'Annunciation' as the Virgin's hand appears very strange, however, although the painting is attributed to Leonardo, it is entirely possible that the figures may have been executed by his then master Andrea del Verrochio, if they can err what hope for the rest of us? Another strange hand appears in 'The Penitent Magdalen' by Georges de La Tour, here the hands take bizarre almost parabolic shapes, there again this may be accentuated by the smallness of the image on screen or in books, the original may look entirely correct at its normal size of approximately 50 x 40 inches. However, I digress, with these examples in mind correct interpretation of them in an illustration is obviously crucial if we are to retain some semblance of verissimilitude.

Andrew Loomis's book is filled with fine examples of heads and hands, I had no idea of the wide range and could easily have been overawed but his stage-by-stage progression is a great help to the student of art.

Some may balk at the apparent old fashioned styles of the heads, I feel, however, that these only lend a sense of gravitas to this and its accompanying volumes unlike some light and fluffy modern guides.

I am confident that by following the guidance in these books my drawing skills will improve dramatically. Of course should I prove less than adept at following the guidance I can always make a good living selling pickled examples of the butcher's trade, unmade beds or piles of tyres and bricks in various stages of decrepitude.

Another great book from Titan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to really draw., 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
The post-skill era art teachers who fill our schools and colleges would all do well to study this book and then practice the drawings. We might then see a return to the canons of truth in art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 1 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
I had read a lot about this book and I was not disappointed. I have only just started working thorough the book, but I can see that how to start drawing heads already makes much more sense. There is more text than in most modern instruction books, but it is easy to read and understand. Other people have commented on the dated appearance of the illustrations, and yes, they are like taking a step into the past, but a beautiful drawing will always be just that, no matter it's age. I would be pleased to be able to draw half as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book., 4 Jun 2013
By 
L. Wagstaff (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
I bought this as a gift for someone who was having difficulty drawing heads, portraits etc. and what a difference this book has made to the student, it may be an oldie but it is a goodie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for artists, 5 Dec 2011
By 
Hemesh Alles - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
Another excellent book on drawing by the master Andrew Loomis.This book is an essential addition to his book 'Figure Drawing for all it's Worth'.The examples of artwork look a bit dated(1950's) but this has it's own charm.However his tips and instruction remain valuable and timeless, regardless of the level artistic ability of the reader.I am so glad that Titan books are reprinting all his books as they are extremely difficult to come by and look forward to the next book to be issued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Need even more Loomis, 1 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
Excellent book, a must for artists seeking to improve their technical ability in drawing heads and hands. Highly recommended book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful book, 1 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
Loomis' books do contain a degree of repetition, but you have to repeat and repeat and repeat to get anywhere with drawing. Another inspirational and well presented tome with some beautiful examples.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars VEry useful, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drawing the Head and Hands (Hardcover)
My husband is a keen artist and found this book extremely useful as he tells me that drawing head and hands are quite
difficult. He loves all art books so this is one of many but he would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaf383f30)

This product

Drawing the Head and Hands
Drawing the Head and Hands by Andrew Loomis (Hardcover - 21 Oct 2011)
20.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews