Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, easy read.
Having read the Darth Bane Rule of Two series I was adamant that I would not find any Star Wars EU book that was better. And I have not yet but this does come very close. It has a good start, then a boring middle and then an unexpended end. I think that the middle could do with some improvement but it is generally a good book.
Published 4 months ago by Karim Krishna

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad
This book starts with much promise and builds a nice story line. However my personal opinion is that it loses some momentum towards the end.
Published on 6 Dec 2012 by MR A G Adcock


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good, easy read., 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read the Darth Bane Rule of Two series I was adamant that I would not find any Star Wars EU book that was better. And I have not yet but this does come very close. It has a good start, then a boring middle and then an unexpended end. I think that the middle could do with some improvement but it is generally a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellant, 3 April 2014
By 
AA Balmbra - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance (Paperback)
It came in a very good condition. It was just what I expected and more than exceeded my expectations; excellant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Wars Fan, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance (Paperback)
This another of the old republic books and i must say it is awesome the story is brilliant along with the setting and you want to sit and finish it once you start reading it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance (Paperback)
This book is real a good one, because it is very good written action novel. Good character writting and action
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate meets Starwars, 24 Mar 2013
By 
Mark Kaye (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance (Paperback)
Reall cool book. I really enjoyed read this book, kind of slow as first, but once it got going it was a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading the longer-than-most Star Wars book, 'Fatal Alliance'. Being a player of The Old Republic enriched this experience, as I got to understand some of the characters a little better. The most prominent and interesting feature of this novel, in my opinion, is that it'll most likely make the reader see the Jedi and Sith in a different light, in terms of their relationship with one another.

Some fantastic characters are introduced in this novel like the Padawan Shigar and the terrifying Darth Chratis, but there are some old favourites like Satele Shan, too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to SWTOR, 26 Dec 2012
I loved this book. If you like to read more about the sith and enjoyed The Rule of Two I think you will love this too. I have read this three time and enjoy it each time. (I don't normally read a Star Wars books again)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Bad, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book starts with much promise and builds a nice story line. However my personal opinion is that it loses some momentum towards the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dodgy Crust but Great Filling, 10 Sep 2012
This review is from: Star Wars: The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance (Paperback)
Many books have promising beginnings and quality endings but struggle with an indifferent middle. This is the opposite. Fatal Alliance crawls for its first 100 pages, explodes in the middle 350 and then offers a disappointing conclusion. It's a real mixed bag.

The first act was worrying for two reasons. First, the premise gathering all the players together seems shoe-horned in, artificial and not exactly logical. It just doesn't make sense that the Hutts having fragments of a ship built of rare metals and a transponder (map) that nobody's examined would lead everyone to the conclusion that it must be from a new world. It might have made sense if the metals were unique or did something unique, or instead of fixating on the metals, the technology had exhibited some interesting properties but instead, it feels like what it is: a plot device.

My second issue is with characters' behaviour and choices, particularly the dialogue. I found the reasoning hard to follow because it wasn't very logical. Much of it was geared at creating context of the galactic situation and the ideologies of the Empire/ Republic but there's no proper train of sense (especially the Jedi master-padawan ethical debates). As with the first point, action seems unnaturally fitted to the demands of the plot.

Part of the underwhelming start could be down to the familiar roster of characters lifted from the source-material of the New Republic game (Jedi/ Sith/ Bounty Hunter/ Scoundrel/ Soldier/ Spy). These aren't the worst cut-out templates in a Star Wars book but they're also easily forgettable, particularly Padawan 101. Most effort seems to have gone in to the spy character, probably because his motives are garbled and could do with some unravelling. The others are pretty middling.

Fortunately, once things get started, the action is intense, fast-paced and quite inventive, kicked off with a three-way fight that quickly becomes four-way. A new faction is introduced that's imaginative- if a little conveniently powerful- and there's a vividly imagined location. The middle sections are more than enough to make the false start quite forgivable with a race-for-the-treasure caper that should see you drive through at a rapid pace. The only problems occur when there's a pause for characters to take stock and the faulty logic comes back in.

Then, just as things are coming to a head, it all stops suddenly (and a bit unconvincingly) and there are effectively 40 pages of epilogue that kill off the good vibe that had just been created. Part of the conclusion which should have been described as action is merely reported, as though the author got told he'd written enough pages and had to end things there (it's long for a Star Wars book). Instead we get a few dead squib endings for some characters. Thankfully, the epilogue proper and preceding chapter do something to rally it at the end, setting things up nicely for the more interesting characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 30 April 2012
By 
B. Collins "Barbara" (Grimsby, N E Lincs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this book is the best book I've ever read. I'm getting the rest of the old republic book's but I do hope you make more of these book's. If you don't these book's are fine and they are the best book's ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Wars: The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance
Star Wars: The Old Republic: Fatal Alliance by Sean Williams (Paperback - 24 May 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews