Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea
Suitable for a good reader 9+, this is an interesting story set in 1899 at the turn of the century, centred around Penny Tredwell, author and owner of the Penny Dreadful. Initially she's trying to promote the works of Montgomery Flinch, a writer in her paper, and this brings her in to contact with the Spider Woman - Lady Cambridge and the inmates of Bedlam. Why are the...
Published 21 months ago by Book chatter

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Rubbish
Thought it would be really good but it explains sverything in first psge it is rubbish. I actually put the book in the bin
Published 10 months ago by izzy barber


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting idea, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful) (Paperback)
Suitable for a good reader 9+, this is an interesting story set in 1899 at the turn of the century, centred around Penny Tredwell, author and owner of the Penny Dreadful. Initially she's trying to promote the works of Montgomery Flinch, a writer in her paper, and this brings her in to contact with the Spider Woman - Lady Cambridge and the inmates of Bedlam. Why are the inmates writing reams of paper at 12 minutes to midnight and what do these strange fortellings mean when they talk about flying birds, sinking ships, men on the moon and strange mechanical machines? It all has something to do with LAdy Cambridge and her spiders, but can she find the answers and put a stop to it before the new century dawns? Fairly quick paced, easy enough to read and a new angle on a mystery story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great thriller for kids, 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful) (Paperback)
This is a really good, atmospheric thriller aimed at the 10+ market. I found that I was drawn into the story really quickly, it’s written in such a way that you find yourself completely swept up by it. The Victorian setting, complete with gaslights and a public taste for ghost stories, works so well and really adds to the reading experience.

I really loved Penny, the lead character. She’s brilliant and plucky, and really smart. I found myself really rooting for her. The villains are well thought out, they could easily have felt like tired, pantomime characters but they’re written carefully to avoid this.

The book whips along really well, there’s no filler – everything contributes to the plot. I was a little unsure when it looked like everything was getting resolved partway through the book but delighted in the way the plot continued to develop. A really enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully visual fun read, 21 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful) (Paperback)
Even as an adult reader I appreciated the descriptive skills used to bring Victorian London to life, especially beautiful descriptions of museums and details. A fun quick read with a fresh storyline - could easily see this as an enjoyable film in the future
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Twelve Minutes to Midnight, 14 Jan 2014
This review is from: Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful) (Paperback)
Twelve Minutes to Midnight is the first in a series of books about Penelope Tredwell, thirteen year old proprietor and writer for The Penny Dreadful - a monthly periodical she's made so successful since her father's death that it's now outselling The Strand.

In this tale, Penelope's alter-ego Montgomery Flinch is requested to help a baffling mystery at Bethlem Royal Hospital - the notorious Bedlam. Fortunately for Penny, she has already hired actor Monty Maples to `play' Montgomery Flinch, as she's desperate to solve the mystery for her next story. Unfortunately for her, Monty is terrified of almost everything so she doesn't get to find out as much as she needs from the haunted inhabitants at Bedlam. Every night, at twelve minutes to midnight, every Bedlam patient is compelled to write and write. Words of madness believe the Superintendent but Penelope is sure there is truth in them...

The first 100-or-so pages set up the characters and plot and are relatively slow-paced. Relatively compared to the second half of the book when as soon as we're introduced to the mysterious widow, Lady Cambridge, things start happening in speedy succession. Lady Cambridge's creepy research subjects are still making my skin itch a day after finishing this book; and the world of Penny, Alfie, Monty and Mr Wigram are somewhere that the reader will almost certainly feel compelled to revisit.

Twelve Minutes to Midnight is an intriguing mix of historical, alternate history, mystery, horror and paranormal novel with a strong female lead and decent supporting cast. Penny is probably a little too brilliant to be believable, but not in an overly irritating way. I also wasn't convinced by some elements of the dream-based finale but I am not the target audience!

I have to review this as an adult, because my daughters are too young. This is aimed for age 9+, but I did wonder how many of the historical references would be understood by this age group. However, I have no current direct experience of the age range to know, and I think even if the historical references pass the reader by the story can still be followed and enjoyed. I just got an extra thrill from the inclusion of Arthur Conan Doyle, H G Wells, Freud et al.! As an adult, it is an easy read, but still great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really supernatural but really good, 4 Nov 2013
This review is from: Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful) (Paperback)
This book was great. I really didn't expect what happened at the end and I have read it lots of times but I still think it is really exciting! It's one of my favourite books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars really good, 3 Sep 2013
fantastic read I loved how penny was so mature and it did not explain everything in the first pag izzy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Didn't see that coming.., 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful) (Paperback)
Read this before my 12 yr old son got his mitts on it. Highly enjoyable and a rollercoaster of surprises, you will not be able to predict how story pans out.
Strongly recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gift, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful) (Paperback)
This was a gift for my grandaughter who is 11. Although she is a very capable reader I did not want her reading fiction that was
beyond her. This was also a different genre for her and it made a change to see her reading something different rather than her preferred author.The feedback I received back was that "it was a very good read, pacey and interesting. and could I fined any ore like this!" A hit I think!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great read, 24 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful) (Paperback)
Really good read. My son has enjoyed this book and read it each night. An enjoyable read for his age group 12ish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cracking yarn, 25 Dec 2012
An extremely unusual gripping story for the younger teen. The gothic aspects are just scary enough to thrill rather than frighten and the historic setting is intriguing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa5f2add4)

This product

Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful)
Twelve Minutes to Midnight (Penny Dreadful) by Christopher Edge (Paperback - 1 Feb 2012)
5.03
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews