Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (84)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, fresh look at how fairy tales should have been told.
Imbued with typical Dahl wit these rhymes skip and slither along at a sweetly irreverent and highly infectious pace.
This book takes some of our best known fairy stories, from Cinderella to Red Riding Hood and gives them a twist, a mischievous and thoroughly enjoyable twist.... read these ryhmes and you will never think of Red Riding Hood in quite the same way...
Published on 2 Jan 2002

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the whole story !
I would never write a poor review for a Dahl book, but the problem with this title is that the rhymes within this book are not complete. It's only because a couple of the story's are duplicated in another book I have that I realised they were not complete. Why the heck would you cut them short?
Published on 8 Jan 2012 by Mr. Graham S. King


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Witty, fresh look at how fairy tales should have been told., 2 Jan 2002
By A Customer
Imbued with typical Dahl wit these rhymes skip and slither along at a sweetly irreverent and highly infectious pace.
This book takes some of our best known fairy stories, from Cinderella to Red Riding Hood and gives them a twist, a mischievous and thoroughly enjoyable twist.... read these ryhmes and you will never think of Red Riding Hood in quite the same way.
Although the topic of these rhymes are essentially children's stories, don't deprive yourself of a good, healthy dose of Dahl's deliciously revolting prose.
Read them aloud to children and you'll find yourself led by the rhyme and building the tension, hamming it up as Red Riding Hood, "one eyelid flickers, she whips the pistol from her knickers...", as Dahl manages to covey the naughty in a thoroughly refreshingly, innocent way.
An enjoyably revolting and delightfully digestible book. You won't be dissapointed, Dahl is an intelligent and inspired master of mischief. You might even be tempted to write a review of your own....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I like it!, 17 Feb 2008
Everyone knows the original stories of Cinderella, Jack and the Beanstalk, Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs, Goldilocks and the Three Bears, Little Red Riding Hood and The Wolf and The Three Little Pigs, written by Charles Perrault (Cinderella), Brothers Grimm (all the rest); but Roald Dahl has changed the stories and put in some gruesome humour - these rewrites are not suitable for grumpy old grown ups so be aware! My favourite story out of all of Dahl's altered fairy tales is definitely Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf & the three little pigs because they are linked together with Little Red Riding Hood who gives the wolf and the pigs' horrible endings! I would rate this book 9/ 10 because it could have had another one or two other famous tales included like The Princess and the Pea but apart from that it was really good. I would recommend it to kids only and parents should not even have a peep because they cannot enjoy such humorous things like us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amusing, Amusing, Amusing!, 6 Aug 2007
By 
Melanie Bagshaw (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent poetry book by one of the best children's writers of all time.
Never aging or boring Road Dahl brings a new light to those fairytales we all know and love.

By far the best is Little Red Riding Hood and the Wolf . . .
'The small girl smiles. One eyelid flickers.
She whips a pistol from her knickers.
She aims it at the creatures's head
And bang bang bang, she shoots him dead.'

Admittedly not for really young readers because there is the killing of the wolf and 'sl*t' is mentioned in cinderella, but I read this book at primary school when I was 8 or 9 and I was so fond bought my own copy as an adult and still love it just as much today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you as revolting as revolting rhymes?, 18 Sep 2003
By A Customer
Revolting Rhymes is a great way to lift your imagination,and it has to be the funnyist book I've read so far!The book has fairy tales that are retold so that they rhyme and sound funny.Btw...READ IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun!, 2 Jan 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes (Paperback)
Fantastic rhymes, great fun. our five year old took great pleasure in some of the more irreverant lines - who'd have thought of keeping a gun in your knickers! Would highly recommend it (the book not keeping a gun in your knickers!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The children loved it, 24 Feb 2006
I teach a Year 5 class and we ahve recently been doing a someone staid narrative poetry topic in Literacy. To brighten it up I hae been reading thre Revolting Rhymes to them, and they have absolutely loved them! It is an ideal way of getting kids enthusiastic about poetry, not always an easy task. The are modern and in simple everyday language, hilariously funny and make poetry accessible for every child. My class gasped with delight, giggled, cringed, and raved. They have been talking about Roald Dahl's Revolting Rhymes non stop to anyone who will listen ever since - what better recommendation can you get?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolting Rhyme's-Roald Dahl, 15 Mar 2005
Amazing recreation of your favourite classic fairytales.
Great reading for any age.
I found this book a helpful tool in encouraging my younger sister to practice as well as enjoy reading. The way which Dahl presents the fairy tales which we all know and love is innovative, commical and imaginative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Kids Book, 2 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes (Paperback)
Bought this book after I watched the BBC2 kids poetry competition with my 9 year old daughter, we loved the Red Riding Hood poem with it's great line 'she whipped a pistol from her knickers'. Great poems for any child with some classic lines which hook kids and leave them wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Imaginative and fun, 12 Feb 2006
By 
Picard (USS Enterprise) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Roald Dahl is so witty and imaginative, this has to be a book for any kids collection. Noticed one reviwer pathetically said it was for teenagers and not for her young children..why? Their is no swearing, no gore, no violence, just plain, simple fun that is a bit different to his normal books. Admittedly, its a turn from the normal nursery rhymes, but thats the whole point. Quentin Blake does another great job with the pictures, and theirs enough stories to last you along time with memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What children really want to hear, 19 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Revolting Rhymes (Hardcover)
Roald Dahl captures the imagination of young children with his amusing and alternate take on the classic 'fairy tales'. When reading all his books you realise he had a flair for understanding what children really wanted to read about and yet often still managed to get all the moral messages across. The beauty of this book is furthered by the amazing illustrations by Quentin Blake, they really bring the characters of the book to life, and guarantee the attention of young children.
All in all this is a must buy book for any child, and also for any parent with fond memories of hours spent reading it at home or in school.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Revolting Rhymes
Revolting Rhymes by Roald Dahl (Hardcover - 30 Aug 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews