Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Smoke through historian's eyes
This is a very good sideways look at the whims and history of every day Londoners (as were) with lots of very entertaining (proper) history thrown in for good measure. You have to cast your mind into the mood to fully appreciate it though. May be not to everyone's taste as we do not all relate to London. Would be very interesting if someone could get hold of stories,...
Published 12 months ago by Les Hooton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations don't work on Kindle.
It's very informative, but most of the illustrations do not reproduce well on my Kindle, I did manage to see some on my Macbook, via kindle for mac, but can't get them back now, so I don't know what I did. Saving reading the text for flight home.
Published 6 months ago by Newly old Geezer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Smoke through historian's eyes, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger's Guide to London (Hardcover)
This is a very good sideways look at the whims and history of every day Londoners (as were) with lots of very entertaining (proper) history thrown in for good measure. You have to cast your mind into the mood to fully appreciate it though. May be not to everyone's taste as we do not all relate to London. Would be very interesting if someone could get hold of stories, anecdotes and history of other cities around the British Isles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A closer look at Dodger's London, 21 Dec 2013
By 
Anne Hillis (Florida, USA and Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger's Guide to London (Hardcover)
Dodger is a pleasant book about sewers in Victorian London, with many leisurely strolls among the flotsam and jetsam that made fortunes for some lucky fellows.
This pretty little picture book collects Punch cartoons and remarks by folks who drifted in and out of the first book. Sort of a vade mecum, if your Way-Back machine is in good nick.
If you enjoyed Dodger, you want this book. It is less obsessed with Poo; Sir Terry appears to have got it out of his system. Gesundheit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for a Pratchett fan, 15 Dec 2013
By 
R Parker "Cat Lover" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger's Guide to London (Hardcover)
This was bought to keep my daughter's collection of Pratchett up to date. She was delighted and liked the 'take' on London that Pratchett has imagined.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Illustrations don't work on Kindle., 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's very informative, but most of the illustrations do not reproduce well on my Kindle, I did manage to see some on my Macbook, via kindle for mac, but can't get them back now, so I don't know what I did. Saving reading the text for flight home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant, 2 Mar 2014
By 
S. Cook "stevetygertiger" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger's Guide to London (Hardcover)
Nice companion to Dodger, really pleased that this came out as I kind of missed Dodger when I finished the book.
The usual quality illustrations litter an interesting little addition to the Dodger novel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A new Dickens, 25 Feb 2014
By 
N. E. Bowker (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger's Guide to London (Hardcover)
I was fascinated by the detaills of London life in Dickens day, mch more accessible to me than the Dickens novels, which i found hard going apart, from A tale of Two Cities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dodger!, 22 Nov 2013
By 
KatyScott "Katy Scott" (Liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dodger's Guide to London (Hardcover)
Dodger Dodger was a non-discworld book published in 2012.
The story is set "broadly in the first quarter of Queen Victoria's reign", which would be in the years between 1837 and 1853.

For fictional purposes Mr Pratchett had to "tweak" history a little to include Sir Robert Peel.

This is a superb guide to the world of Dodger and that time. Exceptionally well researched.

Katy Scott
==========
Author of [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of trivia information., 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger's Guide to London (Hardcover)
This was a Christmas present from my wife, but the amount of facts contained in it must have taken up a lot of research time, a lot !
May not have purchased it myself, but, glad I got it. A mine of information to interest anyone seeking knowledge about London.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another pratchett clasic, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger's Guide to London (Hardcover)
a great addition to the Terry Pratchett colection a very good read and historicly interesting.Well reserched. Well done Mr Pratchett.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where fantasy meets London, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dodger's Guide to London (Hardcover)
A great fun book by a great writer. It is half way between the fantasy book which inspired it and a guide to Victorian London well worth buying and a fun book to use when in the city!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dodger's Guide to London
Dodger's Guide to London by Terry Pratchett (Hardcover - 21 Nov 2013)
£9.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews