Customer Reviews


336 Reviews
5 star:
 (290)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating Story
My daughter (age 10) asked me to buy this book on her behalf, using birthday money. As she's a huge fan of Jacqueline Wilson, I knew it was a good buy for her.

She was completely captivated by Diamond's often tragic story, and devoured the book in just a handful of days.

JW books aren't always suitable for younger girls, as they can be a bit too...
Published 14 months ago by L. Sears

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A treat for Hetty Feather fans, but unlikely to change non-fans' minds
Hetty Feather returns in Diamond, Jacqueline Wilson’s fourth book in the Victorian-set series. Well, Hetty Feather sort of returns. You have to wait for half the book but she finally shows up on page 156.

In Hetty’s place we have Diamond, originally named the slightly less sparkly Ellen-Jane Potts. After a fair amount of the misery at home that...
Published 8 months ago by Miss Debbie Sims


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating Story, 17 Oct 2013
By 
L. Sears "Redlorry" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Diamond (Hetty Feather) (Hardcover)
My daughter (age 10) asked me to buy this book on her behalf, using birthday money. As she's a huge fan of Jacqueline Wilson, I knew it was a good buy for her.

She was completely captivated by Diamond's often tragic story, and devoured the book in just a handful of days.

JW books aren't always suitable for younger girls, as they can be a bit too street smart or take them into the realms of teenagerdom and all the scary issues that girls of that age often face.

Diamond isn't like that; it's perfect for younger girls. And while it may feature often tragic scenarios like death, rejection and abandonment, there's also lots of fun and happy occasions to take the pain away.

I'd recommended this for pre-teen fans of Jacqueline Wilson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The little girl with a big story to tell, 4 Nov 2013
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Diamond, who is also known as Ellen-Jane, is sold to the circus by her father in disgrace. Life at the circus is very tough, and her master, Beppo the clown, is not making it any easier for her. A very kind lady named Madame Adeline (those who have read the other books in the series will know her) is warm-hearted and cheers little Diamond up quickly. Diamond is only eight years of age, and yet she is expected to perform numerous amounts of somersaults.

Hetty Feather comes to visit the circus. Madame Adeline is delighted and Diamond enjoys her company too. Not a long time later, Hetty joins the circus and lifts the spirits of many. But when Mr Tanglefiend, the circus leader, begins to make plans for the future, can the acts' careers change? What will the girls decide to do when they can't take it anymore?

This story spins you through the good and the bad times and sets you laughing with the main character, or giving her sympathy. Jacqueline Wilson continues with the wonderful Hetty Feather series, only now it is Diamond speaking in first person!

A most beautiful tale and to read this, it would be helpful to read the three books before this in the series. This is a truly stunning story for book lovers. I hope another book comes out after this one relating to Diamond as her journey is still to be continued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Amazing book I love it it is so interesting and I hope to read what happens next I recommend to any one that likes to snuggle up with a good book Hetty and Diamond are greater than any characters
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved the book and hearing about Hetty again I hope that there will be more about the two girls. I think girls around the again of 12 to 15 would enjoy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 10 Nov 2013
This is a very good book 5 stars definitely I really enjoyed reading this book and I felt so sorry for some of the characters it made me feel part of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 21 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was really good and I liked hearing about diamond as well as hetty but it just stoped quite suddenly and it's a cliffhanger. I would have given it five stars if it had gone on a little longer but the rest was really good and I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that likes the other hetty feather books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond is amazing, 26 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Diamond is an amazing book! It's about a little girl called Ellen-Jane, and Ellen-Jane tries to earn money by walking on her hands and like a crab. But then her father sells her to a circus man and the man changes her name to Diamond....

You may think that 'Hetty Feather' hasn't come, as the book says 'from the life of Hetty Feather'. Don't worry, she does come along! Diamond is such a good book, I could not even put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diamond by Jacqueline Wilson, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was a great book with great a explanation of circus life it was definitely as good as all her other books !!!!! :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really loved this book. Please make another one soon as the suspense is killing me!!! Great story for anyone 8+.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!!!, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Hetty feather trilogy, and this is another great book from my favourite author - This book is a must-buy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Diamond (Hetty Feather)
Diamond (Hetty Feather) by Jacqueline Wilson (Hardcover - 26 Sep 2013)
£3.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews