Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars thrilling page turner
Despite a positive note from Lee Child (normally a kiss of death as it appears he will endorse just about anything) this is a fast moving thriller. It has to be said that the main character is very much in the Reacher mould (highly observant,capable, keeps to himself) and the concept reminded me of Brett Battles' "Cleaner" series. The difference here is that the...
Published on 19 Feb. 2013 by Nick Brett

versus
12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An ABC (and DEFHIJ....) of Bank Robbing
I'd just read the autobiography of Simon Day of the Fast Show before starting this, which is maybe why it began to sound like a lecture from Swiss Tony: "Picking a lock is a bit like making love to a beautiful woman. First polish your tool". Or "stealing a car is a bit like making love to a beautiful woman. First check the bodywork". Or "Hitting...
Published 14 months ago by Jim 8888


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A truly atrocious novel, 16 Dec. 2014
By 
This review is from: Ghostman (Paperback)
Rarely if ever do I despise a book as thoroughly as I despised Ghostman. "Despise" is a very strong word, but I found the book to be so badly written and such a blatant rip-off of the Jack Reacher novels that I actually got angry while reading it. I'm amazed this book even got published, and I'm gobsmacked that it has so many good reviews.

The "countdown" element in Ghostman is a complete rip-off of the central conceit of Lee Child's Jack Reacher novel "61 Hours", the only difference being that the countdown is beautifully handled by Child and hideously done by Hobbs. There's stuff in Ghostman about counterfeiting that's taken from Child's "Killing Floor". There's a description of a how a gun silencer works in Ghostman that's lifted - almost word for word - from Child's "Tripwire" in an astonishingly flagrant manner. The main character in Ghostman has a similar background of exotic travel to Reacher, he's called Jack (!), he loves coffee - just like Reacher -, and his skill set of deductive reasoning & ass-kicking ability is exactly the same as Reacher. His dialogue is almost identical to Reacher (or, at least, it tries to be). Over and over and over again this novel feels like a poorly written, amateurish piece of Reacher fan fiction.

There is not a single properly-drawn character in this book, including the main character (he's only distinguishable as an unlikeable, poorly fleshed-out shadow of Reacher). There are two female characters in the book who in the final 3 or 4 pages are *both* described as having a "crooked" smile; the writing is so poor that the author can't even think up 2 different cliches to describe his two completely indistinguishable characters. I mean, I don't blame him for getting them mixed up because neither is even close to being a proper character, but how this shoddiness got past agents, editors and publishers is beyond me.

There are two interlinked stories/plots in the novel. The main one, about a casino heist, is vaguely ok, but has no pay-off. It all just plays out in a really passive, lazy, unsurprising way. The second plot, involving a heist in Malaysia, goes nowhere, and it's hard to know what function this plotline supposed to be performing in the novel, other than as a piece of extended back-story. I will say one single nice thing, which is that the way the robbers plan to get the money out of the bank is clever, and is the single thing I admired in the book (this explanation lasts for all of 1 paragraph...so I basically enjoyed 1 para and 1 idea in the whole sorry mess).

I believe the writer is young, and I wish him well in his career. But how this atrocious novel got published and garnered all these stellar reviews are mysteries to me. I genuinely find it astonishing either of those things happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostman (Paperback)
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostman (Paperback)
Thrilling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Good, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostman (Hardcover)
I'd give it four and a half if I could. It's sharp, seemingly knowledgable about the subject and never gives the end away. My only concern is the coldness of the main character - I wish I had more reason to root for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay, 23 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostman (Hardcover)
Started well with a dramatic opening with a joint 'flash back' story running along side. Frankly I enjoyed the background story more, the current story seemed to run out of steam three quarters of the way through.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read, well plotted and with a good pace ..., 9 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostman (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant read, well plotted and with a good pace about it. A fascinating main character is introduced to readers and I cannot wait for another story featuring him. Highly recommended book from a talented author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Buyer Beware..., 24 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Ghostman (Paperback)
I was enjoying this book, up until the graphic description of a child being murdered. I'm not into censorship but found that harrowing to read and ultimately an unnecessary part of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fast pace, but shallow, 25 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostman (Hardcover)
Fast pace, well written, but you don't care for the caracters, or the story. When this writer is able to make his stories meen anything for his readers, he will be very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars absolutely brilliant. if it ever gets made into a film, 3 Nov. 2014
This review is from: Ghostman (Paperback)
absolutely brilliant. if it ever gets made into a film, its got jason statham written all over it! best book i've read for a very long time. very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great readable first book, 11 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghostman (Kindle Edition)
Brilliant first novel. Read this after reading a review in a Sunday newspaper in which the reviewer said it was the best debut novel he had read.
Got all the ingredients...thrilling...eminently readable....really good anti-hero.
Highly recommended to , for instance, Lee Child readers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 16 7 8 9 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghostman
Ghostman by Roger Hobbs (Paperback - 14 Feb. 2013)
£9.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews