Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but...
I have been a long time follower of Mari Jungstedt. This is a very good book but not quite up there with the best. Somehow, this time her characters are not quite as believable and hence the intertwining stories do not have the same edge.
Published 9 months ago by S. Bartlett

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No! No! No!
I was really looking forward to reading this, having read the good reviews. But I was so disappointed. It was not as descriptive as I thought it would be, the characters were very one dimensional, the chapters ridiculously short, the story extremely short, but that was actually a blessing as I read this with gritted teeth. There was nothing in this book to make me catch...
Published 12 months ago by constance


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but..., 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have been a long time follower of Mari Jungstedt. This is a very good book but not quite up there with the best. Somehow, this time her characters are not quite as believable and hence the intertwining stories do not have the same edge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Well crafted murder mystery, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The writer has a great knack of describing details about the settings of the various locations where the action takes place and gives interesting details as she develops the characters involved. Several false trails which keeps the reader guessing until near the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars No! No! No!, 3 Dec 2013
This review is from: The Double Silence: Anders Knutas series 7 (Anders Knutas 7) (Paperback)
I was really looking forward to reading this, having read the good reviews. But I was so disappointed. It was not as descriptive as I thought it would be, the characters were very one dimensional, the chapters ridiculously short, the story extremely short, but that was actually a blessing as I read this with gritted teeth. There was nothing in this book to make me catch my breath, or get my heart pounding. I had been looking for a new series as I've nearly finished all of Jo Nesbo's books, but alas this is not it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mari Jungstedt--The Double Silence, 29 July 2013
By 
Simon Clarke (Hackney, London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Double Silence: Anders Knutas series 7 (Anders Knutas 7) (Paperback)
This novel is the latest in the series set on the Swedish island
of Gotland,and featuring Detective Superintendent Anders Knutas.
An exclusive group of well-heeled and somewhat smug neighbours are
on their annual holiday together, when one of them is pushed off a
cliff.Knutas and his colleague,Karin Jacobsson,investigate the death,
and the relationships between the neighbours.The former is distracted
by his marriage going stale,and the latter by her preoccupation with
meeting the daughter she gave up for adoption after being raped as
a teenager.
'The Double Silence' is a well-written and finely translated, engaging
police procedural novel where the author holds a mirror up to a shallow
and egocentric section of society.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book in the series, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another excellent book in the Knutas book series - the characters are well expanded each book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved this series of books,set in Gotland...Visby has been added to the bucket list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A bit disappointing, 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The usual mix of Gotland police procedural and soap opera and nothing much happens for almost half the book and if you missed the character studies in the first bit they are repeated in potted form in the second. Predictable in that no-one but the perpetrator is left (who could have dunnit) and it is a trifle uninteresting. A pity as I like Knutas though I will be reading the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A good book although not as gripping as previous books, 2 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Slow to get going and all the characters seemed to be jumbled up and a bit confusing to follow at first however, once into story it was good. I didn't find it as gripping as the previous six books but I did enjoy it. There wasn't as much of Anders Knutas in this book discussing the case with his colleagues just seemed to come to their own conclusions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing Swedish Dramatists in, 31 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really gripping investigation for Knutas and his team following a death on an island in Gotland. Complicated relationships between a group of friends holidaying there lead to surprising revalations. Also a good subplot concerning his assistant, Karen, and her search for the daughter she had adopted as a baby.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not one of Jungstedt's very best but a 'must' for fans of guillemots, 20 April 2014
By 
Dr R (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Mari Jungstedt’s seventh novel about Detective Superintendent Anders Knutas and his assistant, Karin Jacobsson, of the Visby police force on the Swedish island of Gotland introduces the reader to three well-off couples who take holidays together and socialise as a tight group. They have decided to attend the Ingmar Bergman Festival on the island of Fårö, just north of Gotland, and to watch young guillemots at Stora Karlsö.

The couples are John, an American bar-owner and his wife, Beata, a model, who have an open marriage; a film director, Sam, and his wife, Andrea, and the exotic Vietnamese, Stina, married to an older man, the three-times married Håkan. There are the expected hints about a great deal being hidden within these relationships, but neither these nor what happens to some of them create the necessary tension to create a really unputdownable book. None of the six is really well-described, rather surprising for a novelist whose characters are usually drawn so perceptively. However, Jungstedt is to be congratulated in not dwelling on the injuries suffered by the person who falls over a cliff - ‘They stopped abruptly when they caught sight of XXX. Or what was left of him/her.’ Some others authors would spend a page or two on the damage done to limb, bone and brain.

Quite early on, one of the six falls over a cliff and another disappears. Knutas and Jacobsson are called upon to investigate. Both are wrestling with personal problems, Knutas and his wife, Lina, are not really communicating and Jacobsson has decided that it is time to make contact with the daughter who she gave up for adoption as a small baby. The focus is very much on these two since the newspaperman, Johan Berg, who played a significant part in earlier stories, is on paternity leave looking after 7-month old Anton, although he is frustrated at not being involved in following the police investigation. Later on Knutas decides to do a spot of roof repairing and the expected happens.

There is a great deal of information about Gotland and Ingmar Bergman, and the author is very good at creating real landscapes and describing Bergman’s films without it seeming like a lecture. However, the she has misjudged the lack of action in the first half of the book which is not helped by the very short chapters which result in a very jerky narrative as the focus moves from the police investigation to the married couples and then to the obligatory comments of the criminal, and back again. At one point the action shifts to Ventspils in Latvia for no very obvious reason.

Jungstedt has introduced a new character late on in the story and no doubt he will be mentioned in forthcoming books. There is also an important telephone call from the Caribbean at the very end of the book that will provide a link to a later book. This is not Jungstedt at the top of her form but the novel is still well worth reading, especially if you are a guillemot-lover. Twenty days after hatching the chicks must dive into the sea from their nesting ledges in order to start swimming to the Baltic ‘The diving occurred over a period of one hour. It always began after ten o’clock at night when it was more or less dark….The birds waited until evening because their biggest enemies, the gulls, didn’t see well in the dark, so they wouldn’t be able to take the babies when they dropped like stones towards the ground from a height of 30 or 40 metres.’
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Double Silence: Anders Knutas series 7 (Anders Knutas 7)
The Double Silence: Anders Knutas series 7 (Anders Knutas 7) by Mari Jungstedt (Paperback - 4 July 2013)
£10.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews