Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sex always sells
I have a degree in history and absolutely love learning about the past. It is sometimes far more interesting than the present or even in fact dictates what happens in the present. So when this book dropped through my letterbox recently, I was intrigued. I had not been sent such a book before and certainly not been sent a book about prostitutes before! Can I just add here,...
Published 23 months ago by Jo D'Arcy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Glen Tochas on Covent Garden Ladies
An entertaining if repetitive read, a 21st Century update would make money too, though the research may lead to more trouble than it's worth.
Published 21 months ago by Glen Tochas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Sex always sells, 11 Nov 2012
By 
Jo D'Arcy (Portsmouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harris's List of the Covent Garden Ladies (Hardcover)
I have a degree in history and absolutely love learning about the past. It is sometimes far more interesting than the present or even in fact dictates what happens in the present. So when this book dropped through my letterbox recently, I was intrigued. I had not been sent such a book before and certainly not been sent a book about prostitutes before! Can I just add here, that this book does not dictate anything of my life that is happening in the present.

But what I have found as I have dipped in and out of this book, is a pure delight. Not just the fact that in the Eighteenth Century it was considered okay to publish such a book. Oh imagine the outcry now if such a book was printed. The language is a dream, and when reading it with Twenty First Century eyes, knowledge and vocabulary it I think has more than one meaning. Allow me to share the odd little snippet:

*A knowing one, lives in the first floor...if she returns you a favourable glance, she will immediately conduct you in a very complaisant manner to a convenient sofa, and suffer you there to take a view of her have of delight...in return she likewise expects a view of nature's gifts from you, which if she thinks clean and properly adopted, she will unload for two pounds two.

*She lives elegant, and is a great economist, is tall and genteel, about twenty-four years of age, rather dark complexion, a little pitted with the small pox, her price is one pound one, but will not refuse half a guinea.

And so this list of ladies goes on and their prices are given, the complexions and age commented on and it seems that having a good set of teeth is a must then choosing. Don't worry if your request may be of the little perverse, there are some of those ladies mentioned to!

It is all in the description and the language, the odd little drawing or sketch that appears in the book makes this a rather naughty little read. Forget 50 Shades of Grey this is the book to read this year.

This is the ideal book for those who perhaps have spent the last few years receiving saucy calendars and the like, for Christmas. You are teaching them something about history without them even knowing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting to see how little we've changed, 10 Nov 2012
By 
Gareth Wilson - Falcata Times Blog "Falcata T... - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Harris's List of the Covent Garden Ladies (Hardcover)
Trying to find some Christmas gifts are always going to be tricky and to be honest I love it when I find something that's not only quirky but something that I find interesting. That's exactly what you get in this modern edited version of the "Pimpmaster of England"'s collection brought to the modern reader by Hallie Rubenhold.

It's based on a popular printed series from the 19th Century bringing the advantages of some of the street girls for the gentlemen of the time which goes to show that nothing sells like sex even way back then. The guide is a book that I found fascinating and when added to the quirkiness factor could make quite an interesting gift for the history fan in your household.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Harris's List, 10 Jan 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harris's List of the Covent Garden Ladies (Hardcover)
This book has proved very popular in my house as visitors love to flick through and read out passages.Bought a second one for a friend.Despite some salacious content, the beautiful use of English and innuendo is very interesting.Shines a light on a bygone age.Fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun-time dip in reading material, 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harris's List of the Covent Garden Ladies (Hardcover)
Oh what fun to dip in to this book for a read!
But it occurs to me that these ladies of negotiable affection would only have been available for the well-to-do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Glen Tochas on Covent Garden Ladies, 19 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harris's List of the Covent Garden Ladies (Hardcover)
An entertaining if repetitive read, a 21st Century update would make money too, though the research may lead to more trouble than it's worth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, fascinating and much needed - sadly out of ..., 27 Aug 2014
By 
Viktor Wynd (Miami, Florida) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Harris's List of the Covent Garden Ladies (Hardcover)
brilliant, fascinating and much needed - sadly out of date - everyone i it seems to have retired, but lovely to know what they were all up to
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fasinating - could do with some maps or pictures ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Harris's List of the Covent Garden Ladies (Hardcover)
OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Harris's List of the Covent Garden Ladies
Harris's List of the Covent Garden Ladies by Hallie Rubenhold (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2012)
£8.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews