Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The kind of secret that kills...
Well-written and executed crime novel.
The story starts out with an apparent suicide. The alleged suicide is connected to a previous crime and this link awakens the interest of the police. Simultaneously a cold case is being investigated. The disappearance of a woman called Ruth.
The cases are seemingly unrelated with the exception of one connection.
Hill...
Published 21 months ago by Cheryl M-M

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever been on a company team building event?
What could happen on a team / motivation week away for employees of Alemany Cosmetics at a remote country house? This is what Inspector Salgado of Barcelona has to unravel whilst trying to control his emotions stirred up by the disappearance of his wife Ruth. The suicide of an employee and his killing of his wife and child may be connected, or is it? This is a good story...
Published 9 months ago by BasingstoneBook


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The kind of secret that kills..., 19 Jun. 2013
By 
Cheryl M-M (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Good Suicides (Inspector Salgado 2) (Hardcover)
Well-written and executed crime novel.
The story starts out with an apparent suicide. The alleged suicide is connected to a previous crime and this link awakens the interest of the police. Simultaneously a cold case is being investigated. The disappearance of a woman called Ruth.
The cases are seemingly unrelated with the exception of one connection.
Hill manages to keep the secrets rolled up tightly until the end. He lets that ball unwind slowly bit for bit, teasing with snippets of information.
He had me going there for a while. I had it all figured out and knew the answers to both crimes.
I was wrong.
I think the sub-plot of César and Emma was superfluous. The story was strong enough without it and the byline added nothing to the plot.
I was hoping for a revelation in the Ruth storyline, instead the author ended it with what I can only call a treacherous clue for the armchair detectives amongst us.
I received a free copy of this book via Netgalley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Antonio Hill--The Good Suicides, 27 Jun. 2013
By 
Simon Clarke (Hackney, London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Good Suicides (Inspector Salgado 2) (Hardcover)
'The Good Suicides' is the second novel in a series featuring Inspector
Hector Salgado of the Barcelona police,and ably confirms the talents of
the author.
Executive staff at a cosmetics company seem to be committing suicide
one after the other as if in a sequence.Salgado,aided by keen rookie
Agent Fort,make no progress in the investigation until they begin to look
closely at an executive team-building trip that took place before the first
suicide.Meanwhile the diligent Agent Castro,who featured strongly inThe Summer of Dead Toys,
is on maternity leave ,but without proper authorisation,continues to
investigate the disappearance of Salgado's estranged wife.
A worthy.enjoyable follow-up to the author's debut novel,but with a
somewhat more disjointed plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Darkness In The City Of Sun, 30 Oct. 2014
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Barcelona, a Spanish city of sun and beauty. However, not much sun nor beauty is apparent in this mystery/police procedural. Inspector Hector Salgado, is called in the dead of night to a suicide scene. A young woman threw herself in front of a train. Two young men were witnesses, and one found the woman's phone. The only clue a photo of a tree with three dead dogs hanging from it. What does this mean? What it means to us is the start of a surprising mystery, pieced together by Salgado and his team.

This is the second book written by Antonio Hill with Inspector Salgado at the helm. Salgado is a man of mystery, prone to violent attacks, he is seeing a therapist. He has little or no relationship with his son. His ex-wife has gone missing, and after six months no word or sight of her. And, he is to work with a new colleague. The ever reliable Castro is pregnant and on maternity leave.

This is a well written book, but it is not until many chapters in that we realize this is a murder mystery. The book is not fast paced enough for me. I assume this may be the Spanish culture, sure and slow. But, this does not make this a bad book, indeed, it is quite good. The storyline is fascinating, and the characters well researched. The missing ex-wife scenario seems like it will pop up from time to time. The characters slowly give information about themselves, but it takes awhile to understand the entire scenario. It is good enough that I will read the next book in this series. Where is that ex-wife?

Recommended. prisrob 09-27-14
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Good Suicides, 24 Aug. 2013
By 
S Riaz "S Riaz" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Good Suicides (Inspector Salgado 2) (Hardcover)
Having really enjoyed The Summer of Dead Toys I was keen to read the next novel featuring Inspector Hector Salgado. The first book was set in a sweltering, Barcelona summer, but now it is winter and events from the summer have bled into this story. Leire Castro, who was partnered with Salgado in the last mystery, is now on maternity leave. However, with Salgado's ex-wife, Ruth, still missing after the Summer of Dead Toys, she decides to do a little investigating on her own time. That side story accompanies the main investigation; that of the strange spate of suicides among a group of people who work for the same company.

As before, Hector Salgado's private life, plus that of other characters, are as important as both the cases they are investigating and, indeed, the setting of the book itself. Salgado is still coping with being labelled as violent and unpredictable, even though he is nothing more than short tempered, and is also trying to learn how to be a father to his teenage son. He certainly inspires loyalty from those around him, including the impatient Castro, who has her own problems to deal with in this novel. As Salgado attempts to unravel what happened on a team building exercise among a group of executives from a cosmetics company, which has erupted into murder and suicide, another member of his past team are attempting to unravel the mysteries of his own life. The whole novel ties in well and I enjoyed both the atmosphere of Barcelona and the characters in this series, which I look forward to following in future books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great characterisation, 16 Dec. 2014
By 
Elaine Tomasso (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sara, an employee of Alemany Cosmetics, commits suicide and questions are asked when it is discovered that another employee who was on the same team building course as Sara committed suicide after murdering his wife and child 4 months earlier. What follows is a slow investigation by Inspector Salgado into what caused the suicides and the reactions of the other course participants as the investigative noose tightens. At the same time Leire Castro uses her maternity leave to look into the disappearance of Inspector Salgado's wife, Ruth, 6 months previously. I have mixed feelings about this book. It is cleverly plotted and the characters are extremely well drawn - I felt as if I knew them but I love a good police procedural and I feel that in The Good Suicides the crime solving is secondary to character development and reaction to events so it was all a bit slow for me. I will look out for the next book in the series because I'm hooked on what will happen to the characters, rather than the crime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Novelist first, crime writer second, 3 July 2014
By 
Dr. Peter G. Upton (Woolston, Southampton United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Antonio Hill is a brilliant novelist, and this is a lot more than a police procedural. He writes with great perception and empathy, and some of the set piece encounters between his characters are beautifully written; he certainly gets inside his characters, and allows us to see more of them than most crime writers. I somehow managed to read 40 pages of the first novel in this sequence when I was well into the Good Suicides, and I suspect it would be better to approach them in order. The lack of the fifth star is because the police procedural aspects are sketchy, and maybe there are too many characters, although many of them are interesting and well delineated; the middle of the book starts to drag slightly. A superior holiday read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Have you ever been on a company team building event?, 11 Jun. 2014
What could happen on a team / motivation week away for employees of Alemany Cosmetics at a remote country house? This is what Inspector Salgado of Barcelona has to unravel whilst trying to control his emotions stirred up by the disappearance of his wife Ruth. The suicide of an employee and his killing of his wife and child may be connected, or is it? This is a good story but you have to be patient, it is a very slow burner. Partly necessary, the early chapters are filled with background to the characters including that of Inspector Salgado.You are always wondering what has actually happened and why the picture of strangled dogs hanging from a tree is so important. The author Antonio Hill refuses to give any real clues other than a few crumbs, which doesn't give you any chance of understanding what happened until it is revealed. Is it to do with the cosmetics industry and vivisection protest groups, is a the company a depressing place to work - sorry but you have to wait.

This is the second book in the series and I have rated it with 3 stars, but if it had been a little faster paced it would certainly deserve 4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Over Ambitious & Poorly Translated, 19 Aug. 2013
This review is from: The Good Suicides (Inspector Salgado 2) (Hardcover)
This has many of the attributes of a good crime novel, with intriguing & complex storylines, intelligent observation & fluent prose - much of the time. On the whole the unfolding of the identities, actions & involvements of the many characters is handled well but can be confusing; I'm not sure whether this is deliberate on the part of the author to mislead us, or as a result of his failure to integrate smoothly the increasing complexities of the plot(s)as the book develops.
The book ends abruptly with a twist which I found quite frustrating, as it concerns an on-going (drawn out) but important mystery continued from the first book, The Summer of Dead Toys, which the author clearly intends to pick up in his next novel. I'm not sure I'll bother. And while the resolution of the main plotline provides the mandatory twist, it seems unsatisfactory, going out not with a bang but a whimper, & leaving unresolved the stories of the previous suspects, which had formed a major part of the narrative.
As far as I remember this book shares the strengths & the weaknesses of the first one, & if I find it difficult to analyse these closely I must blame the quite frequent clumsiness of the prose. I never really 'lost myself' in the story & I think this was because the reading experience is often bumpy, with at times bizarre/clunky phraseology & grammar which stops you in your tracks as you try to decipher it.
This points to a weakness in the translation rather than in the original work, because what makes translation difficult for all but the most bilingual is the peculiarities of the idioms of different languages. These cannot be directly translated & it is often fiendishly difficult to find an equivalent term which does justice to the original. Difficult, but not impossible.
Failure to do this results in just the sort of the sort of clumsiness found here. The British editor/publisher cannot have been unaware of this (can they?) & it is inexcusable that we are fobbed off with a translation that, although good much of the time, is not really up to scratch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Suicides (Inspector Salgado 2)
The Good Suicides (Inspector Salgado 2) by Antonio Hill (Hardcover - 6 Jun. 2013)
£14.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews