Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


653 of 672 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, touching and engaging story
This is a delightful, poignant tale of a retired couple, Harold and Maureen, living out their days in Devon, when something happens that will change their future. And it is such a small occurrence on the face of it - a letter arrives for Harold from a former colleague of his at the brewery, Queenie Hennessy. Harold writes a reply, and he sets off down the road to post it...
Published on 5 Jan. 2012 by L. H. Healy

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Self-consciously quirky
Gosh, this book irritated me. Clearly I have no heart, but I simply don't understand the rave reviews, the Booker Prize nomination, nor the recommendations from a friend who told me it was one of her favourite books from last year. I. Don't. Get. It. It's saccharine sweet, knowingly quirky and then it heaps on a surprise reveal for a tearjerker ending that felt...
Published 19 months ago by Julia Flyte


‹ Previous | 1272 273 274357 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 8 May 2013
I was rooting for Harold to make it. It was an inspiring and uplifting though sad tale. A really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but so moving, 19 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have very much enjoyed Harolds journey although my heart has broken a little as his true story unfolded .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heartwarming, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A heart warming and at times deeply moving story that grips your attention from the first page to the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the sort of book I usually read, a simple story, rather drawn out and difficult to believe it happening
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It can relate to so many lives and is very honest. I could not put it down as l was urging Harold on l became part of the story, 1 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this to anyone as it is inspiring to any age group
i found myself cheering Harold on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A man and his memories., 8 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A touching and refreshing story of lost and found love. Demonstrates that it is never to late to try again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 1 Dec. 2012
By 
Carole A. Atkinson (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read a review of this and it is way more than I expected. My husband is waiting to read it on my Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Riverting, 29 Jan. 2013
Beautifully written, this is an absorbing read (I had to stop myself reading it in one sitting). The oddest thing is that by the end of the book, while I had every sympathy with Harold(of the title) I did not like him. I don't want to go into details and spoil the book for someone else so let me just say that to me, Harold is a sponge - he absorbs what happens to and around him, and like a sponge, he never reacts (apart from the walk or Pilgrimage of the title but even in that towards the end, he reverts to his sponge like quality). I feel bad about not liking Harold but on the other hand take my dislike of him as a tribute to the Authors skill in presenting me with a character I believed in. This book raises many questions about relationships, communication, marriage and so on but for me, in line with my feelings toward the main character, it again raises the nature / nurture debate, something I am really interested in. And that's why I have given this book a 4 start rating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars unlikely pilgrimage of Harold Fry, 7 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fantastic tale everyonr should read this book really good fot a book club meeting to discuss over coffee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing, 9 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Really loved this book, felt like I was with Harold every step of the way. Can't wait for Queenies book xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1272 273 274357 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry
The Unlikely Pilgrimage Of Harold Fry by Rachel Joyce (Hardcover - 15 Mar. 2012)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews