Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film Freak coming to a bookshop near you in Sense-a-round and 3D.
Film Freak is the second instalment of Christopher Fowler's autobiography and finds a young Mr Fowler leaving his Greenwich home hoping to find work as a film writer and heading for Wardour Street in London, the centre of the British film industry in the 1970's.The problem is the British film industry is in decline with cinemas being redeveloped and the emergence of...
Published 16 months ago by S. Groves

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loving footnotes to the British film-biz.
Christopher Fowler takes us back to the 70s when Wardour Street was the English version of Hollywood and he spent his life "watching lousy films in run-down fleapits". (Do young people today even know what the word 'fleapit' means, I wonder?) Fowler raises our hopes in the foreword: "I could tell you some stories about celebrities that would make your hair fall out..."...
Published 6 months ago by Sue Kichenside


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Film Freak coming to a bookshop near you in Sense-a-round and 3D., 3 May 2013
By 
S. Groves "Stephen Groves" (Loughton Essex England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Freak (Hardcover)
Film Freak is the second instalment of Christopher Fowler's autobiography and finds a young Mr Fowler leaving his Greenwich home hoping to find work as a film writer and heading for Wardour Street in London, the centre of the British film industry in the 1970's.The problem is the British film industry is in decline with cinemas being redeveloped and the emergence of video. The outcome of this finds Christopher eventually finding work as an advertising copywriter. We then follow his career as he moves into film advertising and meets Jim Sturgeon who becomes a lifelong friend, soul mate and mentor. This relationship forms the emotional core of the book and is beautifully written to involve the reader and make you care about their journey together.

We follow the ups and downs of branching out and starting your own business, a disastrous but hilarious trip to the Cannes Film Festival, the dealings with non creative clueless executives, difficult stars and dire films. I found it an easy book to read and the pace never slackens, the characters of the main protagonists are instantly likeable and engaging. Through all the adventures, Mr Fowler seems to have amassed the type of friends most men would like to have in their life, eccentric, gifted and individual in thought as well as deed, some of whom are so brazen and seat of the pants foolhardy you feel like cheering.

More than once whilst reading this book I found myself laughing out loud on the train to work. I now have a list of films I need to see and also some to shamefully revisit. What this book does very well is convey a feel for those times, the sometimes grubby underbelly and the quick buck film which heralded the steady decline of the British Film industry. If you were around in the seventies and feel like reliving your misspent youth I thoroughly recommend Film Freak. It's not a nostalgic look at the times but more a warts and all telling of how it was. It will make you remember just how good or just how bad it could be.

Are you ready for your close-up?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful and touching, excellent continuation of autobiography, 18 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Freak (Hardcover)
Excellent follow up to "Paperboy". A touching and witty autobiographical
story of one mans love of film and London. I did not want this to end, a truly lovely evocation of a time and place. I hope there will be a further volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OUT-Standing !!!, 5 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Freak (Hardcover)
I Can not add much more to the other worthy reviews of this book other than to say.

So much of the text was somewhat familiar. In that having be an active reader of Mr Fowlers Blog some things he has written about have come up on his Blog and some spoken about in different language. Whilst reading the book your drawn into his life and how he viewed it back then when he was just a mere slip of a boy, By which I mean a school leaver going into "Work" for the first time. How much life seemed easy back then. The book is written like your sitting having a chat with the man himself and you get that feeling of how genuine a man Mr Fowler is.

I loved one section in his book particularly where he "Decided He was probably Gay" I love the way this just comes out and so matter of factually without any big drama.

Well done MR Fowler.

I would Recommend it to anyone, even if they don't know who Christopher Fowler is they will soon find out and want to find out more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, and not really about films, 23 April 2013
By 
Peter Lee (Manchester ,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Freak (Hardcover)
In Fowler's second volume of autobiography the story moves to the 1970s and opens with him leaving home, hoping to find a job working in the film industry in London. He heads for Wardour Street and settles in an office where one day a new member of staff arrives, a man called Jim Sturgeon, and they become friends.

As the story is told it becomes clear that this isn't really a book about films - naturally there are numerous tales of being on the set of the likes of "Goldeneye" or working on promotions for other pictures, and aborted ideas for Michael Jackson at one point, not to mention a couple of "top ten"s or favourite London-based films - but is instead about Fowler's friendship with Sturgeon, and how they changed through the 1970s and 80s. It seems that they are almost inseparable, and in many respects their friendship reads as something of a love story, and an incredibly touching one at that.

Funny in parts, tear-jerking in others, this is a fantastic read. Just don't expect it to be a book about films - it's much more than that, and all the better for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Loving footnotes to the British film-biz., 27 Feb 2014
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Film Freak (Paperback)
Christopher Fowler takes us back to the 70s when Wardour Street was the English version of Hollywood and he spent his life "watching lousy films in run-down fleapits". (Do young people today even know what the word 'fleapit' means, I wonder?) Fowler raises our hopes in the foreword: "I could tell you some stories about celebrities that would make your hair fall out..." only to dash them: "...but that would be another book."

A would-be screenwriter, he lands a job as a copywriter in a London ad agency, becoming life-long friends with colleague Jim. Eventually they combine their advertising skills with their passion for movies to launch a film-marketing company together in his beloved Soho.

This is a light, easy, nostalgic read. There are occasional longueurs into the esoteric world of rubbish British films but there are also fascinating detours to the Cannes Film Festival and the horrors of Hollywood aka LaLaLand.

My memories of the advertising world in that era differ somewhat to the author's and I also had a few quibbles with some of the details and quotes, but the most annoying thing about this book is the constant use of footnotes which interrupt the flow of reading. Fun at first, it became extremely wearing. A writer of Christopher Fowler's experience really should have been able to incorporate what he wanted to say into what he was saying! 3.5*
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 30 July 2013
By 
W. Moore - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Freak (Hardcover)
What a wonderful mix of biographical details and a wealth of information on the UK film industry! Highly entertaining and funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Feb 2014
By 
Mr. M. Roberts "Glazenwood" (Essex, U.k) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Freak (Hardcover)
Opens up the bowels of conversation about films and everything that goes along with them. Really funny in it's delivery and worth a look x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely but sad., 12 Aug 2014
By 
PJW Griffin (staffs,uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Film Freak (Hardcover)
A lovely, sad book about different loves - British film, the whole process of film marketing, and platonic friendship. It doesn't end well, alas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Film Freak
Film Freak by Christopher Fowler (Paperback - 27 Feb 2014)
£6.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews