Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a great book about modern football before sky sports, 18 May 2012
By 
P. Finglas - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
as a man utd fan

a book about Leeds Utd would not appeal I was wrong

every football fan should get the book about Leeds's 91-92 title win

it gives you the background before the big win, when it happened and the aftermath

It showed mostly how most of the squad interviewed are really down to earth nice blokes

players whose stories that touched this reader was the chapters on Gary Speed, Mel Sterland and Carl Shutt

I hope Leeds Utd gives more credit to their 91-92 title heroes

They are champions on and off the pitch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great sporting story, 8 Jun 2012
By 
Tim (Leeds, England) - See all my reviews
Dave Simpson has met his heroes from the Howard Wilkinson teams of the late 80s and early 90s, and gathered their individual stories to make a fascinating and moving narrative. Every Leeds fan will know it well, but find some surprises; other sports fans could well find it has universal appeal. The story is set at the tail end of the age when a local businessman could fund a top division football team, as a city was emerging from grim times into better times, and an unlikely combination of young talent, non-league discoveries and experienced leaders was turned by our country's most under-rated manager into a team of winners. The book busts a few myths - the idea that the 1992 title was lost by Manchester United rather than won by Leeds, the perception that Vinnie Jones was an enforcer who couldn't actually play, or that we needed managers from overseas to bring in good food and fitness... - and is passionate about Leeds without being one-eyed. You can hear the voices of the players as you read about the author's meetings with them, and there are personal stories within the grander story that are by turn hilarious, tragic, revealing and thought-provoking. Fantastic book, which serves too as a fitting tribute to Gary Speed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite book about football, 3 Feb 2014
By 
S. Collis "simon" (liverpool) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Last Champions: Leeds United and the Year that Football Changed Forever (Paperback)
This is a wonderfully written quest to track down the players who won the last ever First Division title. It's funny and illuminating, full of human stories. Who knew David Batty had such hidden depths? I'm not a Leeds fan, but this is an exceptional book about a period of football that has been virtually erased from history. Post-Hillsborough, pre-Sky? Who knew there was such a thing?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good insight into the lost world of prePremier League football, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book tells how an unlikely bunch of men rescued a sleeping giant football club. That they did it on a shoestring budget is all the more remarkable and quite impossible today, with the huge fees and wages brought in by the Premier league - today only clubs with giant incomes or billionaire owners can win the league. I loved the book, but then Leeds were always my club and this was the start of an all too short second golden age for us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all Leeds fans, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
what a season! what a team! fantastic memories of some great wins and putting one over Fergie and his team is the stuff of dreams. finally, makes interesting reading when comparing those champions with today's so-called footballing superstars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Brilliant Read for Leeds fans, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you support Leeds United this is a great reminder of a brilliant season. Let's face it its been a while since we have had one of those. It will give an insight into the people involved in the 1992 title win. Its an enjoyable read and is highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 23 April 2014
This review is from: The Last Champions: Leeds United and the Year that Football Changed Forever (Paperback)
Without a doubt one of the best books I've ever read. Love how he talks to all the players and really makes the season come to life. Would definitely recommend; especially if you love leeds like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Last Champions, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a brilliant review of the winning side from division 2 through to the last champions of the old 1st Division. very interesting interviews with many players of that side and an intriguing over view of how Howard led the teams over that period of time.
I would highly recommend this not only to LEEDS fans but supporters generally.
Jason Fletcher
South West Whites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Real champions, 7 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved the book like any books to do.with Leeds.just a shame couldn't get interview with David batty mike Whitlow brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read, 13 Oct 2012
As a Leeds fan you may think I have a biased view but The Last Champions is one of the best sports books i've ever read. Full of anecdotes from the players, management and directors of the club at that time, the sort of stories you never get to hear about apart from on the after dinner speaking events. It wouldn't have mattered if I was a Leeds fan or not this was just highly entertaining from start to finish and oh how football has changed now in the days of huge salaries and big money transfers, these were the days when football was mainly played because they loved the game.The Last Champions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Last Champions: Leeds United and the Year that Football Changed Forever
£7.19
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews