Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Learn More Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars73
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 February 2012
Went through the book cover to cover in five sittings despite having young boys.When i first started reading it, i thought it will just be about his life and views. It is thousand years of history relevant to Imran's life and views packed in a few pages and talks of the future as well.

At the end of the book i felt enlightened and hopeful of the new Dawn that is beckoning Imran and Pakistan.

I personally feel Pakistan's existensial crisis has Imran as the only answer. Like in cricket he will inspire
many a generation to come in politics. A legend in his own right and my Hero.

Masood (Manchester, UK)
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2012
I started reading this book on my plane journey to the USA. I am not an avid reader and I soon put a book down after only a few pages but I was glued to this one. I have never seen Pakistan but my ancestors are from Pakistan. Perhaps this affinity also increased my desire to know what has been happening to my parents country. Imran supplied a lot of answers in a concise, interesting and logical manner. Imran seems to be someone dedicated to social purpose altruistically and Pakistanis all over the world are pinning for a leader like Imran. May he be victorious and improve the well being of all Pakistanis with as he says islamic principals of welfare and equality. He is also a leader who can win the west over for the betterment of his nation.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2011
Nice book well put together,I don't normally read but this book draws you in from the first few pages, the first few pages contain information about his experience in jail etc. This book also provides you with sufficient amount of Pakistan's history and as being a 16 year old reading this book I was very fascinated on how military rule has destroyed the country. This book is ideal for people who want to not just read about Pakistan's history but also its current political climate and Pakistan's current state. The best thing I liked about this book was that he mentioned a lot on the tribal areas of Pakistan, explaining there history and culture in great detail.

I would definitely recommend this book to people who want to read about Pakistan's history as well as Imran Khans struggle and success.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2011
Although not a fan of cricket myself, I was very excited when I heard that Khan was writing this book as he is now a well known political figure in Pakistan. The history of Pakistan is superbly presented. Dates, figures, and facts are here in abundance and these factors contribute to making the book highly informative. Khan makes the big political and social issues easy to understand for all, and his passion and patriotism is attested to on every page.

There are 2 reasons why I have not given this book 5 stars. Firstly, Khan comes across as extremely vain at times. Anyone would think there was no other famous cricketer in the the world! He also portrays himself as something of a saviour to Pakistan, the only hope the country has for the future. Conceited? I think so.

Secondly, I felt that there were too many in drawn out explanations for his theological beliefs. Whilst this is a partial biography and his religious views are to be respected, I felt that he came across as slightly overbearing and 'preaching' at times.

These 2 points aside, a very good read.
22 comments|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2011
Excellent book. essential and exciting reading for anyone interested in Pakistan.Firstly, it tells the story of Imran's life, and his personal development influenced by religion. this part of the book has a style reminiscent of Gandhi's autobiography, and is simple and straightforward. it shows Imran as honest, sincere, courageous and idealistic, compassionate about the hard life of poor Pakistanis, and determined to make a total effort to bring Pakistan back from the brink. he discards practical politics and sees things as right versus wrong.
he inspires, and wins respect. secondly the book is a good and accurate account of recent Pakistani political history, and the issues and problems that urgently need to be addressed today. thirdly the book describes Islam's role in history, and the qualities of tolerance, justice, values and education that made Islam the leading civilization for a thousand years. Forthly, it is a political manifesto which sets out Imran's objectives and struggle.
the book will certainly convince many readers that Imran is Pakistan's only hope. after reading this book, people will stop asking 'Can he win?' and instead ask, 'Can Pakistan survive if he doesn't win?'
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2011
what a superb book, couldn't put it down. would recommend it to anyone who wants to understand the history of pakistan, why it is the way it is today, and why imran khan is the only solution.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2013
This book cropped up as an amazon suggestion because i'd been reading biographies and autobiographies. instead of clicking the kindle sample as intended, i purchased the book accidentally. I'd no idea who this person is other than something to do with cricket. I know absolutely nothing about cricket, and Pakistan is so much in the news i wasn't keen to hear about it from a sportsman. Once I got into the book, however, tears kept pouring down my face. Here was a truthful and searching account of an idealist who tried against all odds to makes things better for everyone, who walked the walk and didn't just talk . His political analysis, the accounts of his achievements and setbacks were convincing but what most of the reviewers seem to have missed was that central to his story was the unfolding of a spiritual journey - a gradual discovery of the mystery of a hidden hand in mundane matters, how obstacles call forth hidden strength to become preparations for the next part of the journey. The author is scrupulously honest in recounting the constant reality checks, how life kept throwing up challenges so there is no place for fake humility ( which some of the other reviewers would have preferred) and it is a fine line between self regard and a refusal to allow self doubt to undermine what he'd set out to achieve. The story he told is an archetypal one, with as much relevance for those who seek changes in the Americas as it does for those in East Asia, Europe and Africa. We face unprecedented changes in the world and an urgent need for change. This book is a testimony to how dreams, right will and hard work are the seed for a better future, and the author by sharing his experience, isn't, I believe, just trying to win votes. His story reminds us as very few books do these days, the time honored and old fashioned truths about how we can go about making a difference and why in those efforts, we are never alone.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2011
This book, an intelligently written mix of Pakistan's history and Imran Khan own autobiography, reflects on the challenges that Khan faced in cricket and later, in his humanitarian work. The lessons learnt in his previous incarnations gave momentum to his entry into politics.

Tahreek-e-Insaf (Movement for Justice), the party he founded in 1996, has faced many humbling moments - winning no seats in the 1997 elections and one in 2002 - although it is now seen as a credible alternative to the government by many Pakistanis.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
This is a highly readable account of Pakistan's history by a formidable personality. Imran bares his soul whilst recounting the history of Pakistan in light of his own experience. Therefore it makes this book doubly interesting, and truly enlightening, preventing reader fatigue. Imran Khan is fearless in his condemnation of senior politicians and the corruption that has dogged Pakistan since its birth. Past Presidents and Prime Ministers of Pakistan are named and thoroughly shamed. Normally one would want to read what the others have to say, but Imran's assertions seem to be so from the heart that his words are believable. I do feel this is a must-read paperback for all types of Western audience, including those who are not particularly interested in Pakistan, as the book does open people to understand the problems that people in Muslim lands struggle with in their day to day lives. Then of course there is an insight in the book to Imran's early life, his cricketing career, his marriage and above all, his spiritual quest. Thankfully not just about politics and dates! The offering differs from heavy academic discourse that we have become so accustomed to, which plays with Islamism, 9/11 and so forth. This book, I feel, is a great reminder, as it furnishes the reader with reality: that colonial thinking is ever present in modern Muslim and third world societies, even today. Basically the story is simply told and while the writing style may at times seem repetitive, it all links together and the book works. One may philosophize a different solution to the problem of Pakistan (other than Imran's prescription), yet the book remains an outstanding contribution and should be read much more widely. A thoroughly useful piece of writing, well done Imran Khan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2014
I enjoyed reading this book although it was a bit disjointed to start with. The country of Pakistan fascinates me, and Ms Bhutto offers an excellent insight into life and the huge problems faced in the border territory with Afghanistan. I did feel, however, that she did not offer enough detail about the central characters and the reasons they acted the way they did in the final hour. I feel as if I didn't really get to know the characters, especially the youngest brother and I want to know what really made him act the way he did in the final scene!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)