Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling....Fascinating..SpellBinding
Went through the book cover to cover in five sittings despite having young boys.When i first started reading it, i thought it will just be about his life and views. It is thousand years of history relevant to Imran's life and views packed in a few pages and talks of the future as well.

At the end of the book i felt enlightened and hopeful of the new Dawn that...
Published on 2 Feb 2012 by Ahmed

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A decent read, though with flawed facts.
I read this book recently, and have to say i quite enjoyed it. He does present a fairly direct honest view of Pakistan, and all of its troubles. However, i did find it somewhat self promoting of a propaganda nature, as if you know he is running for government, you get the feel that he is trying most determinedly to win support from the asian community, who are the most...
Published 16 months ago by A customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling....Fascinating..SpellBinding, 2 Feb 2012
Went through the book cover to cover in five sittings despite having young boys.When i first started reading it, i thought it will just be about his life and views. It is thousand years of history relevant to Imran's life and views packed in a few pages and talks of the future as well.

At the end of the book i felt enlightened and hopeful of the new Dawn that is beckoning Imran and Pakistan.

I personally feel Pakistan's existensial crisis has Imran as the only answer. Like in cricket he will inspire
many a generation to come in politics. A legend in his own right and my Hero.

Masood (Manchester, UK)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cannot put the book down, 18 Aug 2012
By 
M. Amir "Simon Tristan" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pakistan: A Personal History (Paperback)
I started reading this book on my plane journey to the USA. I am not an avid reader and I soon put a book down after only a few pages but I was glued to this one. I have never seen Pakistan but my ancestors are from Pakistan. Perhaps this affinity also increased my desire to know what has been happening to my parents country. Imran supplied a lot of answers in a concise, interesting and logical manner. Imran seems to be someone dedicated to social purpose altruistically and Pakistanis all over the world are pinning for a leader like Imran. May he be victorious and improve the well being of all Pakistanis with as he says islamic principals of welfare and equality. He is also a leader who can win the west over for the betterment of his nation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 6 Dec 2011
what a superb book, couldn't put it down. would recommend it to anyone who wants to understand the history of pakistan, why it is the way it is today, and why imran khan is the only solution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Igniting the hope of a united Pakistan, 23 Nov 2011
Imran Khan shows integrity and honesty in his telling. This book is truly dedicated to ignite the passion of Pakistani nation. Be it personal struggles or professional successes, Imran khan shows faith gives you the strength to go on. This book gives you an understanding of reason why Pakistanis stand so divided today and makes an excellent attempt to convince, there is hope for Pakistan. I don't know about others, but I am definitely convinced. :)

A great read. A modern depiction of culture, religion and diversity of Pakistan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review, 25 Nov 2011
Nice book well put together,I don't normally read but this book draws you in from the first few pages, the first few pages contain information about his experience in jail etc. This book also provides you with sufficient amount of Pakistan's history and as being a 16 year old reading this book I was very fascinated on how military rule has destroyed the country. This book is ideal for people who want to not just read about Pakistan's history but also its current political climate and Pakistan's current state. The best thing I liked about this book was that he mentioned a lot on the tribal areas of Pakistan, explaining there history and culture in great detail.

I would definitely recommend this book to people who want to read about Pakistan's history as well as Imran Khans struggle and success.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a hatrick - world cup, cancer hospital & pakistan, 4 Oct 2011
By 
Excellent book. essential and exciting reading for anyone interested in Pakistan.Firstly, it tells the story of Imran's life, and his personal development influenced by religion. this part of the book has a style reminiscent of Gandhi's autobiography, and is simple and straightforward. it shows Imran as honest, sincere, courageous and idealistic, compassionate about the hard life of poor Pakistanis, and determined to make a total effort to bring Pakistan back from the brink. he discards practical politics and sees things as right versus wrong.
he inspires, and wins respect. secondly the book is a good and accurate account of recent Pakistani political history, and the issues and problems that urgently need to be addressed today. thirdly the book describes Islam's role in history, and the qualities of tolerance, justice, values and education that made Islam the leading civilization for a thousand years. Forthly, it is a political manifesto which sets out Imran's objectives and struggle.
the book will certainly convince many readers that Imran is Pakistan's only hope. after reading this book, people will stop asking 'Can he win?' and instead ask, 'Can Pakistan survive if he doesn't win?'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good though a little less hyperbole would be beneficial, 2 Dec 2011
By 
Although not a fan of cricket myself, I was very excited when I heard that Khan was writing this book as he is now a well known political figure in Pakistan. The history of Pakistan is superbly presented. Dates, figures, and facts are here in abundance and these factors contribute to making the book highly informative. Khan makes the big political and social issues easy to understand for all, and his passion and patriotism is attested to on every page.

There are 2 reasons why I have not given this book 5 stars. Firstly, Khan comes across as extremely vain at times. Anyone would think there was no other famous cricketer in the the world! He also portrays himself as something of a saviour to Pakistan, the only hope the country has for the future. Conceited? I think so.

Secondly, I felt that there were too many in drawn out explanations for his theological beliefs. Whilst this is a partial biography and his religious views are to be respected, I felt that he came across as slightly overbearing and 'preaching' at times.

These 2 points aside, a very good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very interesting and informative, 15 July 2012
This review is from: Pakistan: A Personal History (Paperback)
The book was really interesting and informative. It gives a good idea about Pakistan's political history over last six decades. Really enjoyed reading this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars History of Pakistan, 16 Nov 2011
This book, an intelligently written mix of Pakistan's history and Imran Khan own autobiography, reflects on the challenges that Khan faced in cricket and later, in his humanitarian work. The lessons learnt in his previous incarnations gave momentum to his entry into politics.

Tahreek-e-Insaf (Movement for Justice), the party he founded in 1996, has faced many humbling moments - winning no seats in the 1997 elections and one in 2002 - although it is now seen as a credible alternative to the government by many Pakistanis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Honest Book! No Hypocrisy, 6 Feb 2014
A must read! a book by future PM of Pakistan and very important leader of South Asia! Wish Asia have more leaders like him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb5cecfc0)

This product

Pakistan: A Personal History
Pakistan: A Personal History by Imran Khan (Paperback - 21 Jun 2012)
6.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews