Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Lords Prayer comes vividly to life, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You Pray (Paperback)
The Lords Prayer is repeated in every church service and, for many, it has become a ritual incantation, but this book brings out the hidden depths of meaning every phrase in the (shorter) version of it reported by St Luke. That was my interest in buying it and it met all my expectations. But that is merely the framework which structures and informs this fascinating book of daily readings and meditations, which is designed to be read by individuals or groups during Lent and Holy Week and would doubtless have its strongest resonances in that run up to Easter. I strongly recommend it, nevertheless, for anyone wanting a book of daily Bible readings which contains stimulating spiritual insights on virtually every page. It is brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and effective, 7 April 2013
By 
Lydia C. Savage (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: When You Pray (Paperback)
This book is the 2013 BRF Lent Book, and it is an excellent choice. The readings, which are intended to be used through the six weeks of Lent, are drawn from many books of the Bible and the reflections on them are concise and stimulating. The author uses a modicum of anecdote- just the right touch. Because the book is a sequence of meditations on the Lord's Prayer, it is suitable for all times of year. I would recommend this book for new Christians. It could also be used in Groups.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars profound, 23 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You Pray (Paperback)
I bought this book to provide daily reflection during Lent. The book is structured with a daily passage and relection, finishing with a simple prayer. The passages are short enough that it is possible to fit this in to daily life. The bible references mean that where time allows it is possible to delve more deeply into the meaning. I have found it has focussed my thoughts and enabled me to strengthen my relationship with God and expect to be revisiting it next year.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lent Reading 2013, 22 Feb. 2013
By 
P. Beale "Pat Beale" (Plymouth UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
passages short enough to cope with each day but very well written with much thought provoking material.
i will need to re-read it next year to gain all the benefit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Transforming lent, 22 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Each passage and the commentary is a really worthwhile preparation for each morning in Lent. I look forward to the rest of the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars this years Lent book, 23 Feb. 2013
By 
Mrsm J. Drury "miggs" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You Pray (Paperback)
Easy to read & understand. Interesting interpretations, a good discipline for lent. Well done BRF,
very tight binding so needs 2 hands to hold it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good material, 11 Mar. 2013
By 
P. Gowers (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: When You Pray (Paperback)
I bought the book for my Mother - I get it next year! She has enjoyed it. thats praise indeed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I gave this book a 4 star rating because it is well written and it is what is says it is - a series of daily reflections for Lent, though you could use it at any time of the year really. If it had more links and navigation tools in the Kindle version I might have given it 5 stars. There are links to the first day of each week. Within that it's a case of page forward and that can take a while!
I have been using it this Lent and am being blessed by it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

When You Pray
When You Pray by Joanna Collicutt (Paperback - 23 Nov. 2012)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews