Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-Provoking
In a world where "old age" is seen as a negative term, David Winter explores the subject in a creative way. His personal experience shines through the text and gives it a grounding in reality. A helpful book to those entering "old age"and for those trying to understand older people.It is clearly and engagingly written and full of hope.
Published 12 months ago by SES

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a cop out
I so enjoyed the accounts of the biblical characters in relation to ageing. But how real is this for modern retirement? God has need of our remaining strength, so we do voluntary work, tasks at church, support the grandchildren's parents, while ever we can. We respect commitments and they don't space out neatly. Sometimes they pile up together and yes, we may feel...
Published 9 months ago by D. J. Young


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a cop out, 15 May 2014
By 
D. J. Young (Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I so enjoyed the accounts of the biblical characters in relation to ageing. But how real is this for modern retirement? God has need of our remaining strength, so we do voluntary work, tasks at church, support the grandchildren's parents, while ever we can. We respect commitments and they don't space out neatly. Sometimes they pile up together and yes, we may feel stressed. I did not sense any of this in this cosy read. Maybe the author would feel I am expressing wrong priorities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought-Provoking, 27 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
In a world where "old age" is seen as a negative term, David Winter explores the subject in a creative way. His personal experience shines through the text and gives it a grounding in reality. A helpful book to those entering "old age"and for those trying to understand older people.It is clearly and engagingly written and full of hope.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So encouraging, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the End of the Day: Enjoying Life in the Departure Lounge (Paperback)
I have lent this book to my friends so that they too can be encouraged in their 'older' years. It is not only well written - ie easy and a pleasure to read - but also says some very important things about being old. And what a role model: to write such a good book in one's 80s! I hope it will come out in large print too (perhaps it has already?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You don't have to be old to enjoy this!, 8 Jan. 2014
By 
S. Elbourne - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the End of the Day: Enjoying Life in the Departure Lounge (Paperback)
This is an excellent and unique book. It is full of humour, joy and hope. You don't have to be old to enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lenten Book Review, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An outstanding book which integrated biblical teaching with insights gained from the experience of life. It was very interesting to read, thought provoking and challenging. It made me think how lucky we are, if and when, we manage to reach our allotted 70 years! For those with faith, a re-assuring book to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not quite the end of the day then?, 20 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this because of the down to earth, no nonsense,and gentle humour that embellishes the realities of being a 21 year old mentality in a ultra mature body!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Getting Older But Still Me !, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the End of the Day: Enjoying Life in the Departure Lounge (Paperback)
As an increasingly older person, I found a lot to empathise with in this book. Challenges come to us all whatever our age but it is nice to know that oldies can enjoy life and can be both nice and be pains to others just as they did when younger !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
L. Ireland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the End of the Day: Enjoying Life in the Departure Lounge (Paperback)
Read this before you are too old to help yourself prepare for a positive and fulfilling older age. Also read this if you want to help someone you love find ways to find life worth living right to the end and to face the end with less fear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 26 Mar. 2014
By 
Sheila M. Griffiths (Peterborough uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: At the End of the Day: Enjoying Life in the Departure Lounge (Paperback)
I am 80 years of age--going on 20 in my head.I loved this book.It is reassuring in that it shows that old age is not simply a time of waiting but a time of anticipation and of daily pleasures.Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tackled a difficult subject with sincerity, 17 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thought the book was thought provoking and written clearly but with humour and clear insight while maintaining the faith and hope
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

At the End of the Day: Enjoying Life in the Departure Lounge
At the End of the Day: Enjoying Life in the Departure Lounge by David Winter (Paperback - 22 Nov. 2013)
£6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews