Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent crime mystery - Highly recommended.
A murder mystery spanning almost 25 years - beginning the night of Italy's 1982 World Cup victory and ending after their 2006 World Cup victory. In between there are brutal murders with glimpses of Italian politics, corruption, racism, greed and religion and culture. Most of all there are lies, clouding and confusing a police investigation which, if it had been successful...
Published 11 months ago by MewzikFreek

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment.
I can't imagine that anyone would wish this book longer. The claim that it contains "the best elements of literature" seems to me to be pretentious if not absurd. In fact it is a run of the mill police thriller, which never begins to justify its length. Two distinctive features are that the action is sandwiched between Italian World Cup victories and that the central...
Published 10 months ago by Bluecashmere.


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent crime mystery - Highly recommended., 24 April 2013
By 
MewzikFreek "lynchola" (Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
A murder mystery spanning almost 25 years - beginning the night of Italy's 1982 World Cup victory and ending after their 2006 World Cup victory. In between there are brutal murders with glimpses of Italian politics, corruption, racism, greed and religion and culture. Most of all there are lies, clouding and confusing a police investigation which, if it had been successful in 1982, would have saved many lives in the future. The pace of the book barely lets up with many twists along the way. The writing and translation are first class. Don't be put off by the book's page length - once started you'll speed through it. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A disappointment., 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deliverance of Evil (Commissario Balistreri Trilogy) (Hardcover)
I can't imagine that anyone would wish this book longer. The claim that it contains "the best elements of literature" seems to me to be pretentious if not absurd. In fact it is a run of the mill police thriller, which never begins to justify its length. Two distinctive features are that the action is sandwiched between Italian World Cup victories and that the central character undergoes some form of moral development. Among police detectives Michele Balistreri must count as quite the most odious: arrogant, self-obsessed, cynical and misogynistic, without an ounce of charm or sensitivity. To a degree this is no doubt deliberate on Constantini's part, but only to a degree. The plot gathers some pace over the later stages of the novel but in the last analysis it seems to me that there are far better options in this genre, both in Italian and from elsewhere. The claims this weighty volume makes for itself sadly fail to achieve realisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Thriller, 20 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deliverance of Evil (Audio CD)
I was concerned that such a long book would be drawn out and lack pace. Nothing could be further from the truth. It is a real page turner and just keeps you guessing. Great characters and clever plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb crime saga with more to come!, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deliverance of Evil (Commissario Balistreri Trilogy) (Hardcover)
Best book I have read for a long time. Spanning 25 years, the plot it complex and detailed, testing your memory of previous events, but worth the struggle. The characterisation is as good I have seen and the interplay between the police characters and their bosses was Connellyesque and Bosch at its best!

Loved the political overtones ( very realistic) - and the insight into the Vatican politics also.

I read this 700 pager on a cruise - and you do need a good run at it to do it justice. First of a trilogy, can't wait for the next!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 4 May 2013
FIrst read of a Constantini book and I was delighted with the pace, character descriptions. The story line threw up enough "red Herrings" to keep you guessing until the end. A thoroughly enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ruthless murderer? What this book needed was a ruthless editor!, 17 Jun 2013
By 
Sue Kichenside - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Deliverance of Evil (Commissario Balistreri Trilogy) (Hardcover)
This protracted police procedural is bookended by Italy's two World Cup wins - a neat idea on which the author, rather maddeningly, fails to capitalise. The book opens with the first cup win in 1982 when we are introduced to Balistreri, a good-looking hard-ass cop who's into smoking, drinking, poker and sex. A neo-Fascist in his troubled youth, Balistreri isn't the most likeable of characters. When a beautiful young woman (is there any other kind in these books?) goes missing, the brash Balistreri fails to take the case seriously - until the girl turns up dead.

We then flash forward 24 years to Italy's second win. Now weary with age and guilt, Balistreri has mellowed into an altogether different man. Further murders of women are being committed and he is convinced they are all linked. The narrative then drones on relentlessly with a skein of ridiculously far-fetched plot complications and pseudo-political digressions. Unfortunately, Balistreri lacks the charm of a Montalbano to carry this off and I found myself skipping lines, then paragraphs and then whole pages. When I reached the end, it felt like deliverance indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling? Guilty. Compelling? Guilty. Brilliant? Guilty., 3 April 2013
This review is from: The Deliverance of Evil (Commissario Balistreri Trilogy) (Hardcover)
This is the most gripping and intelligent crime fiction you could wish for. Costantini plots - oh so nerve-tinglingly well - a story that deepens as it twists, skewering the dark side of human nature in an astonishing array of totally believable characters. Balistreri, the novel's flawed protagonist, is so fully realized, you feel as if you know him, yet long to know him more - thank goodness THE DELIVERANCE OF EVIL is only part one of Costantini's trilogy. Guilt, in all its manifestations, is explored and chillingly dramatized against the superbly drawn backdrop of an ever-present, ever-menacing, ever-beautiful Rome. Personal and political corruption are interwoven, with elegant legerdemain, into a relentlessly fast-paced plot, making THE DELIVERANCE OF EVIL an extraordinary feat of storytelling, a literary thriller of the highest order. Yes, it's a page-turner, but you'll relish every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A long complicated read, 15 April 2014
By 
Elaine Byrne (Troon. Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book starts with a murder in 1982 on the night Italy won the World Cup and a Michele Balistreri who is so obnoxious I almost gave up reading but I persevered through this background to 2006 when most of the book is set. Another girl is murdered, Italy wins the World Cup again and the mother of the 1982 victim commits suicide. Please keep up because this is only the beginning of a long, sprawling book which includes more murder, Italian politics, the Vatican and Italy's problems with economic migrants amongst other things. I think this book has interesting things to say about all these topics and two things are very clear from all of it - there is no black or white, only shades of grey and that spin is alive and well in Rome.
I think the plotting is ingenious and well thought out, if a little long, with many clever twists although not all are believable. I'm unsure about the characterisation. I thought the minor characters were well drawn and believable but I found the main characters and their motivations difficult to understand and relate to. To sum up: I found the picture of modern day Italy fascinating and credible, the 2006 events intriguing enough to want to know whodunit but it requires a massive suspension of disbelief to accept some aspects of the plot and some of the characters' actions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A FAST PACED INTERESTING READ, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read, indepth and constantly moving that keeps the readers interest. Good insight into the workings of the Italian Police Depts and Internal Political relations between the Police the Government and the Church
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Deliverance of Evil, 17 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Deliverance of Evil (Commissario Balistreri Trilogy) (Hardcover)
This book was great i enjoyed very much
The twist at the end was very good.
Hope to read more of his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa99c9594)

This product

The Deliverance of Evil (Commissario Balistreri Trilogy)
The Deliverance of Evil (Commissario Balistreri Trilogy) by Roberto Costantini (Hardcover - 28 Mar 2013)
11.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews