Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (62)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read
I bought this book as a bit of a reference so that I can plan a trip abroad and being a sucker for a bit of pain it's helped me work out the area I will stay in. The pictures are amazing and the detailed description and elevation profile of each climb is very well thought out. Any cyclist that loves climbing will really enjoy this book as it also goes into the history of...
Published on 26 Oct 2011 by Dan

versus
0 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Racing 'Great' climbs
This is a very nice book with some great pictures.

I would just like to point out that the 'Great' in the title relates more to great hill climbing days in road racing history not as in 'stunning and amazing'. Most of the writing is about how the climb became great during a Tour du France stage race or other similar races.

I have never followed the...
Published 11 months ago by paddle man


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 26 Oct 2011
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
I bought this book as a bit of a reference so that I can plan a trip abroad and being a sucker for a bit of pain it's helped me work out the area I will stay in. The pictures are amazing and the detailed description and elevation profile of each climb is very well thought out. Any cyclist that loves climbing will really enjoy this book as it also goes into the history of each climb.

Just buy it, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars supreme value for the money, 4 Dec 2011
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
Beautiful images. Excellent format. Good choices regarding the 50 selected climbs. I did not know them all, and I am some what a nerd regarding road racing, so I had my list of climbs to visit expanded a bit. What more to ask then? Well, a bit more text perhaps. However, if you know any one with a passion for riding, they should receive this one for xmas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just the badger!, 28 Jan 2012
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
This book is everything the book "Tour Climbs" should have been and failed to achieve. A book to read, display and plan trips with. Well done. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling Heaven., 1 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
Fantastic,great pictures and a wonderful insight into each stage.The details and the stories of how specific stages and tunnels were constructed is amazing.This book has impressed me so much,I have booked a holiday in the French Alps,purely to go and see some of the places in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for any cycling nerd's coffee table, 16 Aug 2012
By 
S. Wood (Sheffield, South Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
Ok, so it's not something you will pack into your bidon as you head out for a ride in the Alps, but this book is a must for any cycling fan who wants an insight into the history and folklore behind some of Europe's greatest climbs, as well as some high level information on the various approaches / climbs involved. I was slightly let down by the fact that the Col du Grand Saint Bernard is described as not being in the same league as other Swiss passes such as the Furka, Spulgen or the Grimsel and yet neither of these three passes features in the book. However, this is a minor gripe against what is otherwise a highly enjoyable book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs, 25 Jan 2012
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
Really great photos and clearly written with knowledge and passion. Helps to have a copy of the 'cyclopedia' next to you when reading if you are not overly familiar with cycling terms. French to English dictionary would come in hand as well.

Really enjoyable to sit back with on the sofa with a beer after a what you thought was a hard ride!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Book for keen cyclists, 29 Dec 2011
By 
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
This book is a must have for anyone keen on cycling. You can dip in and out at leisure and each section is detailed and has a selection of interesting facts. The pictures are also superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational stuff, 15 Jan 2014
By 
T. Knight (Oxford UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
Inspiration for my plan this year...I've climbed 7 of the 50...one of them 6 times..only 43 to go...with any luck I'll post an update to this around October !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Having it in your hands is a joy, 3 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
When you open this book you immediately start dreaming about yourself climbing the nice slopes that appear in the pics. Very well organized book, with nice photos and good explanations about of the profiles, etc. Chapeau!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful guide to climbs, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Nick reed (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs (Hardcover)
I recently received this as a present, and it's a beautiful book. Great evocative photos and historical anecdotes, and enough technical details to be useful to a cyclist planning on riding the climbs. A great way to indulge myself. The only problem is finding the time to plan the trips now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs
Mountain High: Europe's 50 Greatest Cycle Climbs by Pete Goding (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2011)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews