Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book
I love this book. I have never understood or enjoyed maths and it has played on my mind a lot recently, with two young children at school - I didn't want to have to defer to my husband to help them with their homework, and I didn't want to be the maths dummy of the family!

This book simply and in everyday language explains why you do what you do in maths, as...
Published on 17 Jun. 2012 by MrsP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great in theory
A very nice book in theory. Maths was a weak subject for me and I decided to try and patch up that weakness and was looking for a starting point. The author explains maths concepts very well which is its biggest strength in my opinion, but there are subjects where detail is lacking and only the most basic parts are covered, such as calculating percentages, algebra and...
Published 5 months ago by Michael


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Great to freshen up my Maths skills., 14 Dec. 2013
By 
Ania (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maths Handbook: Everyday Maths Made Simple (Paperback)
Great book!

Short and snappy chapters with great explanations and a little quiz towards the end.
Starting at the basics (addition, subtraction and so on) and moving on to more advanced topics whilst offering great little tips that can be applied in everyday life.

If you want a quick A-Z recap of the basics of maths THIS IS YOUR BOOK.
5 stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Look out for the errors!, 18 Aug. 2014
By 
This review is from: The Maths Handbook: Everyday Maths Made Simple (Paperback)
Borrowed this book from my local library so I could brush up on my maths skills before starting on an Open University course. Found several errors,especially in the questions at the end of each section,it made me think I was doing the calculation wrong but it turns out it was an error in the book,not my brain! It is a good book but can be hard to follow in places.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Does the maths job okay, 9 May 2014
By 
JCT Richards (Northallerton, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am terrible at maths and this book is helpful although sometimes the explanations assume some previous understanding of the basics. Maybe it is just that I am a bit thick !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It is a very useful book although the colours inside the book do not ..., 22 Oct. 2014
By 
AJ "Aj" (Cornwall, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Maths Handbook: Everyday Maths Made Simple (Paperback)
I brought this alongside The Basic Skills book to help explain the AQA maths GCSE Syllabus! It is a very useful book although the colours inside the book do not help with differentiation. but that is its only fault so far!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Looks good, 5 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Haven't had time to work through this yet it looks very well written and has agood style of explaining stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Clear and understandable text but the fractions are unreadable on ..., 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Clear and understandable text but the fractions are unreadable on my old kindle, I downloaded kindle for my PC which resolved the readability but loses the portability
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy, 27 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maths Handbook: Everyday Maths Made Simple (Paperback)
This comes highly recommended, for young and older learners alike, lots of helpful tips...brilliant definately recommend, has helped me tremendously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maths made clear, at last!!!, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maths Handbook: Everyday Maths Made Simple (Paperback)
An easily understandable book on maths. I intend to gradually work my way through it so that I will become more confident.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Grandchildren love it, 7 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maths Handbook: Everyday Maths Made Simple (Paperback)
Grandchildren (6 and 9) use this book and keep it handy.
I'm so pleased I bought it.
Might get one for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay, 23 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Maths Handbook: Everyday Maths Made Simple (Paperback)
The book is fine need to find time to study it properly. My grandchildren find it helpful with their maths.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Maths Handbook: Everyday Maths Made Simple
The Maths Handbook: Everyday Maths Made Simple by Richard Elwes (Paperback - 24 Nov. 2011)
Used & New from: £1.16
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews