Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VIN ORDINAIRE
" The Vintage Caper" is a delightful entertainment turned out with Peter Mayle's customary charm and competence (and some technical guidance from Anthony Barton, Hiberno-French scion of Chateau Leoville Barton), but no more than that.

Sam Levitt is a bon vivant poacher-turned-gamekeeper hired by a gorgeous insurance investigator to track down a massively...
Published on 26 Aug 2010 by Diacha

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down
I wasn't expecting a literary masterpiece but as I progressed I was hoping there would be a sting in the tale as it all seemed so obvious otherwise - there wasn't; thankfully it only cost 2.
Published 14 months ago by jag1808


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 30 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VIN ORDINAIRE, 26 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Hardcover)
" The Vintage Caper" is a delightful entertainment turned out with Peter Mayle's customary charm and competence (and some technical guidance from Anthony Barton, Hiberno-French scion of Chateau Leoville Barton), but no more than that.

Sam Levitt is a bon vivant poacher-turned-gamekeeper hired by a gorgeous insurance investigator to track down a massively valuable collection of vintage Bordeaux wines snatched from an obnoxious Hollywood lawyer's trophy cellar. He follows the trail to Marseilles and manages to solve his dilemma of having to recover the wine without landing the thieves - for whom he develops considerable affinity - in too much trouble in a creative way. Naturally, he encounters all sorts of charming French characters en route, at least one of them female, and finds time to partake of fine cuisine and superior wine and to get fitted for custom shirts at Charvet in Paris. Sam, despite being American, sounds in other words just like Peter Mayle.

The plotting is undemanding and the whole thing is infinitely forgettable once read. But if one is in the mood for an easy but reasonably intelligent and cheerful read, "The Vintage Caper" is just the thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Mayle, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Paperback)
I really enjoyed this book and forced myself to read it slowly to avoid getting to the end.
The characters were likeable and, as always, Peter Mayle's descriptions are spot on. I was there in France! A light read but no less enjoyable for that. As soon as I finished it I ordered his next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good easy read, especially for lovers of France & Wine!, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Kindle Edition)
Interesting international wine theft plot set largely in southern France with Peter Mayle's well crafted descriptions of the country & characterisations of its inhabitants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars capricious caper indeed!, 11 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Kindle Edition)
I was pleasantly surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I have only read one Peter Mayle
Le prior to this and it did not set off any fireworks. This was a well crafted piece of writing that held one's attention till the very last page. I would thoroughly recommend it ... especially if you enjoy a decent glass of Lafite!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a let down, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Paperback)
I wasn't expecting a literary masterpiece but as I progressed I was hoping there would be a sting in the tale as it all seemed so obvious otherwise - there wasn't; thankfully it only cost 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 23 Nov 2011
By 
Mark Hill (Aljezur, Faro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Kindle Edition)
Starts off well. I read the free Kindle sample and thought "I'll have this". But it quickly runs out of steam. The plot is thin and, unlike previous Mayle novels, the characters are not in any way interesting or charming. The ending is hurried and ill-thought out and the twist on the final page really makes no sense at all. I found myself struggling to finish it and have deleted it from my Kindle as I'm sure I won't ever be reading it again. Such a shame as I have really enjoyed Peter Mayle's earlier novels.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but just, 3 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Hardcover)
I have read and enjoyed all his books until now but this one is OK but just. Only just over 200 pages and it seems he got bored with the plot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Weak, 11 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Hardcover)
This is a major disappointment from a writer whose work I have previously enjoyed, Characterisation is poor - stereotypes abound and there is no depth to any of them. The beauty of Provence isn't adequately explored and the constant references to food / drink details are mind-numbingly dull. And the ending? I turned the page thinking there was more to come - it feels as if Mayle was as bored as this reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great story, 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Paperback)
Great Read if you are a Peter Mayle fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 23 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vintage Caper (Kindle Edition)
Very easy reading and classic Mayle. Worth a read on the beach. Only took me a day to power through it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vintage Caper
The Vintage Caper by Peter Mayle (Paperback - 26 May 2011)
5.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews