Customer Reviews


139 Reviews
5 star:
 (82)
4 star:
 (39)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will think you know who done it, but I bet you don't
This is the first Brian Freeman book that I have read, and I must say it gripped me from page 1. I could not put it down, I kept thinking I knew who had done it, but I didn't and just kept guessing and then changing my mind, the plot was so good.

On a March night outside the river town of Barron, Minnesota, three teenage girls meet in terrifying circumstances...
Published 16 months ago by rattyratbag

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great read
Great read. Thoroughly enjoyed this novel. A real page turner. Well written and kept guessing the identity of Aquarius. Perhaps slightly far fetched towards the end but that's fiction huh!
Published 11 months ago by Red


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You will think you know who done it, but I bet you don't, 31 July 2013
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Kindle Edition)
This is the first Brian Freeman book that I have read, and I must say it gripped me from page 1. I could not put it down, I kept thinking I knew who had done it, but I didn't and just kept guessing and then changing my mind, the plot was so good.

On a March night outside the river town of Barron, Minnesota, three teenage girls meet in terrifying circumstances. By morning one of the girls is dead, and one of the other two girls is in prison charged with her murder. Olivia Hawk claims she didn't pull the trigger on Ashlynn Steele, but no one believes her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Hardcover)
I still can not believe that Brian Freeman books are not highly advertised! This guy writes a great story!

This book starts with a punch and does'nt stop slinging more and more twists all the way along!

If you are looking for a great read, buy this book, read it then buy everything else Brian Freeman has written, you will not be disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant author, 13 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Kindle Edition)
Brian Freeman is one of the best authors around today. Highly recommend all of his books.look forward to the next .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 27 Dec 2013
By 
Red (Renfrewshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Kindle Edition)
Great read. Thoroughly enjoyed this novel. A real page turner. Well written and kept guessing the identity of Aquarius. Perhaps slightly far fetched towards the end but that's fiction huh!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner from Brian Freeman, 17 Mar 2012
By 
Anne McLauchlan (Edinburgh, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Hardcover)
A dead teenager, two towns pitted against each other, a cancer cluster and a father determined to prove that his daughter didn't pull the trigger... Loved this book and also the fact that the characters are not picture perfect and this is not a fairy tale. Can't wait for the next book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not Really Worth Your Time!, 29 Jun 2012
By 
Bobbewig (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Hardcover)
My brother is a big fan of Brian Freeman's books and, over time, has given me all of his books by this author, including Spilled Blood. So, rather than continue to stockpile these books, I thought I should actually start to read them. Spilled Blood is my first Freeman reading experience and, based on my overall dissatisfaction with this book, the next book I read by this author isn't going to happen any time soon.

I know my review will be "swimming against the tide" and will likely result in some negative votes, given the mainly 4 and 5 stars ratings it's received from other reviewers. But, hopefully, it will provide some people with a dissenting point of view that is helpful to them in deciding whether or not Spilled Blood is a book they will want to read.

I won't take your take time by providing a summary of the plot, as this is can be seen in the Amazon Book Description above. My opinion of the plot premise is a positive one. My displeasure stems from the author's execution of the plot and with his "dime-store" psychology behind the characters' motivations and actions.

I can't describe what I mean here without revealing some things that could be spoilers. I will say, however, that Freeman's apparent belief that his characters who either gamble excessively or crave child pornography or are forever heartbroken by the loss of a loved one suffer from addictions, and thus have to be understood for their motivations and actions, came across to me as naive, much too simplistic and a bit "soapbox-y." Further, while Freeman worked hard at trying to create complex characters, I found that, for the most part, the characters never seemed like "real" people, and as a result, I couldn't care much about what happened to them.

Beyond my opinion of the characters, I found that, with the exception of the last thirty pages or so, Freeman never allowed me, as the reader, to feel that I was actively experiencing the action as it happened. Rather, too often was the case that Freeman's created a strong sense of anticipation for an apparent action only to bring about that action in too passive a way for me. As such, when the action did finally occur it was neither very exciting nor surprising.

Finally, I found that Freeman provided so many (what I feel had to be unintentional) "tips" about who the murderous psychpath known only as "Aquarius" is that I was able to correctly guess the identity of this character after only about one-third of the way into reading the book.

All in all, unless you want nothing more from a book than to completely escape from reality for a while, and don't particularly care much about whether its plot is credible and its characters are believable, I'd suggest you read something else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Spilled Blood, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Kindle Edition)
I don't know why this book didn't grab me, I really liked the story's premise. I think it was a bit drawn out and lacked sufficient likable characters.

However, it wasn't totally unreadable. I did finish it and even found some good twists along the way.

3 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fair read., 28 Nov 2013
By 
Jeffrey C. Short "duke64" (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Kindle Edition)
Not a brilliant read-but not the worst by a long way.
Will kill the time on a beach or plane.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spilled Blood, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Hardcover)
Once again Brian Freeman has produced a gripping exciting story with twists and turns to keep you guessing to the end.All interesting characters in a small American town setting torn apart with conflict over cancer deaths. And then the death of a popular teenager shot but by whom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Worth every Penny, 9 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Spilled Blood (Kindle Edition)
If you like whodunnits with continual twists, then you can do no wrong in checking out this little number.
Spilled Blood curtails the murder of a young teenager Ashleyn, who is the daughter of an executive of a microbiological company called Mondaman. The main suspect is Olivia in an apparently cut and dried case. But Chris a lawyer and father of Olivia thinks otherwise.
The story twists and turns as the web of intrigue transpires. There are tales of coverups, corruption and feuds between rival towns that are exposed in the story and Chris in his striving to clear his daughters name, leaves no stone unturned.
All I can say is check it out. For the sum of £1.95 you can do no wrong. Just as good as the Lee Childs and James Pattersons of this world.
Give it a whirl.You wont be disappointed.
Highly recommended 9\10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spilled Blood
Spilled Blood by Brian Freeman (Paperback - 8 Nov 2012)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews