Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars62
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 October 2011
A beautifully written book. It is a tribute to the Scottish poet, Norman MacCaig, but is much more than this. It is an absorbing overview of the author's
view on life and his friendship with other men who have been attracted to the cultural group that surrounded MacCaig. Added to this, the author offers a captivating view of the north-west Highlands of Scotland.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
A perfect book! Introduced me to Norman MacCaig's poems, which I did not know. I have to go to the Assynt after reading this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2013
I enjoyed the book despite poetry not being my thing. That doesn't matter as the characters are human and the story touching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2015
Highly recommend this book and if you can get to hear Andrew Greig talk about it and read from it you will be delighted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
A most enjoyable book, full of real characters and places. Very readable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2014
A lovely book,very evocative of that part of Scotland.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
This is one of the most wonderful books I think I have ever read. Poetic and insightful, deeply moving and reflective.
I have recommended it to many friends - particularly those who visit and know Scotland.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2013
I really enjoyed this book. A lyrical description of the Assynt area which makes me want to re-visit and an affirmation of the only way to get to truly know a place is to walk in it and meet others who enjoy it.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2010
Andrew Greig is a gift to Scotland. Or a gift from Scotland? Both. This book is so gorgeously written it took my breath away.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 July 2013
Bought this book for my husband who is a fisherman and reads a little. Since then he has recommended it to many friends and myself, we have all enjoyed it immensely. It has wide appeal.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)