Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Blood-Spattered Economics
This is a direct sequel to the earlier thriller Daemon, which postulated a computer program set to respond to real world events and via access to most of the world's corporation's financial data, obtained a lock-hold on them and the global economy. Reading the earlier book is, I think, a prerequisite to this book; most of the background for various characters appears in...
Published on 20 Jan 2010 by Patrick Shepherd

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I was expecting more.
Having read Daemon I immediately downloaded Freedom. I was a bit disappointed. Not too sure why. I think there was too much talky talky and not enough action.
But hey ho, who am I to criticise, I've never written a book.
Published 6 months ago by CEEAITCHJAY


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Modern Blood-Spattered Economics, 20 Jan 2010
By 
Patrick Shepherd "hyperpat" (San Jose, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freedom (Hardcover)
This is a direct sequel to the earlier thriller Daemon, which postulated a computer program set to respond to real world events and via access to most of the world's corporation's financial data, obtained a lock-hold on them and the global economy. Reading the earlier book is, I think, a prerequisite to this book; most of the background for various characters appears in the earlier book, along with the details of how the Daemon operates, and trying to decode this book without that information would be at least confusing and probably lead to missing some important points of this book.

This book, while still very much action-oriented and with quite a gore-quotient, delves much deeper into the consequences of today's globally interconnected information flow and how disruption of that could cause an economic and political melt-down. Given the assumptions this book starts with, Suarez makes these consequences both very visible and quite believable. In addition, he adds a new level in this book, which only played a side-role in the earlier book, on the growing possibility of massive role-playing gaming becoming an economy of its own that has real-world impacts. To some degree this is already happening, as some on-line games' currency and artifacts are being bid and traded for in real-world equivalents. He also brings in the concept of on-line social reputation as a credit marker and the use of that to bring large numbers of resources to bear on particular problems in very short time periods, all adding to the believability of the plot line. However, there were a couple of places where I wondered about the true economic viability of some the projects started by such groups, even when the technology for them is sound and already out of the laboratory.

In general, I felt this was a better book than Daemon, partly due to the various items listed above that added a lot to the overall believability of the scenario, and also due to the change in the Daemon itself, now showing itself to not just be a vehicle for revenge but having much higher goals that make some of its actions at least have a decent rationale behind them. The action is still very much fast-paced and the characters remain true to their core values. The presentation of philosophical points about just what constitutes freedom and how humans organize themselves as governments and economic units adds to this, lifting it beyond the sheer 'thriller' category into something with substance. The only real negative I found with this book was single-sided characterization of those in current power, who as shown here will do absolutely anything to retain their current status. As no one is completely black or white, this struck something of a false note with me.

An engrossing read with a lot of scare factor, but needed better, more realistic 'bad guys' to reach top-flight status.

---Reviewed by Patrick Shepherd (hyperpat)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More future-tech scares, 28 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. G. Battle (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freedom (Paperback)
Freedom continues where Daemon left off, with the computer program Daemon building a new society. Freedom ups the ante on Daemon from the beginning with grander action sequences and fleshing out the heroes and villains of the story. Suarez appeases his fans of science fiction and fantasy with a plot in which the uprising new culture is firmly rooted in a world mirroring Massively Multiplayer games. The hero has a quest - and a glowing line in his HUD that only he can see, leading him to where he is required. Those who use the darknet have floating names and levels above their heads. It's all very World of Warcraft, EverQuest etc. With the millions of players now participating in such games, Suarez's readership is sizeable and those who have played such games will get more from reading this work.

There's non-gaming future-tech in there too and at times the speculative future seems very plausible and threatening. This is sharp and dirty warfare and subsequently the feel to Freedom is more action orientated and more accessible than the first entry. At times Freedom does become complicated as it tries to ensure the reader cannot predict how the plot will develop, hindered further by the myriad of characters, some with little reintroduction from Daemon. Those small points aside, Freedom remains a well conceived piece of near-future fiction, a thriller worth investing time in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top stuff, 20 Aug 2010
By 
D. Flower (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Freedom (Paperback)
Well I'm only half-way through this, but I really look forward to settling down in the evenings with it. You should definitely read Daemon first, because a lot of the events in that explain stuff in this, especially to justify (and thus provide depth to) characters' strengths/weaknesses and how they perceive events around them. The story is more complex than simply having 'good' guys and 'bad' guys, reflecting the different motives of individuals, groups and states involved. It ties in nicely with the recent economic wobbles, and you find yourself switching allegiances between characters as the plot twists and turns.

Admittedly, the 2nd half may turn out to be more action than drama, but the plot is building so well that it's probably justified.

Mr Suarez, if you'll just sit down at your computer and get cracking, we'll call it a trilogy, shall we?! :-)

Roll on the Daemon movie in 2012!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel to Daemon, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: Freedom (Paperback)
You need to read Daemon first to make any sense of this and it suffers from the fate of all sequels in that he had to put quite a lot of the backstory into the early chapters just in case readers had either forgotten or were coming to the book without reading Daemon. I was disappointed by this but stuck with it and glad I did because once it gets going it's a worthy sequel to the earlier book. Assume for a minute that an alternative internet money system did start to thrive - who would be threatened by this? What would happen to the idea of Nations? What would happen to the idea of Corporations? Who would champion these new systems and who would want to stop them? You can read this book as a straight thriller and it works well but he has woven in enough depth to cause you to question many of the basic assumptions about levers of power and how we are arranging our world at the moment. So, a slow start but a satisfying feast and he skilfully ties up the remaining plot points right to the last page. A good read - I wonder how much of it might come true?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fast delivery and item as described, thanks :), 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom (Paperback)
This is the second book by Daniel Suarez in the Daemon series and is as good as the first. I wanted the large format paperback and found this for a very good price. It arrived quickly well packaged and in excellent condition for a second-hand book. I would most certainly purchase from this seller again.

Thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating idea of the future, 7 April 2014
By 
Ms L. Gooch - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
This is, in effect, part 2 of Daemon. It challenges some of the ideas I had developed in the first book, about what internet security means, about how the future might work, about the capacity of humans to adapt and use technology. I've read a few books where characters end up 'in' a video game; this is an entirely different and more stimulating level. I'm not a geek, my boyfriend is and he recommended the novels. I had no trouble following the ideas, though. In this one, it was all slightly more spelled out and even repeated - perhaps the editor felt that Daemon was too niche. It does help that I've played a few video games, but anyone interested in ideas of multi-nationals, where the internet might take us, genetically modified crops and a good old bloody thriller would enjoy it. It is asking for a movie adaptation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Book could HAPPEN in our LIFETIME, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
The world needs more people bringing the knowledge of the lack of self-control the World's population have over the lives to them. America where this science fiction book was set has a huge population, and that population is being brain-washed by their Government, through the control of the media, and the NSA, their big Pharmaceutical companies through the Advertising they spend to sell their poisons, their Food Industry where no regard for the health and fitness of the population is taken as long the profits keep coming in, through Government levies to grow even more corn, and their total disregard for animals.
Although Science Fiction, the big Cash Hungry Corporations have the power, the greed and brain dead thugs to do their will, are already controlling the Two Houses of Government through lobbying, or another way of putting it, bribing representatives of the Houses. Read the Omnivore's Dilemma by Michael Pollan, this book is non-fiction.
Is this scaremongery, I don't think so.

Stuart Boyd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Read Daemon first, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
You will miss the plot so read Daemon first. Loved both. Very different from the usual but page turners (page flippers over some of the longer action scenes) but doesn't detract from this pair being incredibly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So much more, 29 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
...than the usual hi-tech thriller rubbish out there . Both this and the preceding Daemon book (which you do need to read first) are really about what is currently called 'the internet of things' combined with an insightful socio economic comment on modern society, the growing wealth elite, power of global corporations & the privatisation of security & military power - all mixed up with a large dose of paranoia, just future tech and over the top action . Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars interesting view of the future, 12 Jan 2014
By 
R. Hyde (Isle of Man) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom TM (Kindle Edition)
I was concerned that some of the tech stuff was going to make it seem to far-fetched, but it managed to stay believable while blending in some good insights into human nature and the state of the world today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

Freedom
Freedom by Daniel Suarez (Paperback - 26 May 2011)
5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews