Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Growing into the Gap
I enjoyed Patrick Easter first outing of Tom Pascoe and for me his second adventure for me is going in the right direction of establishing a very good series and filling the gap left by Andrew Pepper`s Pyke.Patrick Easter captures the atmosphere of the river Thames of 1799 London and added to a action pact adventure set against the back drop of the war against Napolean...
Published on 16 April 2012 by james eves

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great action!
This book is action packed!I really enjoyed the chases and the villains. The author manages beautifully to evoke the London of the period and you actually feel you're walking along the wharfs, hearing the sounds and smelling the 'scents' he describes. The best part is the first chapter where the story immmediately starts to unfold. The descriptions are very good. The...
Published 10 months ago by lovereading


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Growing into the Gap, 16 April 2012
This review is from: The River of Fire (Tom Pascoe 2) (Hardcover)
I enjoyed Patrick Easter first outing of Tom Pascoe and for me his second adventure for me is going in the right direction of establishing a very good series and filling the gap left by Andrew Pepper`s Pyke.Patrick Easter captures the atmosphere of the river Thames of 1799 London and added to a action pact adventure set against the back drop of the war against Napolean you have a page turner that is hard to put down.I hope we will have more of Tom Pascoe and i for one can not wait.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Patric Easter chose a fasinating topic & period to write about., 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book , Great series.I would recomend these books to anyone who enjoys period drama's.London in the 17th centry on the river Thames.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River of Fire (Tom Pascoe 2) (Hardcover)
Really enjoyed this story, the story flowed much better than in book 1, and the characters had more of depth to them. Good fast pace and plenty of action, cant wait till I read the next instalment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 2 Mar 2014
By 
Mrs. Julie D. Ellis "fatcontroler" (Plymouth, Devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Because it keeps you reading and you can not wait to get to the next page well done have your next
Book already Yippeee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good read, 10 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good story well written excellent period atmosphere. Believable hero and interesting supporting characters. If you like historical novels where the period is obviously well researched this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Policing the River Thames during the Napoleonic Wars, 6 Feb 2013
By 
David Coote (Southampton, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River of Fire (Tom Pascoe 2) (Hardcover)
Four stars only because five is so unusual for me.

There was nothing I disliked about this book which appealed to me because of the period it is set in and it was a rattling good story.

Would I recommend it - definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improvement on the first novel., 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoyable romp through late Georgian London. Much better pace and characterisation in this one. Looking forward to Pascoe's next outing on the river.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good follow up, 15 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the author's second title featuring Tom Pascoe, who we first met in 'The Watermen'.
This time, he is still running the river police, and has to solve a murder mystery, which involves espionage, sabotage, and various other twists and turns.
The central character is still growing; he was a little one dimensional in the first book, but he grows somewhat in this instalment. The story has a couple of unexpected twists, which perhaps may limit Pascoe's character development in future books - if there are any, but we shall see.
Overall, this is a good read; the author's feel for the period is good, and If the era is of interest to you, you will like this book. If not, give it a try anyway, it may hook you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Jon L. Cornellisson "Celeste" (Colorado, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River of Fire (Tom Pascoe 2) (Hardcover)
This is the second book in a series which I hope continues for many more. It is well written, and has great historical detail. The plot has twists which are unexpected and interesting. A great read and a great series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different point of view, 14 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The River of Fire (Tom Pascoe 2) (Hardcover)
I read a great deal of historical fiction, most of it very good. It was really exciting to discover Tom Pascoe: he operates in a shadowy area, largely obscured by the fog of the last 200 years of history. The first book was tense, violent, deeply unpleasant at times and hard to put down. For me, much of the appeal lies in that this is a subject I know little about. We all see the ceremonial role of the watermen now, and we know about Doggett's Coat and Badge, but, as these books tell us, in earlier days life was a constant battle.
One other good thing: the second book is even better than the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9996d8)

This product

The River of Fire (Tom Pascoe 2)
The River of Fire (Tom Pascoe 2) by Patrick Easter (Hardcover - 1 Mar 2012)
13.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews