Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Syllabus
Got this book last week. Pieces are very good and backing tracks are much improved. Pupils are going to like it.
Published 6 months ago by Phoenix High Hat

versus
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Trinity are going in the wrong direction...
Hi,

I recently purchased this new book. As a tutor, this book compared to the previous two (2007 and 2011 - 2013) is a lot harder! As a tutor who starts kids off as young as 6/7, this book is really going to test pupils as a drummer. Rather than the past books, it has now made shorter exercises rather than a rudimental study. The exercises are very hard in the...
Published 6 months ago by FOZZY


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Syllabus, 19 Jan 2014
This review is from: Drum Kit 2014-2019: Grades 1 & 2: Pieces & Exercises for Trinity College London Exams (Paperback)
Got this book last week. Pieces are very good and backing tracks are much improved. Pupils are going to like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Tunes, 15 Jan 2014
This review is from: Drum Kit 2014-2019: Grades 1 & 2: Pieces & Exercises for Trinity College London Exams (Paperback)
I got this book a few days ago and my first impression was how much the playalong tracks had improved. Nice to have a few vocal numbers too. Good work Trinity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Trinity are going in the wrong direction..., 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drum Kit 2014-2019: Grades 1 & 2: Pieces & Exercises for Trinity College London Exams (Paperback)
Hi,

I recently purchased this new book. As a tutor, this book compared to the previous two (2007 and 2011 - 2013) is a lot harder! As a tutor who starts kids off as young as 6/7, this book is really going to test pupils as a drummer. Rather than the past books, it has now made shorter exercises rather than a rudimental study. The exercises are very hard in the terms of a grade 1 piece. Then the following pieces after that aren't straight forward either. In the group A pieces, the drum beats used aren't really suitable for kids of a young age as co ordination is now key! However, the group B pieces (now there's only two) are at a similar difficulty to the previous books...

I totally disagree with trinity that this is going in the right direction to get more people to take up percussion. I am going to expect less kids to start off at a young age to get into drumming as the book is so much harder compared to the previous books...

If you are familiar with Trinity Colleges Rock and Pop books, these new books pretty much follow their style of layout...

Overall, I will be purchasing these other new books as I need to stay updated as a tutor... However, as a student I would recommend you now go for either this book, start on a previous book to gain more co ordination as a student OR if worst comes to worst, start on Rock School until you get to a level high enough to start Trinity Guildhalls Drum Kit Book.

These new books are going to test all Trinity tutors such as myself to see whether we can get young pupils to play at such a high standard of playing so early on in their lives.

I hope you've all found this information helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drum Kit 2014-2019: Grades 1 & 2: Pieces & Exercises for Trinity College London Exams (Paperback)
My son told us he needed a book like this for his drum lessons however I have no idea if it was the right one. Got very confused as to what it was and who it was for and if it was maybe a bit too specific for him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fast delivery, 30 Jan 2014
By 
M. Kirk "shele2602" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drum Kit 2014-2019: Grades 1 & 2: Pieces & Exercises for Trinity College London Exams (Paperback)
book was great, most impressive was the postage
received following morning 5 stars all round for
this company. recommend to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent new edition, 17 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. Nick Cole (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Drum Kit 2014-2019: Grades 1 & 2: Pieces & Exercises for Trinity College London Exams (Paperback)
I really rate the Trinity grades, and this new syllabus does not disappoint. There is a new marking scheme with a greater emphasis on performance pieces, and on pieces with backing tracks. Some of the tracks have vocals now which brings them closer to reality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews