Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books out there!, 14 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback) (Paperback)
There's nothing better than a giant positive surprise. And that's what you'll have by reading this book. In fact, this is one of the best and most revealing F1 books I've ever read (and I've read a lot of them by now), showing that the best stories aren't always those told by drivers or team principals. This book tells the story of Di Spires and his husband Stuart, who went on to pursuit their dream of entering the world of Formula 1 as hospitality caterers.

We learn their hopes, their let-downs, their good moments and some of the bad ones. It's sometimes a heart-wrenching book, as Di and Stu crossed the paths of so many big names in F1, some of them prematurely lost. It's very well written, with a pinch of humour, which is very much welcome. Even the bits regarding their personnal life are perfectly integrated.

All in all, I blindly reccomend this book to anyone who wants to know more about some of F1's big names, like Ayrton Senna, Michael Schumacher, Peter Warr or Johnny Herbert. Go for it! You won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A 1st class read., 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback) (Paperback)
A fantastic book written from the heart by a very ordinary, but obviously, very special person. Life on the grand prix circuit seems
a million miles away from most of us but this puts wholesale reality and genuine feeling to it. It is a simple format: 'I was there, working', but Di Spires tells it as it is and you feel that it was written to you personally. She obviously met some very rich and famous people on a very regular basis but was not fazed by them, she 'just made the tea' and lots, lots more without fuss. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fabulous book, 23 April 2014
This review is from: I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback) (Paperback)
I loved this book - A masterpiece, entertaining and humorous. It paints a colourful picture of motor-racing and personalities. Life on the road, in and away from the paddock. An appreciation of what happens behind-the-scenes and full of hard work, tears and why there's so much more to making the tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 17 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback) (Paperback)
An informative and revealing look behind the scenes of formula 1 racing. Highly recommended to any one with an interest in formula 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pressie, 1 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback) (Paperback)
Bought as a birthday pressie for a F1 fan, he has told it will make great holiday reading on the trip to Hungarian Gran Prix, he loves it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback) (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best F1 book I have read, 10 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback) (Paperback)
Gives a great inside knowledge of F1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A different view of F1, 14 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback) (Paperback)
Bought as a gift for an F1 fan who has read about F1 from many angles. He says it is a good read. Intend to borrow it back when he finishes it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback)
I Just Made the Tea: Tales of 30 years inside Formula 1 (paperback) by Bernard Ferguson (Paperback - 6 Jun. 2013)
Used & New from: £3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews