Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional detail
This is one of the few books giving serious detail of one of the most exceptional Apollo missions. Although written as a Haynes manual (more famous for car maintenance) it really is technically excellent rather than a sort of spoof which I think the equivalent Apollo 11 manual may have been. The only other book on Apollo that I have read with technical detail is 'How...
Published 8 months ago by alapper

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's what it says on the cover!
This really is a TECHNICAL MANUAL. I was expecting something more akin to the H.M.S. Victory manual or the D-Day Operations manual. If you're an engineer, physicist or a fanatic for detail, the this book will appeal, as it is chock-full of engineering layouts and schematics. For the non-technical spaceflight enthusiast, this is probably a little "over the top" on...
Published 10 months ago by Mr. R. E. J. Hyson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional detail, 10 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13 Manual: An engineering insight into how NASA saved the crew of the crippled Moon mission (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
This is one of the few books giving serious detail of one of the most exceptional Apollo missions. Although written as a Haynes manual (more famous for car maintenance) it really is technically excellent rather than a sort of spoof which I think the equivalent Apollo 11 manual may have been. The only other book on Apollo that I have read with technical detail is 'How Apollo flew to the moon' by W.D.Woods which I consider the best book ever written about the technical challenges Apollo presented and how they were overcome. ('Digital Apollo' by D.Mindell' is also good) This Haynes manual is only limited to the one mission and does not cover orbital mechanics or the 'why' of technical solutions in the way that 'How Apollo flew to the moon' and 'Digital Apllo' do but it does give an exceptional amount of quantitative information. However the story of the adventure from the mission controllers point of view is well told (and it was exceptionally a mission controllers mission) as the author was present. and you can skip past all the quantitative information where it does not interest you. As an 'Apollo watcher' I would recommend this as one of the more worthwhile of the many books on Apollo that have been written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13 Manual: An engineering insight into how NASA saved the crew of the crippled Moon mission (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
This is a book for those who love their engineering, This clearly covers all aspects of the Apollo 13 flight from a man who knew it intimately
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 24 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13 Manual: An engineering insight into how NASA saved the crew of the crippled Moon mission (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
You all know the story, but this gives every explanation you could require, and excellent detail and photos / illustrations
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Apollo 13 Manual, 16 Dec 2013
By 
Mr Giles (Herts, England, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13 Manual: An engineering insight into how NASA saved the crew of the crippled Moon mission (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
As I have come to expect from David Baker, this is another excellent book, quite technical in parts, it gives a good understanding of the Apollo 13 mission and its problems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Top, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13 Manual: An engineering insight into how NASA saved the crew of the crippled Moon mission (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Amazing, well detailed review on apollo13 by a Competent Author of great experience.
Must have item for anyone who's into aerospace stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for Space nuts!, 6 April 2014
By 
C. Baker - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13 Manual: An engineering insight into how NASA saved the crew of the crippled Moon mission (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I have the other Apollo guides in this series & this just adds even more depth to an already superb set. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Good Technical Description of the Event, 11 Jan 2014
By 
Varied_taste (North West, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Apollo 13 Manual: An engineering insight into how NASA saved the crew of the crippled Moon mission (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
For all of the reasons Mr Hyson gave this 3 stars, I give it 5 stars.

It is as he describes, a technical account of how and why Apollo 13 got into difficulties. It then describes how the crew and mission control (+ thousands of external contractors) solved the problems of survival. It does not discuss how upset Mrs. Lovell's children were (even though I am sure this was true and very important to them - Jim Lovell covers this in his own book "Apollo 13 by Jim Lovell and Jeffrey Kluger") and sticks to the technical details of the emergency.

Anyone who reads and enjoys this book would enjoy Sy Liebergot's "Apollo EECOM: Journey of a Lifetime: Journey of a Lifetime: 2nd Edition." I didn't find the book particularly interesting but it includes a CD of the ground loop communications during the initial emergency and subsequent 3 hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 Aug 2014
By 
Dean Hicks "Bubblybosun" (Orlando, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13 Manual: An engineering insight into how NASA saved the crew of the crippled Moon mission (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Excellent A1 all round informative manual which doesn't disappoint!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's what it says on the cover!, 20 Oct 2013
By 
Mr. R. E. J. Hyson (Portsmouth, Hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apollo 13 Manual: An engineering insight into how NASA saved the crew of the crippled Moon mission (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
This really is a TECHNICAL MANUAL. I was expecting something more akin to the H.M.S. Victory manual or the D-Day Operations manual. If you're an engineer, physicist or a fanatic for detail, the this book will appeal, as it is chock-full of engineering layouts and schematics. For the non-technical spaceflight enthusiast, this is probably a little "over the top" on the engineering side, at the expense of the human story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews