Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mossie Masterpiece for a Haynes Manual
Let's face it - none of these Haynes manuals for aircraft are anything like a Haynes manual for cars - so what do we expect from one? Some history, some technical detail and some nice photographs of a restoration project, in short "an insight into". This one didn't disappoint me.
The whole book is full of information which records the requirement, design, realisation...
Published 15 months ago by MR.P.F.H. BAKER

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much detail, hard to follow construction techniques
Oh boy, how to build a Mosquito in glorious technical detail. In fact there is just too much detail about building it and it is hard to follow. Perhaps this was all published elsewhere before and not edited for this book? I have read better accounts of the development of this aircraft. As one would expect, the copy about flying it is much more interesting.
Published 4 months ago by FG


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mossie Masterpiece for a Haynes Manual, 22 Sep 2013
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
Let's face it - none of these Haynes manuals for aircraft are anything like a Haynes manual for cars - so what do we expect from one? Some history, some technical detail and some nice photographs of a restoration project, in short "an insight into". This one didn't disappoint me.
The whole book is full of information which records the requirement, design, realisation of the design and the applications to which the aircraft has been put.
First of all, the technical construction content is divided into 2 sections, and while I can't immediately see why, the content is fairly detailed and as close to a true Haynes manual as you would reasonably expect to get. It has a rather good description of major parts of Merlin engines, but unfortunately, unless you are pretty familiar with them anyway it probably won't mean much because there are no diagrams to put the descriptions into perspective. A few photographs, but not very clear in the context of exactly what they show. The restoration section, which had the possibility of being a great photojournal section either of the recent New Zealand machine returned to flight, or the DeHavilland Aircraft Heritage Centre's restorations probably missed the opportunity, but some very specific area shots of the New Zealand one are used to great effect in the technical construction descriptions.
The books largest section is probably the Mosquito at War with anecdotes of the machines combat history.
This is an excellent introduction to the Mosquito. Further reading should include "Mosquito: The Orginal Multi Role Combat Aircraft" the DeHavilland Aircraft Heritage Centre's booklet "Construction of the DH98 Mosquito" and probably one of the Mosquito aircraft pilots notesRoyal Air Force Pilot's Notes for Mosquito Marks FII and NFXII. Why 'only' 4 stars? because there's always room for improvement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wooden wonder flies again!, 12 April 2014
By 
Bigcat (Gloucestershire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
These Haynes manuals really are spot on. They combine history and mechanical information in an interesting and relevant way. They dont go back over old ground that has been covered previously in other Haynes books. For instance, this is the fourth of these manuals that I've bought where the engine used is the Rolls-Royce Merlin. Yet they are still providing new information that hasnt been printed in prior manuals. Maybe its because the Mosquito is my favourite all time aircraft, but I really enjoyed this book and look forward to dipping into again soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mosquito Manual, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
I have a vast collection of books, and DVD`s on this beautiful aeroplane, and yet ,this Manual reveals photos, and data that I have not seen before. A valuable addition to my collection.
Allan C.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent coverage of Mossies, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
I've always been an fan of the Mosquito. This book covers development, manufacture, wartime use and recent restoration of the only flying example in the world. Very interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I didn't know what Haynes Aircraft Manuals were all about but if the rest are half as good as this one, 6 Oct 2014
By 
Airace (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
What a surprise this book is! I didn't know what Haynes Aircraft Manuals were all about but if the rest are half as good as this one, they are must buys. This is a meticulously researched 'everything you need to know but was afraid to ask' type of book. Great to see Mosquito expert Ian Thirsk has given the book a good proofing with a resulting high level of accuracy in all areas. Great selection of photos and detailed diagrams included. Also pleasing to see recognition given to New Zealand master craftsman Glyn Powell QSM who like Sir Geoffrey de Havilland many years before, defied all odds and built a Mosquito airframe factory in his own shed. For anyone interested in these magnificent aIrcraft, this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 13 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
very interesting book wth lots of photos. Good value. Not a workshop manuel but the Mosquito story. Bought it after I visited the De Haviland museum and found it helped a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 Feb 2014
By 
G. C. Stratmann (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
Bought as a modelling reference. Lots of detail and excellent photos. Very useful addition to my collection. Highly recommended for Mosquito enthusiasts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars full of technical detail and history of one of my favourite planes (a friend of my father flew a FB ..., 10 Oct 2014
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
A lovely book, full of technical detail and history of one of my favourite planes (a friend of my father flew a FB MkVI on the Quisling raid). I only have one complaint and it is general to this series of books. They have a beautiful cutaway drawing on page 110-111, but it goes across two pages and the book does not have a lie-flat binding so the middle of the fuselage and port wing disappears into the gutter! The same thing happens with the instrument panel on page 132-133 so the artificial horizon and direction indicator have vanished! Ditto the hangar view on page 140-141 and the view of KA114 on 10-11. I have a lovely book of aircraft cutaways that overcomes this by fold out pages - why could not Haynes have done that for the cutaway and slightly reduced the other pictures and rotated them on the page? That used to be common for large pictures in books.
I still give this four stars for the content. If these picture editorial aspects were properly considered it would have been an easy 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The packaging was sturdy and the book arived ahead of the due date ..., 24 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
A very interesting hard back well produced book full of detail and information and brings the subject right up to date with the recent restoration undertaken in New Zealand. The text is clear and well laid out with clearly indicated subject headings within each chapter and the text is interspersed with many photographs old and new in both black and white and colour. All photos have captions and in many instances give more specific details that add to the text information.The Bibliography and sources section is comprehensive and both Appendix 1 and 2 especially 1 which gives details on the many variants are of value.
The packaging was sturdy and the book arived ahead of the due date without damage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an excellent book full of historic pictures and information on the ..., 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: De Havilland Mosquito Manual: An insight into developing, flying, servicing and restoring Britain's legendary 'Wooden Wonder' fighter-bomber (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Haynes Owners Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book full of historic pictures and information on the Mosquito , including diagrams of how the aircraft works,I highly recomend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews