Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Additional book information
*Disclaimer* I'm not reviewing this as I have been involved in the writing of this book and I have had to rate this item simply because I can't put this extra information on otherwise (the system won't let me).

I am adding some additional information that will hopefully add to the writeup on here. As well as several scouters, there is a good amount of well...
Published 23 months ago by Mang

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but there are better scout books out there.
Not bad, but there are better scout books out there.
Published 7 months ago by Rainsbury


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Additional book information, 14 April 2013
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
*Disclaimer* I'm not reviewing this as I have been involved in the writing of this book and I have had to rate this item simply because I can't put this extra information on otherwise (the system won't let me).

I am adding some additional information that will hopefully add to the writeup on here. As well as several scouters, there is a good amount of well known guest bushcraft/ outdoor professionals who have contributed articles to the book.

Fraser Christain (Coastal Survival) has done countryside and coastal foraging articles
Paul Kirtley (frontier Bushcraft) has done knife sharpening and useage articles
Pablo (Woodlife) has done a tracking article
Dale Collett (Learn Bushcraft) has done a bowdrill article
Joe O'Leary (Wilderness Survival) has done a water article
Tristan Gooley (Natural Navigator)has done a natural navigation article
Jason Ingamells and Kevan Palmer (Woodland Ways) have done a dutch oven article
and last but not least Jon Mac (spooncarving first steps on Blogspot) has done a spoon carving article
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A not so handy handy guide, 29 May 2013
By 
D. Buck - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
There a few things I would have liked this manual to include but it manages to cover everything else in good detail and plain easy to understand English. The manual makes heavy use of images which makes the instructions easy to grasp.

Great as a reference book or for picking up a few new skills.

Only wish it was smaller so I could put it in a pocket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for the summer holidays, 19 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
Bought for 12 year-old who is finding plenty of interesting activities. It should hold his interest for several years, and perhaps lead to other activities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars essential, 17 April 2013
By 
Karen Bougeard (Jersey CI) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
Already have several books for Scouts but found this one good for those starting out as Leaders
and sets the standards for expectations of Scouts by more experienced leaders
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 17 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
Brilliant book - buy it! This is a great, practical and well-illustrated guide to outdoor adventure, camping, cooking and bushcraft. It is easy to read and follow. It would make a fantastic present for any young person in Scouts and will be great help to less experienced leaders, and even us old codgers will find something new and interesting. I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for scouts, 23 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
This book is great for anyone especially scouts who want any info on the kind of things they'll be doing when they go camping or have wild game nights etc...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just what I wanted, 13 Dec. 2013
By 
Mr. D. W. FERGUSON "Fergie" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
Great variety of skills to learn about, with loads of great explanatory photographs. My 12 year really old loves it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful for Scouts and Leaders with limited knowledge of outdoor skills, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
Best price; the Bear Grylls link is very tenuous.

Good to have a practical manual and Haynes has a good pedigree

Useful for Scouts and Leaders with limited knowledge of outdoor skills
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential Scouting skills for the great outdoors, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
This book was requested - as a gift to my scouting son. A book I know he will value as he is a scout leader and will refer to it all the time - full of guidance and advice.

J. Fallon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good practical book, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors (Hardcover)
good book for scouts and explorers planning a trip. Lots of practical stuff with lots of pictures in it works well for your first few trips
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors
Outdoor Adventure Manual: Essential scouting skills for the great outdoors by The Scout Association (Hardcover - 4 April 2013)
£17.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews