Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QAPLA - FULL OF HONOR
The Klingon Bird-Of-Prey 'owners workshop manual' an official Star Trek product is literally Filled With Honor and it was an honor to review it! Published by Haynes, it numbers 123 pages filled to overflowing with important commentaries, discussions and full color in-depth technical diagrams of the B'rel Class BOP. As some of you are aware the BOP was originally a Romulan...
Published 17 months ago by Jd Bluestone

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Then recipient seemed happy
It was a gift, and the recipient seemed happy . . . . . . . . . . .
Published 16 months ago by Old Dude


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars QAPLA - FULL OF HONOR, 6 Nov 2012
By 
Jd Bluestone "J.D.B." (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
The Klingon Bird-Of-Prey 'owners workshop manual' an official Star Trek product is literally Filled With Honor and it was an honor to review it! Published by Haynes, it numbers 123 pages filled to overflowing with important commentaries, discussions and full color in-depth technical diagrams of the B'rel Class BOP. As some of you are aware the BOP was originally a Romulan design, adopted by the Klingon Defense Force and subsequently adapted by the Klingons for multi-role duties at a time when they were still at war with The Federation. Following the various accords and treaties, and especially following the defense of Federation outpost Deep Space 9 less was seen of these remarkable craft by the Federation as the Klingon Empire choose to pursue other enemies, new conquests.

Lavishly illustrated by the legendary Rick Sternbach and much of its technical material produced by author Ben Robinson the owners workshop manual not only discusses the various technologies found on board the vessel but also delves into the command hierarchy and the protocols expected of any Klingon warrior who would serve aboard her. Much of what you find in the book is presented in Federation standard (English) and in Klingon with a handy Klingon supplemental section in the last few pages of the manual for those of you who are not familiar with spoken or written Klingon. The book is so well written that any fourth year Starfleet cadet finding him or herself serving on board a Bird-Of-Prey could easily identify any major piece of equipment on board such a vessel and thus avoid possible conflict or disagreement with her Klingon crewmembers. The book even includes a complete breakdown of the interior layout of the vessel (deck plans) and even mentions by name other glorious vessels of both the B'rel and much larger version, the feared K'vort class. Yes, this manual has it all - Qapla' batlh je!

An absolute MUST for anyone who wants to KNOW how starships actually work!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Fantastic!, 10 Nov 2012
By 
Stryker (Los Angeles, California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I think this is one of the best kind of books for individual ships like this. Finally. Haynes has the experience and history of getting into the nuts and bolts of things, but since adding the more Fantasy type vehicles, it has also adapted itself extremely well to story telling and giving History to otherwise sometimes rather vague sources of information. Ben Robinson is a great, imaginative writer and editor, Rick Sternbach's Trek technical knowledge is indisputable and "Mojo" CG work has always been excellent as he was a CG supervisor on the Star Trek:Voyager series. Put it all together and all I can say is :"Yes Please!" and, quoting a famous British novel and film: "Please sir, could I have some more?" This volume should do very well and then maybe we can see volumes that cover other single classes of ship from the Trek Universe that all us Science Fiction and Technical Illustrators love so much. (Classic Klingon D-7/K'Tinga or the StarFleet Miranda(USS Reliant) class of Starship. The list could go on). This Klingon BOP Tech Book IS A MUST for any Trek fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warp Coils sorted now to deal with Anti-Matter Storage..., 28 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Wow. I enjoyed the Enterprise Haynes manual a year ago but this is a completely different beast and I might admit it's actually better because the material isn't something that Trek has covered in massive detail over the years. What I would say is that if you're a hard-core Trek fan this is excellent but the more casual viewer may find it a bit of a chore because it can be quite "techie" at times. I was quite impressed with the detail it went into in regards to the fleet development as well as how Birds of Prey are commissioned and the crew hierarchy.

The book is excellently illustrated and in hardback so there's a lot of love gone into its production. As a fan of DS9 it's a nice accompaniment to the DS9 Technical Manual as it covers another angle of what was my favourite Trek series. What I am a bit disappointed with (and this goes for a lot of Trek books using images from the series) is that the selection of frame-grabs is a little average when compared to the excellent CGI that sits next to it and there are a few I wouldn't have selected because they are a bit weak but hey - overall it's excellent and I have been waiting for this for a while. It's not the thickest book or particularly aimed at kids or adults. It's a fun book in all honesty and very easy to dip in and out of.

For the casual fan I would probably therefore give it a four from five due to the level of detail. Definitely worth a read and might just tip you into super geekdom...!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars review, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
bought this book without looking at it first as i love the bird of prey,i am not disappointed this is a good book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great novelty gift, 22 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Purchased for my partner and he thought they were an excellent 'out of the box' gift. Great novelty product that will appeal to any die hard star wars / star trek enthusiast. Bit pricey but was worth the excited face!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haynes manual, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Once again I can't really comment on this item as it was purchased as a gift for someone, however this person has ordered many of these manuals on different subject and seems to love them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT BOOK, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
BOUGHT THIS FOR MY BROTHER FOR CHRISTMAS, ABSOLUTELY LOVED IT JUST NEED TO PURCHASE HIS BIRD OF PREY NOW, WILL HAVE TO WAIT A FEW CENTURIES
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Star Trek, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
My husband is a great Star Trek fan, so this went down very well as a birthday present. Also purchased the manual for the USS Enterprise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
I don't know too much about the book as it was bought as a gift but came on time and in great condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Lot of detail with depth, 15 May 2013
By 
Mrenshaw (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual) (Hardcover)
Lots of information in this book, and certainly one for the fans (of which I am one!) It's in the typical format of a Haynes manual but this has input from Rick Sternbach who has been involved in several manuals as well as several Star Trek shows.

The level of detail is impressive and for the first time to my knowledge it covers some of the background in how the Klingon hierarchy runs and how the navy works - adds a lot to back story of the Klingons and their ships.

One thing I found of interest is how the book addresses the size of the ships - ie a scout ship and battle ship are the same design (for cost purposes on the show I assume). It's a well thought out explanation and it made sense.

Very colourful book that is easy to just dip in and out of and adds something unique to the lore of Trek. Good fun, even for non trekkies :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9b3efc0)

This product

Klingon Bird of Prey Manual: IKS Rotarran (B'rel-class) (Owners' Workshop Manual)
10.87
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews