Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical guide
The surest way to save on home energy bills is to improve insulation. However, the choice of products and methods is overwhelming and there are many potential pitfalls to trap the unwary. This book explains the theory and the options clearly and the important issues are illustrated with good quality photos.

Having read this book, I feel confident that I have...
Published 12 months ago by Technoquest

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Haynes home insulation
Very well produced book but very basic. If you are a first timer looking for DIY insulation tips it's OK but there is nothing that is not available elsewhere. I applaud what the book is trying to do but ultimately it fails for me. Often informarion is given with the minimum of detail or a small photograph. Competent people will find it interesting but it is not as good as...
Published 24 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Haynes home insulation, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
Very well produced book but very basic. If you are a first timer looking for DIY insulation tips it's OK but there is nothing that is not available elsewhere. I applaud what the book is trying to do but ultimately it fails for me. Often informarion is given with the minimum of detail or a small photograph. Competent people will find it interesting but it is not as good as other Haynes manuals I have bought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too simple (too glossy), 20 May 2013
By 
Mr. D. C. Hope (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
Very simple book, I wanted a lot more facts to compare. It seemed to want to cover everything possible; not possible in such a small book. More like a fire side book than a referance book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical guide, 5 April 2014
By 
Technoquest (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
The surest way to save on home energy bills is to improve insulation. However, the choice of products and methods is overwhelming and there are many potential pitfalls to trap the unwary. This book explains the theory and the options clearly and the important issues are illustrated with good quality photos.

Having read this book, I feel confident that I have enough knowledge to avoid having the wool pulled over my eyes by builders (who let's be honest, are notorious for finding the short cut in any job) and ensuring that any work I have done complies with good practice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
This is a classic Haynes. Clear, well thought-out and with lots of hints, tips and money-saving advice for every type and period of home, including modern houses. Most useful. I have a brand-new home that is poorly constructed and had serious flaws in insulation and energy-saving. This book helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not up to Haynes manuals usual standards, 16 May 2013
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
I have purchased most of Ian Rocks previous books which are all excellent in the past, but with this book the standards have dropped considerably. The diagrams are far too small and unreadable plus the layout of alot of the pages are badly laid out and cluttered. It seems to have been produced and editted in a hurry and not up to Haynes usual high standards. No information on using insulated plasterboard slabs on ceilings which is be coming more prevalent and some topics were just skimmed over without enough detail being supplied.
More Pages, bigger diagrams and more explanations in future publications please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars but for novices like me. It puts you on the right path, 17 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
I first bought the buying and selling manual which was brillant, this too has been very informative. This is not a book for someone that is knowledgable in the field, but for novices like me. It puts you on the right path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great source of information, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
This is a very useful book and covers all types of insulation clearly and informatively.
A must read before choosing any type of home insulation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A home insulation essential for the average home-owner, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
A brilliant book. I want to install underfloor insulation and create a warm attic in my house. This book may be for the novice, but it describes both with enough detail that I now have an adequate understanding of what these jobs entail. The detail in this book is good enough to provide the lay-person with an understanding about a wide range of insulation topics around the home. Plenty of clear, relevent pictures, with clear and concise writing to guide the reader. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very good reference for home insulation, 30 Jan. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
Very good reference for home insulation, lots of good tips, advice, manuals and well illustrated with plenty of pictures. It is easy to read and content is mostly up to date (publication is from 2013). For people who have already DIY skills and experience, the manuals are easy to understand and apply. Overall very useful but note this book is nothing for DIY beginners and requires some general understanding and knowledge and perhaps also some experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maintains the standard, 5 May 2013
This review is from: Home Insulation Manual: How to cut energy bills and make your home warm and comfortable (Haynes Manuals) (Hardcover)
I am a fan of these series of books and with this one Ian Rock does not let us down.
Well researched and up to date. Good text and annotated pictures as always and a serious text or a casual read as you want.
Condensation has been a problem in the past, little understood and this provides the background and detail you need and dispels a number of myths.
A must for any ones library interested in property or energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews