Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 May 2013
An excellent book and very highly recommended. I have the Osprey series, but this adds considerable new information, previously unseen photos and images. The Haynes manual does not replace the Osprey guide: if you're interested, you will definitely want both, but this new book is beautifully produced, well illustrated with nice big pictures and full of fascinating facts.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
I'd previously bought the Tiger Tank Haynes Manual, so had no hesitation in buying this. A superb book, the moment you open it and see the detailed drawing inside the front cover you know it's going to be a good read. Use in conjunction with the Osprey books.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
After reading the other reviews I thought I'd take the plunge and order myself a copy. The 2 star review from someone else was a little concerning but after recieving my copy, it became apparent that the 2 star rating was utter bollocks.

I bought my copy of this book because I'm gathering information so I can build my own model of a MkIV tank. I bought an Emhar 1/35 kit and it's full of errors so apart from the overall shape, that's useless, so I got this book to help me out.

In a nutshell, what you get is enough information in this one book to build your own model yourself. You don't get full plans or step by step instructions as that's not what this book is for. But if you use your head, look carefully at the many photos and diagrams you'll have enough info to at least get started, but to be honest I don't think i'll need any other book than this one, I should be able to do the whole build using just this book as reference.

The other plus side is that there's loads of info on the history and development of the tank including the people and firms involved. I've read other articles which fail to even mention the birthplace of the tank, which as it happens, is my birthplace too, LINCOLN CITY, ENGLAND!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
I bought this for my partner who models tanks/dioramas. It was such an unusual gift - he was very surprised by it and picked it straight up to read right through. There were loads of interesting illustrations that kept his interst. Recommended for any similar reader
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2013
This is one of four Haynes manuals currently available that deal with tanks. The others look at the Churchill, Sherman and Tiger tanks of World War Two. This book focuses on the British Mark IV tank that was used extensively in World War One. The author, David Fletcher, is a world authority on the history of tanks and uses to great effect all the resources available to him thanks to his long association with the Tank Museum at Bovington, Dorset. Not least from the fact that they have a working Mark IV tank there, the interesting history of which is also described.

This is an excellent book, well written and illustrated with a great many photographs both modern and historical. I wish I did have my own Mark IV to maintain (although I suspect it would be a full time job!) but since I haven't, Mr Fletcher gives a wealth of detail about the mechanics of the tank, without becoming so technical that it might bore. I now know a great deal more about the workings of the main drive, the tracks and the structure of the tank as a whole. What it gave me most was a very clear insight as to what it might have been like to be inside one of these things while it was actually working. It's impossible to imagine the feelings of someone heading into battle in such a machine but just to think of the effort involved in running the tank and then having to do all that under enemy fire gives some idea of the bravery and determination of these early crews.

For those new to the study of Armoured Fighting Vehicles there is a good introduction explaining the genesis of tanks and their early development. The rest of the book is divided into sections: Anatomy of the Mark IV, Tank Armament, Camouflage and Markings, Operating the Mark IV, The Tank at War, Retirement and Survivors.

I recommend all the Haynes tank manuals. The Great War Tank volume is very good for anyone coming to the subject for the first time or for those wishing to add to their store of reference materials. Having read the book, I would also recommend a visit to the Tank Museum where you can see the Mark IV and other tanks referred to.

Other Haynes Tank Manuals
Churchill Tank Manual: An insight into owning, operating and maintaining Britain's Churchill tank during and after World War II (Owners' Workshop Manual)
Sherman Tank Manual: An Insight into the History, Development, Production, uses and ownership of the world's most iconic tank (Owners Workshop Manual)
Tiger Tank Manual: Panzerkampfwagen VI Tiger 1 Ausf.E (Sdkfz 181) (Owner's Workshop Manual)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I cannot concur with the other reviews.
From the confused writing of the first three sentences of the "Prologue", to the "cutaway diagram" obviously derived from inaccurate sources, this is a deeply unsatisfactory book. Tellingly, the best and most useful illustrations are from contemporary sources and whilst the commissioned photographs contain interesting detail, that is largely compromised by the style of photography and the fanciful approach to design.
Many of the illustrations "bleed" over the edges of the pages, and disappear into the "gutters". There are quite a few "bleeding" photographs.
So much is wrong with this book that it seems like carelessness. It is written by an esteemed author who has contributed a great deal on the subject elsewhere, but here cannot be relied upon. Without respect for the unfortunate reader, much of the content is opaque whilst the photographer is excessively fond of harsh light, (to instil a sense of drama, perhaps), and is evidently an enthusiast for specular light.
One "bleeding" photograph appears twice, in differing colours, but the effect is enhanced by an adjacent photograph of the same vehicle in a third, and contradictory hue.
Of the "cutaway", there is much to be enjoyed if you wish to count the errors, the arbitrary inclusions and omissions, the misunderstanding of the conventions of representation, and the inept attempt to paste the elements together.

The engine and transmission of the first tanks was provided by Daimler, a well known company.
That is D-A-I-M-L-E-R. Daimler. NOT "Diamler".

Shoddy.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
This boot is logically laid out giving you a clear breakdown of the invention of this tank, through to its construction and its operation.
The text is bold and clear and there are loads of great pictures
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
It gave a great deal of information on all aspects of the development and operation of the early Tanks and their preservation
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2013
I am currently in the process of making a model Great War Tank and am intending to add full internal detail. Just finding that this manual existed was a great stroke of luck and will be enormously helpful. There are literally dozens of photographs, both original B/W and modern day colour many of these are of the interior and there lies the main problem - all of the internal photos are of small parts of the inside and with so much crammed inside these beasts it can be a problem sorting out what goes where.
There is only the one excellent line drawing (a larger version of the cover) and I feel more would have been a benefit. The one supplied shows most of the interior but some parts are obscured by the exterior (a sort of 'cut away' view) this results in parts of the details such as the bottom of the engine being covered up. I would have liked a multiple view set of line drawings, the entire exterior with the entire interior in separate drawings perhaps and with full views of the engine and gearbox. An earlier version of the cover had a line drawing taken from the rear of the tank, why not include both?
Those 'quibbles' aside though I would hartily recommend this book to all, especially with the centenary fast approaching!

Robin
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2014
I found this an incredibly interesting read! This is a machine that changed warfare forever in a very profound way but yet little of which is known. This book changes all that and exposes the fascinating history of it's introduction to WW1. It is just amazing how the tank was just created from nothing, there was no precedent for it, the technology was totally new. So the challenges the engineers faced were formidable, with every aspect of it's construction. The text found here will tell you everything you could want to know.
The majority of the photographs seen in this book have not been published before and it includes many actual restoration images that really expose the mechanical details.
Everything about this machine is fascinating and this book presents it all in a very appealing way. Just buy it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)