Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good content but opportunity missed, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
Haynes. Says it all really. In depth information on something you want to know more about to get something done.

So far as it goes this is a good book. Due to it being under the Haynes umberlla I was expecting far more than what was actually published here. That said it is still a very good book. I had high hopes for a good range of reference material in the Sources section but it is very light.

The Mulberrry information was very enlightening. I frequently see the Phoenix caisson off Havant Island but never knew excatly what it was or how it ended up there.

One area, completely missed, is that of the work of the Assault Engineers. There is an aside about Hobart's Funnies but nothing about how the breaching teams operated and succeeded on the beaches.

Overall this is an informative book for those with little knowledge of Neptune and Overlord. I don't think it comes close to covering the actual Battle of Normandy.

A worthwhile buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D-Day manual - another interesting specialist book published by Haynes, 30 July 2013
By 
Mr. Allan Hillman (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
This book covers everything you are likely to need to know about the planning and execution of D-Day, the landing craft, tanks, mulberry harbour , gliders and forward landing strips for example.

Everything you need under one cover - at a fair price - what more could you ask for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent technical background, 3 July 2013
By 
Cinglais (London England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
I really liked this book, it gives a superb, in depth background to the technology behind the invasion, and the people who were the brains behind that technology, often lightly dealt with in the historical accounts of the fighting.
I have a holiday rental in Normandy, and have bought this book as part of my holiday reading for guests, along with military accounts and battlefield guides, which I think it complements perfectly.
Highly recommended!
CK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very informative, 10 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
I liked the way all aspects were dealt with both air and sea operations,along with the equipment and people who were involved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D-Day Manual, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
A very good overview of the mechanics of D-Day. Ideal for the modeller & historian alike. It fills in a lot of the background missing from the usual accounts of the action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars D-Day well explained, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
It is one of the best books on D-Day operations I have purchased in that it explains with good diagrams and photographs
plus more details on the more unusual subjects, such as the Horsa glider which has been most useful to complete a model
I am constructing for my museum as a tribute to soldiers that crash landed just outside Arnhem at Megen . One criticism is that it would have been nice to see more detailed drawings of the Hamilcar glider and explanation to the numbers in the photograph. The coverage of Mulberry is also very good. On the whole very good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars D-DAY. Very informative., 27 April 2014
By 
danny m (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
An enjoyable and interesting book, lots of info and very well documented with lots of very informative photos, maps and illustrations a very good buy for those interested in this subject from world war 11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 89th birthday present, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
This was purchased with Gold beach and again will be a great read. SO MUCH DETAIL NEVER BEFORE seen and glad I came across this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 11 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
Book arrived very swiftly and well packaged.
bought as gift for a friend who absolutely loved it. Friend travelling to France for a D Day tour so very pleased - book just the job.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He was really pleased with the level of detail, 1 July 2014
By 
Leon Crawley (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: D-Day Manual: Insights into how science, technology and engineering made the Normandy invasion possible (Haynes Operations Manual) (Hardcover)
Brought as a present, but I did get to look through it when the person it was for received it! He was really pleased with the level of detail, and the range of things covered. As it was a present I did not get to study it in too much detail, but it may actually end up in my Xmas stocking next year! A great book written in the same way as the Haynes Manuals loved by many. If in doubt get it. It is one of those books that would make a great coffee table conversation starter ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews