Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Susan Watkin's biography of Bernie Ecclestone
The enigmatic Bernie Ecclestone lives a private life and I've always wondered what he's really like. This book provides quite a few clues. It charts Ecclestone's life from selling cakes at school to becoming a used bike and then car dealer to his his enormous wealth creation through the promotion of F1. There is much detail so the book appears to be well researched. I...
Published on 30 Jan. 2011 by Mr. C. Winwood

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bernie.. the biography he approved....
The nearest thing to an authorised biography of Bernie. Lots of details and stories, and I think the early part of the book is quite interesting, the used car days, the racing, the involvemnet with driver management, and the early days fo the Brabham purchase, but the second half seems to get bogged down once it goes into Bernie's financial dealings for FOCA, and...
Published on 20 Mar. 2011 by Spudgun


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sue on Bernie, 20 Feb. 2011
By 
Mr. P. C. Anderson "old boy racer" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the best book on Bernie yet. A phenominal amount of research must have gone into this, even though Sue Watkins
is quite close to him.
An excellent read. Should be in every motorsport anoraks library just to understand the history of F1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a great read, 2 Mar. 2011
I've read a number of biographies and usually sail through them in a few days, however Susan Watkin's brilliant biography of Bernie takes longer. This is simply because there is substantially more text than most biographies, and it doesn't feel padded out in any way. Written by a friend of Bernie it's official a biography of Bernie as you're ever going to get, a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Purchased this book for my father-in-law after my husband had ..., 12 Mar. 2015
By 
S. Hawes "ms. s" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Purchased this book for my father-in-law after my husband had read it. If you're a F1 enthusiast, it's a really interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing biography of Bernie Ecclestone, 14 Feb. 2011
The book give a fairly good account of the mans life but generally I found it disappointing and lightweight. It was often quite boring which is sad because Ecclestone is obviously not a boring man. It was also frustratingly difficult to read - too many sentences need re reading to follow the points made. The author is clearly a big fan of Ecclestone and writes little that might upset him. A man who has achieved so much must have made a few enemies along the way and it would have been good to get a more of their input.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth a tenner but ..., 17 Jan. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I noticed it is now a biography not an autobiography and that sets the tone. Yes interesting bits, in the very early days, but as time goes on so we get lost in a morass of seemingly irrelevant detail on disputes in F1 and Silverstone.

Not the warts and all I was expecting and do I detect the gentle wand of the lawyers in places?

Surely on the back of this it should be Sir Bernard Ecclestone at the first possible opportunity!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bernie The Biography of Bernie Ecclestone, 10 Jan. 2011
Having been involved since the 60's, this is one of the best accounts of the times. A true warts and all insite of 50 years of Formula 1. If you have any interest in F1 get one and you will find it hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Compelling portrait of a fascinating personality, 2 April 2013
The author took on a huge challenge in choosing to do a biography of one who is both a close friend and a controversial public figure--she must tell the truth, the whole truth, without betraying her friendship. In my opinion Ms. Watkins succeeded more than admirably. At least one reviewer, Chris of the OT, liked the book very much but very much disliked Bernie, clearly a compliment to the author and her objectivity. Bernie himself complimented her in an ironic and unintended way when he agreed to her doing the book as an authorized biography, reviewed and approved each chapter as the work progressed, and then abruptly said no to its publication at the last minute. Her patient determination was eventually rewarded with the book's publication some three years later.

To me by far the most fascinating thing about the book is its depiction of Bernie's personality, that of a self-made success of the highest order in terms of money, power, and being the moving force in transforming a type of auto racing into one of the most popular and wealth-producing sports in the world. One admires Bernie's incredible vision, his work ethic, and his absolute brilliance in business, promotion, and profit-making. And he seems to have that magnetic charisma that draws others to him willy-nilly, the mark of a great self-made success.

On the other hand the mood swings, the "angel-to-devil-to-angel" behavior apparently disclose the dynamics of an aggressive, undiagnosed bi-polar personality. Bernie's wonderful generosity, his random acts of kindness and thoughtfulness are many and are enumerated throughout the book: his love and caring for his parents; his paying the medical and other expenses of people in need; his gracious behavior in not only giving a large contribution to one of the author's favorite charities, but also in attending the formal event on short notice and behaving in a most charming manner throughout the evening. And there are numerous other instances, all carried out with apparent humility and a total lack of attention-seeking.

At other times his behavior seems inexplicably thoughtless and mean-spirited. He permanently cut off his eldest daughter and only grandchild from his life because he didn't like the man she married, even though the marriage was a success and she had apparently done nothing to offend her father. Similarly, his horrible treatment of his long-time designer Gordon Murray when they parted ways revealed a nastiness and greed that one would never expect from what had been, at least to Gordon, a relationship of mutual trust. It causes the reader to think that money and expediency really are the bottom line in Bernie's life. There are plenty of additional examples of Bernie's dissembling and using others badly or in an insulting manner, typically over issues of money and power.

The author does an outstanding job in depicting all of this. Her style is clear, interesting, and intelligent throughout. My favorite moment is early in the book when she asked Bernie where his entrepreneurial skill came from since it had manifested so early in his life, and when he said "Just there" and she then suggested reincarnation, his "No response" made me laugh out loud. Such speculations are obviously beyond Bernie's ken. It's just as well she didn't ask him about the law of karma! Great book, great author. I've read some of her other books and highly recommend them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book and my husband has thoroughly enjoyed reading it, 6 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good book and my husband has thoroughly enjoyed reading it. He has been searching for this book for a long time and was delighted to find it at long last and at such a reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars ... this the most original of reads but it was good., 25 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bernie: The Biography of Bernie Ecclestone (Paperback)
All the extracts from other people's work on Bernie doesn't make this the most original of reads but it was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bernie: The Biography of Bernie Ecclestone (Paperback)
Very interesting and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bernie: The Biography of Bernie Ecclestone
Bernie: The Biography of Bernie Ecclestone by Susan Watkins (Paperback - 3 Nov. 2011)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews