Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty new to Motorhoming!
Bought this manual as I am pretty new to driving and managing a motorhome. I had a long instruction session with the dealer but having never had a caravan either a lot of what he said fell on deaf ears!
This manual is very good at explaining the basics of how everything works and what you need to do to look after your expensive kit.
It may be a bit elementary if...
Published on 16 April 2012 by Nelson

versus
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In serious need of proof-reading (factual and spelling)
At first I found some spelling errors annoying (e.g. 'week' instead of 'weak', repeatedly 'IVEKO' instead of 'IVECO') which made me question the quality of the content as a whole - if such basic issues were overlooked had anyone checked the quality of the content? I haven't yet read it cover-to-cover, as I am initially interested in selected areas, but so far I have...
Published on 2 Oct. 2012 by Nikko


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty new to Motorhoming!, 16 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
Bought this manual as I am pretty new to driving and managing a motorhome. I had a long instruction session with the dealer but having never had a caravan either a lot of what he said fell on deaf ears!
This manual is very good at explaining the basics of how everything works and what you need to do to look after your expensive kit.
It may be a bit elementary if you are well experienced but even so I think any serious camper would really benefit from reading it. So I recommend it without reservation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars In serious need of proof-reading (factual and spelling), 2 Oct. 2012
By 
Nikko (South Coast UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
At first I found some spelling errors annoying (e.g. 'week' instead of 'weak', repeatedly 'IVEKO' instead of 'IVECO') which made me question the quality of the content as a whole - if such basic issues were overlooked had anyone checked the quality of the content? I haven't yet read it cover-to-cover, as I am initially interested in selected areas, but so far I have come across some seriously questionable technical issues.

Of most concern is in the Safety Panel on page 93, where it states that a mixture of hydrogen and oxygen given off by a battery is lighter than air and has a distinctive odour. This is a factually incorrect and potentially dangerous statement! Both gases are completely odourless and hence unnoticeable. Only hydrogen is lighter than air but is still very dangerous even in the absence of pure oxygen (which is heavier than air). Any odour related to batteries is rare, coincidental and comes from the sulphuric acid, not hydrogen or oxygen themselves. Absence of odour is definitely not an indication of the absence of hydrogen.

One item which could result in spoiling a reader's aspirations concerns the writer's comments on page 29 concerning weekend driving with heavier vehicles on the continent, Germany in particular. The restrictions apply only to vehicles over 7500 kgs, not over 3500 kgs as stated in the book, and even then only to vehicles being used for commercial purposes. All-weekend restrictions apply only during holiday periods - for most of the year they don't apply to Saturdays. Sundays are normally 'heaven' for recreational driving as there are very few HGVs and hence far fewer traffic jams on the roads.

These are a couple of items of which I happen to have some knowledge and hence a serious questioning of other issues on which the writer implies authoritative knowledge. I am now not sure what I can and cannot trust. The publisher should consider a 'health warning' on the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Motorcaravan Manual., 9 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
This has got to be the most comprehensive book on the subject of Motorcaravans that I have come across yet. Full of information that you would ever want on all aspects of the vehicle and its contents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As a general guide it is helpful., 21 April 2015
By 
Mr. Clive Wray (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
I have always used Haynes car repair manuals and rate them highly. I recently purchased a Motorcaravan and needed to know more about how the habitation side worked. I have found this very informative in how things work and how to use them properly. I recommend it - John Wickersham certainly knows his stuff. However, I did find it contained some albeit very interesting 'magazine' style articles, I would have preferred some more schematic and diagrammed how to repair and maintain sections. As a general guide it is helpful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a great little guide for those that want to get into ..., 3 Nov. 2014
By 
R. Holland "R.Holland" (Cumbria, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
a great little guide for those that want to get into the motorhome scene and want to know a little more surrounding the whole idea.
I found this quite informative and it gave me a good idea as to what to look for in pro's and con's whilst shopping for a second hand one.
pretty good details on the jobs that need to be done when preparing to go away and general ideas on maintenance and the like.
I would recommend this product and the seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars ok but ......, 1 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
This book is ok and it is useful but brought back memories of yesteryear before the days of Google when you would nip down to Halfords every time you bought a new car to purchase a Haynes manual .It has the ability to draw you in to a subject with pictures and descriptions before jumping to the next one without quite sorting the last one.
Is it useful? yes.... Is it worth the money?.... just .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Buy but has its limts, 5 Feb. 2015
By 
Paul Clarkson "Norfolk Boy" (Norfolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
Pretty good but not enough detail on how to make repairs and tackling damp issues and the like more pictures would be great . some incorrect information regarding the weight limits and driving limits in Germany etc

but a very enjoyable manual and a easy to understand layout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable Insight, 13 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
An absolutely invaluable read for those new to motorhome ownership (like me). Full of great, though maybe slightly basic information on such a wide variety of essential subjects. For the price it gives a brilliant insight to motorhome ownership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motorcaravan Manual, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
This very useful book has all you need to chose your motorhome or campervan. It also has everything to get you started on using your campervan or motorhome. Well packaged purchase, and a swift service. A pleasure to do business with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Motor home, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan (Hardcover)
Bought for husband as a Christmas present as we own a motor home and he thinks it is as good as sliced bread. Already noted down some things to do in our vehicle for over-wintering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Motorcaravan Manual: Choosing, Using and Maintaining Your Motorcaravan
£17.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews