Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential but incomplete
As an early employee who went on to manage several departments at Lotus and had two successful spells in charge of Team Lotus, Peter Warr would have been the ideal author of the definitive story of Colin Chapman's empire. He had been working for several years on his memoir when he suddenly died in 2010, leaving a seriously incomplete manuscript.

By chance,...
Published 24 months ago by Marthambles

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy if you are a Mansell fan
It's interesting and well written but gobsmackingly rude about Nigel. And if you don't know who used to work for Wolf Racing then borrow /buy the book. It'll surprise modern F1 fans.
Published 23 months ago by Kev


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential but incomplete, 19 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
As an early employee who went on to manage several departments at Lotus and had two successful spells in charge of Team Lotus, Peter Warr would have been the ideal author of the definitive story of Colin Chapman's empire. He had been working for several years on his memoir when he suddenly died in 2010, leaving a seriously incomplete manuscript.

By chance, businessman/historian Simon Taylor had recently interviewed Warr at great length for Motor Sport magazine. Taylor's tapes helped fill some, but by no means all, of the gaps, and the result is a very useful stitched-together account of a fascinating period of motor racing history.

Warr offers some splendidly nonconformist cameos of leading figures (mostly drivers) in the sport, and makes a good fist of justifying his consistently negative judgment of Nigel Mansell, of whom he once said that he would not win a Grand Prix "as long as my arse is pointing at the ground." The 31 GP wins that Mansell scored after leaving Lotus indicate that Warr's judgment was not exactly infallible.

The book contains some priceless insights into the character of Lotus founder Colin Chapman, whom Warr knew better than almost anybody. It is unfortunate that Warr held his old boss in such esteem that he was evidently unable to bring the same incisive judgment to Chapman that he had lavished on Mansell. He offers not one word on the scandal which implicated the Lotus boss in the DeLorean scandal and resulted in a prison term for Chapman's closest business associate.

Incomplete though it is, this book offers priceless insights into the most turbulent era of motorsporting history. It is essential reading for anyone who lived through the era of giants like Clark, Graham Hill, Rindt, Fittipaldi, Peterson and on to Senna. Unsatisfying, yes, but Warr was closer to these people than any arms-length biographer could ever be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly entertaining, 11 Mar 2012
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
A recommended read for anyone interested in Lotus, F1, or automotive history. Peter Warr was at the centre of some of the most momentous periods in modern motorsport, and his fluent and entertaining prose took me by surprise for someone whose first purpose was not journalism.

My only criticism is of it being a little light on background information about the mercurial Colin Chapman, despite Peter being so close to him for many years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Peter Warr Man ' O ' War, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Mr. B. C. Whytell (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
At first glance of the cover of Team Lotus : My View from the Pit Wall I thought what no Glitz no Razzle-Dazzle and not even Gold on the Black and Gold J.P.S. Lotus driven by Ayrton Senna, just a black and white image of the author welcoming home his charges!
But on a second viewing you see the Pride and Joy of Victory on the face of Peter Warr, so emotional that colour is superfluous and the black and white theme then continues on into the personal insight both on and off the race track with all the Triumphs, Trials and Tragic Consequence he became aquainted with at the forefront of Formula 1.
The book is in itself a Catalogue of People, Places, Events and personal Photograph's that made up Peter Warrs intimate knowledge of the years he had at the pit wall, this is written with humour, knowledge and above all a warts and all overview of the various Formula 1 teams, with the people involved both socialy, competitively and also as a governor, from Brian the Broom Leighton who kept the factory tidy up to Bernie Ecclestone who kept Fromula 1 tidy and all in between are flesh and blood and not just a name in a book!
This book is to me like the Dickensian Character Oliver Twist it has left me wanting more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EXCELLENT VIEW, 20 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
Peter Warr was one of the most important guys in team Lotus for over thirty years. This was a man of vast knowledge and an eye witness to a lot of the more important events in Formula 1 of that period. So a book written by such a character must be good.

Well... This book is not good. The book is EXCELLENT. This is not an autobiographical book. This is a book of memoirs. This is a book about the others. The others are the other actors in the formula 1 circus. And, I believe, written by order of importance.

First and foremost Colin Chapman. The Guv'nor. The leading light of Team Lotus. In this chapter we can feel the respect and the admiration the author had for the man, and we can glimpse a Chapman that is usually ignored on other books about him or Lotus.

Than the mechanics. The usually unsonged heroes of the F1 world. A new perspective on Team Lotus, this time from the pits themselves.

And then the `piéce de resistance'. A chapter about the drivers. His opinions on Senna, Peterson and Rindt are what were to be expected. The opinion on Fittipaldi and Mansell surprised me a bit for being so direct. Very amusing nonetheless.

The book closes with some thoughts on the engineers (no surprise there) and about Bernie Ecclestone. Two very good and informative chapters that shed some light on past and present events.

An excellent book. Pity that Peter Warr passed away while still writing this book. Who knows what other great stories were left untold
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for Grand Prix addicts, 14 Jan 2012
By 
COLIN BLACKHALL (BANCHORY, KINCARDINESHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
Unhappily, this book has been published after the author's untimely death and it has an unfinished feel.
Warr was an intensely loyal individual, thus anyone looking for dirt is really wasting their time unless they are a Nigel Mansell fan.
There are some beautifully written passages interspersed with some mediocre observations and comments. Senna fans will love it but there is precious little fresh insight into the complex, fascinating, character of colin Chapman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Was also there, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
Worked for Goodyear 1973 season & found this book really told it as it was.
A good fly-on-the-wall history. Riveting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lotus back on top from the beginning, 5 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
Brilliant insight into GP racing in the 70's and 80's, stunning review of Grand Prix before it became sanitised in the 90's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Team Lotus - Peter Warr, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
Rekindled some thoughts and memories of dear friends and colleagues from past life. A very informative and personal reflection of personalities in F1 at that time, most of which I found myself agreeing with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A different view., 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
Interesting read, nice to see a different personon the insides, view of the team having read many books on Lotus and Chapman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another beautiful inside story..., 16 Dec 2012
By 
Ferdinand Ernest "ferdje" (Cahors, France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall (Hardcover)
A very complete and detailed inside story revealing what was behind what we saw as spectator and F1fans standing along the circuits or in the paddock. Really interesting!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall
Team Lotus: My View from the Pit Wall by Peter Warr (Hardcover - 5 Jan 2012)
£15.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews