Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive karting guide?
Having bought a variety of karting guides over the last year or so and often ending up disappointed at either their superficial nature or frustrated at their lack of relevance to UK karting (understandable as so many are US publications), it's a revelation to finally come across a karting book that no only deals with the subject with the necessary level of detail for...
Published on 6 April 2007 by Simon Turner

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK for a general overview
It offers a general overview of the UK Karting scene [except Bambino - modern addition] but it does not offer any details [technical mostly] in the manner that has made Haynes famous.
Clearly there is a market for this book if your are reading [Haynes]...
Engine life maintainance, tyres fitting, guide pressures, carb, etc
Published on 12 July 2010 by A. Collen


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The definitive karting guide?, 6 April 2007
Having bought a variety of karting guides over the last year or so and often ending up disappointed at either their superficial nature or frustrated at their lack of relevance to UK karting (understandable as so many are US publications), it's a revelation to finally come across a karting book that no only deals with the subject with the necessary level of detail for beginners to understand (the diagrams and photographs couldn't be clearer) but which also covers every area you would want to learn about - everything from driving techniques (obviously) to strategy to mental preparation and how to get sponsorship (not so obvious!).

If there is a criticism it's that it's a little light on the technical side of things (although the basics are well covered, as is set up, of course), but the book itself encourages readers to pick up specialised publications dealing with this area as their knowledge and experience increases - this is an area I'm still working on so for me it wasn't an issue and it is a book for for beginners, after all.

Having said that, I've got three years' karting experience and I was surprised how much of it I still found of use so I suspect others like me who are still looking to improve their racing craft may do the same. As for beginners, I'd say it's a must-buy - it's certainly the best such publication I've read so far (I haven't read them all, true, but most, I'd say).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A UK Karting manual, 17 April 2007
At last, a UK based karting manual. Makes a refreshing change from the US books that were only previously available.

The Haynes Karting Manual is geared towards the beginner, but nonetheless intermediate karters will also get a great deal of info from this book. Good descriptions, simply laid out for ease of navigation, and well illustrated. Having been into competetive karting for 4 years now, I'd recommend this book to anyone wanting to approach the sport, or indeed needing a manual to help brush up on some skills. It's taught/retaught me a thing or two ;o)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great - fantastic book, concise and comprehensive, 8 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karting Manual: The Complete Beginner's Guide to Competitive Kart Racing (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
This book saved us during a recent 24hr event done in soaking conditions. a really interesting read for anyone looking to get into karting, I'm an absolute beginner but there also seems to be good advice for more advanced drivers/teams. it really goes into detail about actually running a team as well as the more basic things we needed like driving techniques.

the one minor criticism i would make is that if you're wanting to take it to the track as a reference guide a smaller paperback format would be good. then again the pictures are awesome and i suppose these would suffer in a paperback.

overall, great book highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 13 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
a brilliant book with all you need to learn , very helpful with clear instructions and good illustrated diagrams, thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spped King Loves this, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karting Manual: The Complete Beginner's Guide to Competitive Kart Racing (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
Grandson wanted this for Christmas - he loved it and it was well-written - perfect for any age, my grandson is 9 and he understood every word, but would also suit teen to adult.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference, 30 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karting Manual: The Complete Beginner's Guide to Competitive Kart Racing (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
Hours of reading for my 10 year old son who is very much into karting, written in the very helpful and informative Haynes manual style of course
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As gift - but seems to be informative, 12 Jan 2014
By 
Ms. V. M. Smith (Preston) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karting Manual: The Complete Beginner's Guide to Competitive Kart Racing (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
Partner just getting into karting and found the book quite informative - so quite a good buy i think - well defo for people just getting into it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive Introduction, 4 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karting Manual: The Complete Beginner's Guide to Competitive Kart Racing (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
This is a comprehensive intro to karting, covering various elements (technique, the karts themselves, how to get started, what to expect).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My........, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
son loved this book. He said it was concise and he gained some knowledge from it, he's recommend it to anyone interested in karting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Karting (Beginners), 20 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Karting Manual: The Complete Beginner's Guide to Competitive Kart Racing (Haynes Owners' Workshop Manuals) (Hardcover)
As they say in the paint advert, it does what it says on the cover, beginners guide to Karting, good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews