Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comprehensive guide to running, 6 Jun 2012
This review is from: Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
Having had a set back from an injury a few months ago, I picked up this book on my physio's recommendation. Previous books I have looked at, made a cursory nod to gait analysis but I found Lerwill's approach accessible and in light of the treatment I was receiving I found the insight extremely helpful.
There are plenty of other useful tools for the seasoned runners with a clean gait on now to improve race speed, or increase mileage for endurance events whilst reducing injury exposure.
The sections on nutrition have impacted my training the most- not only for running but other sporting activities. I've always been relatively oblivious of the merits of nutrition on performance, but having benefited from the gait analysis sections which to be honest I would have blithely ignored prior to injury, I decided to approach the nutritional information with an open mind. I've noticed increased energy, and reduced muscle fatigue ( most notably on distance runs, but I have also noted this whilst sport climbing ).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book!, 13 Jun 2012
This review is from: Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
This book is honestly Brilliant!

Full of tips for runners of all levels.

A must read book for all those who want to really improve both their technique and mental attitude towards the sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars running, 20 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
Very helpful & easy to understand information for starting to learn running. Would benefit all ages of people interested in this sport.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 14 Dec 2013
By 
S. Pearson (Suffolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
I got this book for a friend of mine for christmas who loves there running, I did have a quick look through it and was very impressed with the contents and information given it's a fantastic book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful and Useful, 28 Jan 2013
By 
S. M. Smith (Huddersfield) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
If your thinking of buying this book I would recommend that you do. It has all the very basic information so if you are new to running this will help a great deal. It also has information on more advance topics like nutrition different training plans etc which might help a more advanced runner/club runner, I have run for a few years now and I found the book very useful and informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive - something for all levels of ability and experience, 4 Jan 2013
By 
John Tierney (Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
This is an excellent book for runners of all standards and is definitely worth purchasing. Don't be put off by the fact that the Haynes have diversified of late into things like the Apollo 11 and Millenium Falcon manuals - this is a detailed, wide-ranging guide written by an ex-Marine who knows what he is talking about. Crammed with pictures of the author and his female comrade-in-arms, it includes chapters on getting started, shoes and kit, technique, energy and hyrdation, warming up and cooling down, training and cross-training programmes, marathon running, sprinting, women's running and injuries and how to treat them.

There are lots of pictures and the text is efficient but not over-wordy - it all seems to be knowledge learned from experience rather than books. It's very up to date - there is quite a bit of stuff on the latest "shoeless" shoes for "barefoot" running which I was interested in and the injuries section contains useful information on treatment (I followed it carefully last night for a calf strain and it's a lot better today, having tried to ignore it for a week).

I run a fair bit (1500 miles a year) and have done for 30 years now and this book has a lot for me, but is also good if you are just starting out. £21.99 at the RRP seemed a bit steep, but Amazon reduced this by a third and that represents good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A near complete and concise all around running manual written by an ex marine., 3 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
I havent read this book from front to back yet but i have flipped through it and dipped in and out of it including using it as a reference before i went to a running shop to buy my first proper pair of running shoes. As it happens i now disagree with the author's choice of favourite running shoe brand namely because ive realised i dont like gel inserts (see my review on mizuno wave ultima 4 running shoes which i would recommend) but i think this is irrelevant for the review of this book for a start he's much bigger than me so he may need gel inserts to cushion his weight and in any case he was only expressing his personal taste/opinion. I think this haynes manual written by an ex marine and current personal trainer is an excellent must have book for gaining a broad and detailed understanding of the subject of running.

This book basically seems to cover every different aspect of running from the shoes and clothes to the bodily energy systems, marathons, sprinting, weight lifting to compliment running, a chapter on women (pregnancy, special bodily needs and differences etc) and training guides plus ive probably forgotten to mention other important chapters.

Only one possible down point to mention. If you are particularly interested in sprinting then the chapter in this book covering sprinting is apparently not as in depth as it could be. And that is explained at the beginning of the chapter so theyre not trying to hide it from you theyre just letting you know that if you want to specialise in sprinting then you will probably want to buy another book all about sprinting after having read this book. To explain what i mean the chapter apparently doesnt cover all of the different 'racing phases' for the 100 metre sprint and in my mind i think they could have at least included that given how big that race is and given that this is supposed to be a complete running manual. It does however cover the main phases of the sprint race which the author says is good enough untill you decide you want to really specialise in the field of sprinting. So unless this is a particular issue for you i would say definately buy this book if you are interested in the subject of running. And even if the aforementioned is an issue youll probably still want to read this book in addition to the book on sprinting.

Oh, and the female model is really hot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A general all rounder, 28 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
This manual is a good all round introduction into running, with a bit of something for all. It has given me some good ideas for nutrition and running techniques, that have helped me improve my running. I would recommend this to anyone who has an interest in running.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So Useful, 7 July 2012
This review is from: Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) (Hardcover)
For anyone who has an interest in their own fitness and learning to run or even improve their enjoyment of running, I would really recommend this book. It's very accessible and easily understood - as well as being very practical.

I am following it and already starting to see a differenceRunning Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual)
Running Manual: A Step-By-Step Guide (Haynes Manual) by Sean Lerwill (Hardcover - 5 Jan 2012)
£21.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews